which upgrade?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by TyrantofJustice, Sep 3, 2017.

1. TyrantofJustice

TyrantofJustice Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    is it worth going 1900x threadripper and expensive mobo or 1800x ryzen and reasonable motherboard ... i have one wifi card one gpu one sata ssd drive and no m2 drives so i do not use many pci lanes ... but i also wanted quad channel memory

2. Loophole35

Loophole35 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    What do you need Quad-channel memory for?

3. TyrantofJustice

GPU:
    GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    Hmm .. guess there is really no (need) for it. I just thought it was better for some reason. Excuse My ignorance but I'm not too tech savvy as I once was lol

4. TyrantofJustice

GPU:
    GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    is it worth going from an overclocked i7 6700k at 4.6 to a ryzen 1700x and a nice mobo? I just want to be more recent and i am not interested in coffee lake at all.

5. Loophole35

Loophole35 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    Not really a reason unless you need to leverage the extra threads. What is the main focus of your PC? If gaming is what you use it for most then what you have is fine to stay with until a real upgrade happens (ice lake or Zen2). If I were you I would just stay put.

airbud7 likes this.
  6. TyrantofJustice

GPU:
    GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    well here is the thing.. i do a lot of video batch conversion which i would like to speed up im a casual gamer but i do have a 1080 as a gpu so i can play the good games on ultra.
    also i have someone that wants to buy the stuff i have now so its basicaly costing me nothing and i make a bit off of it .

7. Loophole35

Loophole35 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC