what drivers are you guys using and what is working best

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by RPGgamesplayer, Sep 7, 2013.

  1. Fumz

    Fumz Member Guru

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Evga 1080Ti sc black icx
    I haven't tried the 326.98 yet, but I've run all the others. I still find the 320.18's to be the fastest and the smoothest. The IQ of other sets are better, especially the 326.80's, but I mostly play fps' and for me, framerate > all. After framerate comes driver smoothness to maintain accuracy. 320.18's are tops there too. I've read all the issues guys have had with them but haven't had a single one aside from BF3 artifacting which is easily cleared up flushing the texture cache.

    I'd rather smear butter across my monitor. Same blurry effects, better taste.
     
  2. Vxheous

    Vxheous Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 X
    314.22
     
  3. drac

    drac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Strix RTX2080 Ti OC
    780 sli scaling seems to be wacked at the moment, whatever driver I choose the % usage of the cards is never 99% 99%. Crysis 3 seems to get very close but still not at peak. Its particularly not good in BF3. Although it runs well, the usage is all over the shop.

    Just use the current whql, the new whql is just around the corner.
     
  4. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    I'm using the 301.42 with FXAA Enable, in seamonkey which i use the text is kinda blurry, but not alot. In games, the same depending on the game. But they fixed that problem in drivers above 301.42. So i am not sure why you still see blurry images or text using fxaa if you're not using the 301.42.
     

  5. Fumz

    Fumz Member Guru

    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Evga 1080Ti sc black icx
    In SC: Blacklist the difference between fxaa or txaa and msaa is dramatic. The shader based aa just sorta blurs the entire screen. I tried fxaa in Tribes Ascend and it really blurred the text so bad you couldn't read it, but I can't recall what set I was using back then? It was a while ago.
     
  6. TurboMan

    TurboMan Member Guru

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Strix OC
    326.80

    D3, BF3, Metro:LL, Bioshock Infinite, Tomb Rider, Crysis 3, L4D 2, CS:Source

    Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

    PS: Do not use Win 8 if you are a gamer. Too many incompatibilities with it. Just wait a year until bugs are cleared and move to it, what's the damn rush anyways ? From my personal experiences at least 25% of the problems with the video drivers are from Win 8...
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2013
  7. joe87

    joe87 Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 660 2GB
    326.98
    So far this driver is good for me.

    Win 7 Pro x64
     
  8. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    326.58 but with latest physx engine.
    had many hard locks with recent drivers, even these i'm on now but a reduced core OC seems to help.
     
  9. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    313
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    In Bf3 multiplayer this is cpu bottleneck :)

    To test this run with stock cpu and check fps on the roof of the hotel @ "Sharqi" Then look towards the town.

    Test this with cpu @ 5Ghz and memory @ 2400+ if you can.
     
  10. HonoredShadow

    HonoredShadow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,276
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 ti
    Same here. No problems with any game and I have over 100.

    I think most peoples problems are their timings and overclocks. Again and again I think this this in every thread. Don't fiddle to much their is no point. :bang:
     

  11. drac

    drac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Strix RTX2080 Ti OC
    It has to be a driver and/or game engine problem. I only say that because Crysis 3 on my system gets extremely close to full GPU utilization.
     
  12. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    313
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    Stock cpu: 4770k 62fps on roof
    4770k @ 4800mhz: ~85 fps
    4770k @ 4800 mhz and 2666 cl10 memory ~100fps...

    Cpu bottleneck?

    Gpu = 2x 780 classified

    Drivers does not do wonders, fast hardware does :)

    Does memoryspeed mather in games?

    Hell yeah!

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...a-(M)-Thread&p=5200972&viewfull=1#post5200972

    Look at GPU load @ 2666 memory ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2013
  13. RS-X

    RS-X Master Guru

    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 2060
    326.80 beta, My MSI GTX 760 is butter smooth with every thing.

    No crashes, BOSD, or problems.
     
  14. BoSL

    BoSL Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    KFA2 GTX1060 6GB OC
    326.84 with physx 9.13.0725
     
  15. drac

    drac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Strix RTX2080 Ti OC
    Your right you do get more fps from overclocking a CPU etc. Although I'm not talking about max fps, or even average fps, I'm just talking about getting full GPU utilization. Your definition of bottlenecking is incorrect. :3eyes:

    Crysis 3 can push both my GPU's to the max (or very close, 98% or so) so I have no CPU bottlenecking. Its the BF3 engine or drivers. Whether its just a CPU bound engine or something else relating to SLI 780 not being properly optimized in drivers yet, I can't say. But there is one thing that it's not, and that's CPU bottlenecking.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2013

  16. AltS7

    AltS7 Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX 650
    313.96 with GTX650 & XP/2003.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2013
  17. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    144
    GPU:
    1070Ti Phoenix
    this will vary from game to game. It also needs a good base (read: good CPU and GPU) to be of any interest at all. A person (like me) with 650Ti boost might be better of with 1333 ddr3 and use spare 100$ to upgrade up from 650Ti boost to gtx670 instead of buying 8gig of cl10 2333 ddr3...
     
  18. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    313
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    You did not see higher GPU utilization on the pictures?

    Bf3 is more cpu dependant than Crysis 3. That is why you got more GPU utilization on Crysis 3. If you have more AA, then the gpus use more power.

    Are you sure that youre definition of bottlenecking is correct? Proof bottleneck with pictures and benchmarks is the best. Try lower cpu speed and no HT for example. Crysis 3 does love HT :)

    Cpu is an bottleneck in Bf3 multiplayer, that is an fact ;)

    Proof me otherwise :thumbup:
     
  19. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    313
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    Yes this will vary from game to game :) And it will vary from the same game to with different gamesettings. In Bf3 "Mesh Quality" need very much cpu power! From low to max, the difference is from 30-50 fps in some places
     
  20. drac

    drac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,761
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    Strix RTX2080 Ti OC
    The comparison pics are surprising, that's a nice boost! BUT that's 1333mhz to 2666mhz, huge increase. I have 1866mhz so it wouldn't do a great deal for me. Also this seems more like a memory bottleneck, not CPU.

    All this proves is that BF3 has a weird engine, maybe made this way by Dice so it would run better on consoles, who knows. :infinity:
     

Share This Page