wav lossless harsh

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by vestibule, Feb 24, 2019.

  1. vestibule

    vestibule Master Guru

    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    Radeon RX6600XT
    Hi Guys.
    I backed up all my music to wav lossless. ( exact audio copy, free )
    But I find the sound to be a little harsh when compared to playing the CD.
    Am I right or wrong.
    I use foobar2000 as is, out of the box.
    What exactly did the ripper pull out of my CD extra to cause that harshness.
     
  2. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,652
    Likes Received:
    271
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    44/16 and secure mode? The sound should be identical.
     
  3. vestibule

    vestibule Master Guru

    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    Radeon RX6600XT
    Yes.
    Some how the sound is a little brighter and harsher? Noted by all listeners.
     
  4. sverek

    sverek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,073
    Likes Received:
    2,972
    GPU:
    NOVIDIA -0.5GB

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,809
    Likes Received:
    11,015
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    Have you tried other players?
     
  6. IAmGhostDog

    IAmGhostDog Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    XFX R9 390
  7. vestibule

    vestibule Master Guru

    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    Radeon RX6600XT
    TY for replies.
    It was, windows end point driver. Bit of a go figure, but there we are. :)
     
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,809
    Likes Received:
    11,015
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    You mean audio endpoint? What did you do to fix the issue?
     
  9. vestibule

    vestibule Master Guru

    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    Radeon RX6600XT
    I installed the appropriate driver for the hardware from the vendor.
    I have relied on audio endpoint before and It has served me well. But not this time. :)
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,809
    Likes Received:
    11,015
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    So you fixed namely audio output, and your rips from CDs were correct.

    PS Also a strange moment - why CDs sound normal with the same audio endpoint? The sound of CD and wave-file should be the same. It could be that the fix occurred in plugin like ASIO which was used by the foobar.
     
    vestibule likes this.

Share This Page