1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what tweaks do you do for your fresh win10 installs? (from gaming/performance perspective)

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by alexander1986, Apr 6, 2019.

  1. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    @EdKiefer
    @Watcher

    Just in case, do not forget that all these profiles listed in "Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Multimedia\SystemProfile\Tasks" are not applied to any starting process automatically. Process should tell Windows that it belongs to any of profiles.
     
  2. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Yup, It would be nice if we got see somehow which process is linked to the profile, as that would be the only way to test and know if these settings do anything measurable.
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    There is a way. You can download a program called depends.exe and open an exe-file in this program. If it will show that exe-file depends on Avrt.dll and functions
    https://docs.microsoft.com/ru-ru/windows/desktop/api/avrt/nf-avrt-avsetmmthreadcharacteristicsw
    https://docs.microsoft.com/ru-ru/windows/desktop/api/avrt/nf-avrt-avsetmmthreadcharacteristicsa
    https://docs.microsoft.com/ru-ru/windows/desktop/api/avrt/nf-avrt-avsetmmmaxthreadcharacteristicsw
    https://docs.microsoft.com/ru-ru/windows/desktop/api/avrt/nf-avrt-avsetmmmaxthreadcharacteristicsa
    then most probably this process calls for that API.

    To discover what exactly profile ("Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Multimedia\SystemProfile\Tasks") is used you just need to spy on registry reads of the process with procmon.exe.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  4. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    That is interesting, I assume you mean this program.
    http://www.dependencywalker.com/
    On the Avrt.dll would Process explorer also show it in the bottom pane?
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  6. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Do the next step and open BFV exe-file in dependency walker, locate Avrt.dll and what functions are exported (or imported).
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  8. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I am not familiar with dependency walker, I get a lot of errors, don't see Avrt.dll.
    I used the x64 version, extracted to a folder, ran dependency walker and pointed to bfv.exe.
    Takes a long time to finish, does it need to be placed in the same folder as bfv?

    Anyway, I played a few runs of bf with the Scheduling Category set to high, I can't tell any difference.

    Error: At least one required implicit or forwarded dependency was not found.
    Error: At least one module has an unresolved import due to a missing export function in an implicitly dependent module.
    Error: A circular dependency was detected.
    Warning: At least one delay-load dependency module was not found.
    Warning: At least one module has an unresolved import due to a missing export function in a delay-load dependent module.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    If BFV exe-file is 32 bit it should be opened in 32 bit version of dependency walker. And 64 bit exe-file should be opened in 64 bit version of dependency walker.

    Anyway, you can archive BFV exe-file and offer a link to it, so I can watch it myself.
     
  10. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I get the same errors with x86 one, here link to exe.
    I'll leave it up for awhile.
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/146dxykicNdNVpS77zcRI5NR5zoFFULAN/view?usp=sharing
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    BFV exe-file is definitely 64 bit. I see no links to avrt.dll, so it can be that this dll is used not statically but dynamically.
    You can open exe-file in 64 bit version of dependency walker and start a profiler - menu "Profile". BFV is not installed here so I can`t profile it. You can try to see whether avrt.dll will be listed.

    PS I failed to find evidences that BFV exe-file actually uses avrt.dll.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2019
  12. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Tried profiling BFv, Avrt.dll not shown up in modules or "loaded".

    I guess PE was not accurate.

    PS; I also tried BF4, same thing no avrt.dll.
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I will create app which uses avrt.dll both statically and dynamically and to check the info.
    I found avrt.dll in Explorer.exe process shown in lower pane in ProcessExplorer.
     
  14. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    That is where I found it in BFv too.
     
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    @EdKiefer

    Can you launch elevated PowerShell and execute command: Get-WinEvent -listprovider Microsoft-Windows-MMCSS
     

  16. 386SX

    386SX Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    399
    GPU:
    RX64 Red Devil
    So far nobody mentioned:
    - autoruns from SysInternals to remove autostart entries
    - setting LAN connection to "metered" to manually install updates
     
    mbk1969 likes this.
  17. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> Get-WinEvent -listprovider Microsoft-Windows-MMCSS


    Name : Microsoft-Windows-MMCSS
    LogLinks : {}
    Opcodes : {win:Start, win:Stop}
    Tasks : {Scheduler_Priority_Change, Scheduler_Wakeup, Scheduler_Sleep, Service_Start...}
     
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Same here. There are no logs for MMCSS provider, so we can`t enable them and view events.
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,342
    Likes Received:
    3,850
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Found a newer version
    https://github.com/lucasg/Dependencies
    (but without profiling option)

    Meanwhile I created a simple app which uses avrt.dll. First try was a static usage - and I see avrt.dll in depends.exe. Next try will be a dynamic usage.

    Update: When app loads avrt.dll dynamically profiling in depends.exe shows it:
    Code:
    LoadLibraryW("avrt.dll") called from "AVRTTESTING.EXE" at address 0x010D2679.
    Loaded "AVRT.DLL" at address 0x5FDA0000.  Successfully hooked module.
    DllMain(0x5FDA0000, DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH, 0x00000000) in "AVRT.DLL" called.
    ...
    DllMain(0x5FDA0000, DLL_PROCESS_ATTACH, 0x00000000) in "AVRT.DLL" returned 1 (0x1).
    LoadLibraryW("avrt.dll") returned 0x5FDA0000.
    GetProcAddress(0x5FDA0000 [AVRT.DLL], "AvSetMmThreadCharacteristicsW") called from "AVRTTESTING.EXE" at address 0x010D26E9 and returned 0x5FDA17F0.
    
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  20. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Ok, so it only shows with new version or did it show on old one too?
    I can try new one.
    Edit: ran the DependenciesGui.exe with BFv, didn't see Avrt.dll listed in module pane.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019

Share This Page