1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

White Lines on GTX 560. Fried? or driver issue?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by kamil1995b, Oct 12, 2018.

  1. kamil1995b

    kamil1995b New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 560 1GB
    Hi there,

    I bought an ASUS GeForce GTX 560 1GB six years ago, and it's been keeping me company for a long time without any issues. I'm on a Gigabyte Z77-D3H board with 24GB RAM (as one RAM slot is broken; the PC won't boot; but all other three work fine and PC boots fine; never bothered to RMA it). Three months ago, I received these white lines on the monitor on the line ... but a simple reboot fixed the issue. Today, I came from work to play my very intense modded Cities Skylines, as I normally would, and the card failed.

    So I started doing some good old googling to find out whether the GTX is fried, or whether it's a driver issue.

    The PC boots fine with the card, but the lines appear even prior to Windows. They appear in BIOS too:

    [​IMG]

    Here's what I did:
    • Ran DDU. Uninstalled the drivers, I do not remember which version I had.
    • Ran into safe mode, running DDU there too, multiple times.
    • Opened the case, took the GTX out of the PCI slot, opened it up to give it a dust clean. Not much dust was there. I resealed it with new thermal paste, and put it back together.
    • Ran sfc /scannow which returned some errors, but it cannot fixed them, referring me to a log. I can open the log, but I don't really know how to interpret it.
    During my multiple driver installs, I had the following results:
    • 314.22 (as recommended by Reddit as a stable driver) worked only with 640x480 resolution. I was not able to change my resolution. But I get no white lines!
    • 347.88, I cannot install. I get an error that it is incompatible.
    • 359.06 (recommended on another forum) produces same results as 314.22
    • 391.15 (latest WHQL) works only with resolutions lower than 1280x1024 (where my monitor can support up to 1920x1080) and produces the white lines effect.
    On some drivers, the card is disabled with Code 43. As a result, I took the card out of the computer, and I'm running the integrated card on the Gigabyte Z77-D3H board - which is far better for the timebeing than white lines and annoying, warped resolution.

    Here is also a shot from GPU-Z (which shows 0 MB Memory Size, does that mean anything?):

    [​IMG]

    But the question remains, is it time for a new graphics card, or is it a drivers issue? What could have caused it? Temperatures were never high, and the PSU was able to cope with the card for a long time. I have been mining bitcoins on it lately though so maybe that was why? I presume it's also way beyond warranty period, so there's no option of RMA (unless I'm wrong).
     
  2. Chastity

    Chastity Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    216
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    If the issue persists in BIOS display, it isn't a driver problem. ;)

    Looks like it's a GPU component issue, probably memory. Baking the card may or may not help. I think it's time to shop for a new card.
     
    Hulk12 likes this.
  3. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    241
    GPU:
    RX 580 (8GB)
    Have you been playing with your vbios? I remember having a similar issue with my GTX 580 a few years ago after a bad flash (fixed by reflash) if not, then perhaps it's damaged.
     
  4. user1

    user1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    171
    GPU:
    hd 6870
    classic symptom of memory errors, probably the solder joints connecting the memory chips or gpu(on the graphics card), as mentioned above "baking" might get you a bit more time, but its probably time to get something new.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2018
    austin865a likes this.

  5. Præses

    Præses Master Guru

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Strix GTX 970 4GB
    First thing I thought when seeing the screenshot - memory corruption
     
  6. Caesar

    Caesar Master Guru

    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    GTX 1070Ti Titanium
    If you have 2 or more RAM, check one by one. Remove all of them.

    Install one at a time and check.

    Or if u have only 1 RAM , change slot. try

    Else:

    Disassemble your gpu and bake o_O
     
  7. Passus

    Passus Master Guru

    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    146
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 3GB
    Classic memory corruption,

    As said baking may or may not revive it for a short while so worth a try until you can get something new

    I had a amd r9 280 that lasted 6 months and 2 bakes
     
    Hulk12 likes this.
  8. austin865a

    austin865a Master Guru

    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    373
    GPU:
    s3 Virge & 980ti
    looks like bad vram.
    run memtest for gpu (forget what its called) and check voltages.
    likely you have a bod vram chip for a bad BGA on a ram chip.
     
  9. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,379
    Likes Received:
    672
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    Even though it looks like it's a VRAM issue, make sure it's not the monitor first. Use the monitor with another GPU to check.

    You can also try to downclock the memory in Afterburner and see if that helps.
     
  10. Hulk12

    Hulk12 Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti SC+
    It's impossible because he/she got artifacts in BIOS post before starting OS despite all GPU stock speeds!! lool

    Solutions: he/she should bake videocard during 10 minutes at 200 ºC in oven or he/she can buy new card. ONLY!
     
    Passus likes this.

  11. pharma

    pharma Master Guru

    Messages:
    859
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    That happened to me in past and returned during warranty for another. In your case I believe one of the memory chips is bad.
     
  12. insp1re2600

    insp1re2600 Master Guru

    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    104
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI OC
    Its dead jim
     
    Passus likes this.
  13. Nijohc

    Nijohc Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 970
    Definitely bad VRAM, I've had a few cards with that sort of corruption. Last was a GTX 680 I bought 2nd hand a few years back, baking it made it error free for a good 6 - 8 months then I'd have to bake it again but it was a case of diminishing returns. I'd just get a new graphics card if I were you.
     
  14. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 6gb
    Definitely try this One bad system memory stick can cause all kinds of visual errors.
     
  15. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,093
    Likes Received:
    604
    GPU:
    1070 AMP!
    Not the RAM, its the vram that is the issue. You can easily run a memory diagnostic test to rule it out.
     

  16. cryohellinc

    cryohellinc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,917
    Likes Received:
    876
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti
    Not those kind of issues thou. Its definitely vram has gone bad.
     

Share This Page