WiFi adapter says 450Mbps capable, but only seeing ~180Mbps

Discussion in 'Network questions and troubleshooting' started by Phragmeister, Jun 28, 2020.

  1. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    7,040
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    And another strange thing - do you see mentioning of Win10 in 7.77.119.0 inf-file?
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,424
    Likes Received:
    2,814
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
  3. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    EDIT: Removed as it was completely OT.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2020
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    7,040
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    386SX likes this.

  5. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    Somehow I thought he wanted to buy a new one. Must have misunderstood. ...

    @OP:
    To get 450mbps you would have to have large channels and be almost next to the router. More distance = worse signal = less speed / higher ping.
    You should be on channel 1 or 5 or 9 or 13 and at least 2 channels away from any neighboring network (on 2.4 GHz band). If that is not possible at least change channel so you are far away from the strongest signals in your neighborhood (stronger than say ... -50). InSSIDer, NetStumbler or the like may help you.
    And 450mbps is max, and like in wired networks you will get a bit less anyway, depending on quality of the wireless chip and other factors.
     
  6. Phragmeister

    Phragmeister Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    169
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 4GB
    Finally got the PCEAC68 installed, I'm now getting max speed -

    [​IMG]

    Happy days!
     
    mbk1969 likes this.

Share This Page