why is C drive the main Drive?

Discussion in 'The Guru's Pub' started by Airbud, May 12, 2021.

  1. Airbud

    Airbud Master Guru

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    992
    GPU:
    PNY GTX 1060 XLR8
    seems to me it should be A drive?....:D

    PS: yeah, I got bored and posted it!... love y'all

    Hey!...why come Bill Gates always want to be on C drive?...

    think about it folks!...
    PS:...please have a comedian outlook before you comment!

    Love y'all
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2021
    JaxMacFL and Keitosha like this.
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,945
    Likes Received:
    8,274
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Don`t you remember what were the "A:" and "B:" back in time?
     
  3. Coolerking

    Coolerking Master Guru

    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    121
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX5700 XT
    Floppy and tape drives I think?
    I'm 56 and remember that stuff...sorta...
     
  4. anticupidon

    anticupidon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,087
    Likes Received:
    2,451
    GPU:
    Polaris/Vega/Navi
    Wasn't the A and B the boot and the system drive?
    And C: is where all changed, as in having both installed on a fixed disk?
    No more cmd involved in booting the computer.
     
    Airbud, Coolerking and Keitosha like this.

  5. zipper

    zipper Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    GTX 680M
    No problems, you can change the drive letter into whatever is free.
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,945
    Likes Received:
    8,274
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    First there were computers without hard disks - just with floppy drives (with one and with two). So the first two letters were kinda reserved for floppy drives.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/122891/what-are-the-windows-a-and-b-drives-used-for/
     
  7. Keitosha

    Keitosha Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,877
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    Vega56 8GB
    A and B is for floppy, you C? But for me, C is for cookie and that's good enough for me. :eek:
     
  8. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    1,812
    GPU:
    2080S /2080ti
    Airbud the Tech Guru.:D
     
    Airbud and JaxMacFL like this.
  9. metagamer

    metagamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,142
    Likes Received:
    855
    GPU:
    Palit GameRock 2080
    Floppy came before any sort of hard drive.

    Interesting thread btw, come to think of it, seeing as nobody uses floppy disk drives, surely the boot drive should be A:
     
    Airbud likes this.
  10. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,021
    Likes Received:
    4,082
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    for compatibility sake, C is the mounted volume for OS drives
     
    Airbud likes this.

  11. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,342
    Likes Received:
    2,472
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Aside from A, B for floppies and C for OS, programs are meant to default to C. And you cant change C to something else. C:\Windows will always be as is.
     
  12. anticupidon

    anticupidon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,087
    Likes Received:
    2,451
    GPU:
    Polaris/Vega/Navi
    Yes, that's the thing I remember and wanted to write, somehow my wording was a bit vague.
    I remember those floppies... Good times
     
    Airbud likes this.
  13. Coolerking

    Coolerking Master Guru

    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    121
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX5700 XT
    I actually remember using 5 1/4" floppies to play the og Sir Tec Wizardry on an old apple...which is still in my garage I think ...
     
  14. insp1re2600

    insp1re2600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,765
    Likes Received:
    719
    GPU:
    3090 Vision OC 24GB
    i read this in cookie monsters voice.
     
    Airbud, Keitosha and The1 like this.
  15. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    1,812
    GPU:
    2080S /2080ti
    amstrad 6128 with aux tape deck, screwdriver used on it a lot. not floppy d but hard disk, cool disks tho.
     
    Keitosha and anticupidon like this.

  16. metagamer

    metagamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,142
    Likes Received:
    855
    GPU:
    Palit GameRock 2080
    I get that, of course. But it got me thinking because it's such a throwback and it stems from decades ago, it's surprising that it hasn't changed over the years.
     
    Airbud and DannyD like this.
  17. JaxMacFL

    JaxMacFL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    GPU:
    3090 FTW3 ULTR/HYBR
    Sometimes sh!t just happens, no rhyme no reason, just settles and moves along, huh?
     
    Airbud likes this.
  18. Airbud

    Airbud Master Guru

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    992
    GPU:
    PNY GTX 1060 XLR8
    if we ever have a pet peeves thread...I'll send the link to this one....:p
     
    JaxMacFL likes this.
  19. JaxMacFL

    JaxMacFL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    GPU:
    3090 FTW3 ULTR/HYBR
    Airbud, you aaalllwwwaaayyysss be me Mate!!!

    Oh, turn 50 and 240 months old 2morrow, dating crown royal black 2nite:>)
     
    Airbud likes this.
  20. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Master Guru

    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7970 Ghz Ed.
    Because back during the days of the 8086, most IBM PC's came with a "dual" floppy drive (well I know Apple 2's came with them!), and they were accessed with A: and B: through MS-DOS, with C: being the hard disk.
    This persisted through Windows 1.0, 2.0, 3.0 / 3.11 and so on. When Windows 95 hit, floppy drives were still in use, so naturally C: was still the main hard drive.

    There were ways, way back then, to change the label of a CDROM drive or a folder on your hard drive to turn it into a floppy drive, or perhaps it was to turn a folder or floppy drive into a fake CDROM drive. (I think that was FakeCD or something), which I think was for installing programs that expected a different media than what the install files were in.

    As to why the drive labels haven't changed? Probably this is necessary to maintain compatibility with some old programs and old code.
     
    Airbud likes this.

Share This Page