Which VGA is the best dedicated PhysX card for Mafia II !!!

Discussion in 'Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX' started by bakalu, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. bakalu

    bakalu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    My system
    CPU Core i7 Extreme 965 @ 3.4GHz vcore 1.38125V
    Mainboard ASUS Rampage II Gene
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit RTM
    Driver ATI Catalyst 10.7 WHQL
    Driver NVIDIA 259.31 beta 64bit
    PhysX_9.10.0513_SystemSoftware


    Settings of Demo Mafia II
    [​IMG]

    ASUS GTX 460 1GB TOP @ 800/1600/1050
    [​IMG]

    ASUS GTX 460 1GB TOP @ 800/1600/1050 + dedicated PhysX ASUS 9800 GT 512MB @ 600/1500/900
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ASUS HD 5850 @ 800/1150 + dedicated PhysX ASUS 9800 GT 512MB @ 600/1500/900
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ASUS HD 5850 @ 800/1150 + dedicated PhysX ASUS 9600 GT 512MB @ 650/1625/900
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ASUS HD 5850 @ 800/1150 + dedicated PhysX ASUS GTX 285 TOP 1GB @ 670/1550/1300
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ASUS HD 5850 @ 800/1150 + dedicated PhysX ASUS GTX 460 1GB TOP @ 775/1550/1000

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    power consumption (full load with demo Mafia 2) ASUS HD 5850 @ 800/1150 + dedicated PhysX ASUS 9800 GT 512MB @ 600/1500/900 + i7 965 @ 3.4GHz vcore

    1.38125V
    [​IMG]

    power consumption (full load with demo Mafia 2) ASUS HD 5850 @ 800/1150 + dedicated PhysX ASUS 9600 GT 512MB @ 650/1625/900 + i7 965 @ 3.4GHz vcore

    1.38125V
    [​IMG]

    Source : http://www.mafia2game.com/community/us/features_pc_specs.php

    Before, I was ever told :
    Now I declare that GT240 is the best dedicated PhysX card for Mafia II.

    Do you agree with me?


    Source : http://forum.amtech.com.vn/overclocking-benchmark/77014-vga-best-physx-card.html
     
  2. VMax Tuner

    VMax Tuner Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gbyte Gaming G1 R9 390 x2
    Well I have a GT240 and so far I am pretty happy with it also in Mafia 2. I am not gettin big FPS numbers but its not so bad since everything is running real smooth. So with the experience I have right now I would agree and say go with the GT 240 but you should get the DDR5 model if you wanna pick one up!

    Cheers!
    :cheers:

    P.S.:
    Here some infos on my setup and settings for comparison... Oh and I only have one GT 240 not two as Everest is saying!
     
  3. Copey

    Copey Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    960 2GB
    Based on those numbers above the 9600GT is the best for the price, i got mine for £30 and runs mafia 2 perfect.
     
  4. Mda400

    Mda400 Master Guru

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    109
    GPU:
    3060Ti 2055/16.2Ghz
    any fermi card is 2.5x faster in PhysX processing than a GT200 chip. even more with older models. So now that the 450 has just been released, it is becoming closer to a good price/performance ratio for PhysX. You wont really need a dedicated PhysX card anymore until someone releases a massively PhysX-packed game like Batman AA again.
     

  5. Boulard83

    Boulard83 Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16gb Crucial ballistix
    I have a GTS450 and a second GTX460 incoming.

    I hope the GTS450 gona do it ;)
     
  6. Mannerheim

    Mannerheim Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    GTX 260 oem 1792MB
    Overkill. Theres not much difference over 8800/9800/GTS250.

    I have stable fps with 1080 AA and high physics.
     
  7. Boulard83

    Boulard83 Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16gb Crucial ballistix
    Thats not overkill. Thats more futurproof.

    And with PhysX HIGH at 1920x1080 the GTS450 is already used at ~50% when there is lots of physX in screen.

    A 9800GT or more is needed in this game for HIGH physx.
     
  8. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW


    theres no such word as overkill when it comes to gaming :3eyes:
     
  9. ViperXtreme

    ViperXtreme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 Super Jetstream
    looking back at the cryostasis (2008), and current mafia 2 (2010) benchmarks (by link posted above), there isnt much difference using a better gpu compared to a mainstream one for physx, perhaps this wont change for the succeeding years so i guess its still better to get a 9600GT/GT 240 just for physx.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2010
  10. ViperXtreme

    ViperXtreme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 Super Jetstream

  11. Keitosha

    Keitosha Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,872
    Likes Received:
    114
    GPU:
    Vega56 8GB
    In a hybrid setup (AMD+Nvidia) an 8600GT would do just as fine, since that card doesn't have to render 3D gfx, only Physx. Mafia II with my setup runs smooth with Physx on high (also Batman AA, ME and Metro 2033 are running smooth).

    9600GT's are awesome cards. :banana:
     
  12. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,447
    Likes Received:
    124
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    my trusty old 8800GT handles Physx well enough :)
     
  13. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,630
    Likes Received:
    1,250
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    I plugged in a 9800GTX along with my GTX580 to play Mafia II with full PhsyX.
    It was about 8fps faster, near 500W full load and took an extra 50W at idle.
    Decided its not worth it.

    I kept the damn thing for PhysX as well, doh!
     
  14. mazty

    mazty New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NGTX560ti Twin Frozer II
    Considering the difference in power between the PhysX cards and yet the lack of FPS difference, I think this just shows, as my suspicions have been, that PhysX SLI is extremely poorly coded and does not at all come close to utilising the full potential of the PhysX card. Whether this is Nvidia or the developers fault, I do not know.
     
  15. angmar

    angmar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI Founders
    a little off topic...but just out of curiosity why are you using such an extremely high voltage for 3.4ghz on a 950...you should be able to do that with stock volts.
     

  16. IKnowJack

    IKnowJack Member Guru

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX470
    from my testing it seems mafia2 is CPU bound.. faster the clock speed the better..
    no matter what graphics settings (Apex always HIGH)
    tested with single GTX470 aswell as with the GTX470+ dedicated 9400GT for physx/apex.. with low cpu clocks the dedicated setup was slower than the single card..pritty much the same fps with overclocked cards.. its only when overclocking the CPU the real gains where seen

    the way physx is now, not alot of it is getting acclerated on the graphics card..most can only be done on the CPU.. and it seems the new Physx3.0 is even worse!
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2011
  17. bakalu

    bakalu Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry my english

    for estimating accurately the power consumption of the system while overclocking, because when overclock you have to increase vCore.

    My system
    Core i7 980X 3.3GHz
    ASUS GTX 580
    ASUS 9600GT
    RAM 6GB
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit


    Settings in Mafia II
    [​IMG]

    Play Chapter 8

    only have GTX 580
    [​IMG]

    Have GTX 580 + 9600GT dedicated GPU PhysX
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    When you have one GPU, Mafia II is not using GPU for PhysX Clothing simulation, clothing simulation is running on CPU.

    APEX Particles and APEX Clothing effects are running on dedicated GPU.

    you can see: http://physxinfo.com/news/3892/mafia-ii-is-not-using-gpu-for-physx-cloth-simulation/
     
  18. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,630
    Likes Received:
    1,250
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Its pretty hard to see any difference from the screenshot.
    Can you do another with the same size models on screen?

    I read the article and while its great that they show graphs, some proof would have been very useful.
    They have no comparison screenshots.
    What look like links to screenshots are blue underlined text only.


    For me its of little consequence, I finished the game over 1/2 a year ago.
    Might be handy for someone else though.
     

Share This Page