1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird issue with games, Windows 10 pro RS1

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by XcroN, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. XcroN

    XcroN Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti Aorus xtreme
    Hi,
    I'm having weird issue with windows and i don't really know if it's hardware related or windows "bug".

    My windows 10 pro is installed on my Samsung 950 pro and my games installed on raid config with 2 850's pro.
    The issue that games are launching with a delay like 20-30 seconds after i pressed the game.
    Rise of the tomb raider when i launch the game, the menu appears only after 30-40 seconds but the exe file is visible in task manager. Same with other games.

    I really don't know why is that, maybe because the OS is installed on a much faster drive? (the 950 pro)?
    Tried to reinstall the OS, same issue.
     
  2. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,438
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Tried installing them on the main C: to test?
     
  3. XcroN

    XcroN Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti Aorus xtreme
    Not yet. Will try it after work. But what could be the issue?
     
  4. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,438
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Not sure, but it will help narrow down the issue to being either Windows or SSD

    If it still does it on C:, you can rule out the RAID SSDs, if it doesn't you can rule out Windows and start looking at the SSD setup
     

  5. XcroN

    XcroN Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti Aorus xtreme
    Tested overwatch in C:, same result. Might be the OS but i don't really know where to look what might cause this issue.
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,909
    Likes Received:
    4,546
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Any antivirus installed?

    You should spy on game process with Procmon.exe from SysInternals suite. It can reveal file+registry+network activity of game process (and may be other background process).
     
  7. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,438
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
  8. XcroN

    XcroN Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti Aorus xtreme
    KIS 2017. Programs runs fine just games have delayed launch.
    Mostly Steam and battle net games
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,909
    Likes Received:
    4,546
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Then next questions are whether cloud saves are enabled in Steam and Origin? and whether Steam/Origin are enabled in games?
     
  10. XcroN

    XcroN Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti Aorus xtreme
    Cloud Sync enabled in steam (for savegames mostly).
    Iv'e read that system watcher in KIS might cause some issues but when this feature is disabled, still the same issue.
    Did check to each of the SSD's, they are working fine no problems (optimal speed and smart reading are normal).
    Tried sfc/scannow but no errors were detected during the test.
    Even tried to remove KIS from my system and still this "bug" is present.

    Maybe something with DRAM speed that is 3000mhz have something to do with it?
    I'm really out of options here.

    Edit: I can see that only Steam and battle net games somehow affected by this ATM.
    Ran a mod for stalker (call of chernobyl) as it's like standalone game from the Raid config, ZERO Lag and instant launch of the game.
    So if this mod works with no issues on delayed launch so i guess the SSD's and the OS is not to blame here right? Something else might causing this issue.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2016

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,909
    Likes Received:
    4,546
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Steam (and all others) launches the game process itself. First Steam should check whether all needed prerequisites are installed (like MSVC redistributable, registry keys and values), then it should inject overlay, and check the cloud storage, and may be check the status of DRM. Every such action could introduce the delay.

    Have you tried disable cloud storage and overlay in Steam?
     
  12. XcroN

    XcroN Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti Aorus xtreme
    Yes and i have the same result.
    Used Steam cloud with no issues at all up untill a week ago that the game launch started to be longer. Weird.
     
  13. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,686
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    did you get recent windows update? and did it start after the update?
     
  14. citrixscu

    citrixscu Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Strix 1080 Ti OC
    What's your Windows build #?
     
  15. XcroN

    XcroN Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti Aorus xtreme
    i got the latest update 14393.321

    I'll try another clean install of windows to test and will report later.

    EDIT: Everything is good untill i launch kaspersky internet security 2017.
    No issues with windows or hardware at all :)
    I will take thia matter to kaspersky as the issue present only when their software is installed on my machine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2016

  16. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,686
    Likes Received:
    362
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    does kaspersky have exclude list from realtime scans?
     
  17. XcroN

    XcroN Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti Aorus xtreme
    Yes but it dosen't help.
    Anyway kaspersky gave me too much issues even with chrome (error 0xc0000142 in some apps).

    Ditched KIS and moved to Avira. Less ram usage and does the job for me atleast.
     
  18. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,364
    Likes Received:
    1,438
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    I've tried Kaspersky a few times, and every single time it completely kills my connection dead

    Played about with it trying to find which module was causing it, and after hours found that it wasn't one specific module, it was a combination of many, I had to disable like 7 modules together to get my connection back up

    PoS lol
     
  19. gamehunter

    gamehunter Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 970
    I too faced same issue while opening folders

    I too faced the same issue while opening folders. I fixed the issue by doing a clean installation. If you upgraded your system without wiping the previous OS issues like it may happen.
     
  20. Loster

    Loster Member Guru

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW3 2080TI
    I had the same issue where Win10 partly freezed, i could still move the mouse but everything i clicked on just wont start until up to 60 seconds, then everything i clicked on just poped up and started alltogether. I noticed during the 60 second freeze my SDD was at 100% activity, seemed to be in a caching loop or something.
    In my case it was the "Intel(R) 7 Series Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller"

    So i replaced the installed Microsoft AHCI Standard driver with the official Intel one.
    Problem gone.
     

Share This Page