Watch Dogs Game Discussion Pt 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by aircool, May 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    Looks good nighttime or when it's raining, can't argue with that.

    (Click for full size)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2014
  2. KingpinZero

    KingpinZero Master Guru

    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Armor GTX1080
    I can share my settings to get the game playable in a better state, at least it works for me.

    In NVCP: set the game to use adaptive vsync (half refresh rate for those pursuing 60hz on a 120hz panel).
    Anisotropy 16x

    In game: disable vsync
    Gpu Frames: 1
    All settings to Ultra
    Temporal SMAA

    In Documents/My Games/Watch_Dogs search your profile folder, search for the XML in it, and change Deferred from Console to PC. Put the config file in READ ONLY.

    Thats all. Imho the vram is not the culprit: is the vsync system that is utterly broken.
    A friend of mine with a 670 and these settings had his performance changed night and day.

    Just thought it would be ok to share. Have fun.

    This is how it performs on my system,beware video is in italian. Is my channel:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dz9cy8PDC78
     
  3. ELCID777

    ELCID777 Banned

    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x msi hd 7970's
    DF's analysis says it's a texture streaming issue, which is what many have been saying for days now. the coding is bugged for all texture settings, not just ultra. the stuttering happens even on medium textures, although with much less frequency.

    so yeah, it's NOT a vram issue. this has been demonstrated by many users and now DF's analysis as well.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2014
  4. Siscka

    Siscka New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3 x 2 Go g.skill 1666Mhz
    What do you use to display all these stats gpu usage, dram etc on your game screen ?
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2014

  5. ELCID777

    ELCID777 Banned

    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x msi hd 7970's
    after burner is the best, imo.
     
  6. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    Haha, took a picture with my mobile phone where Aiden is in a motorboat (evening) and made sure just to snap the water, the boat and the environment but not the UI and sent to a friend. She said "Wow, did you buy a boat?" and thought it was the real thing.

    Sent another one (my previous pic a few posts up) to another friend where i just captured the street and said "Wow, it's raining a lot here". He said, bummer, it's sunny here. Also thought it was the real thing.

    Are my friends easy to fool or does the game infact look realistic? :p
     
  7. beybus

    beybus New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 760
    Anyone can tell me how to get sweet fx for Watch Dogs working under Windows 8.1 x64?
    I tried various versions and even radeon pro but can't see any effects of it.
    Any ideas?
    Cheers
     
  8. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,142
    Likes Received:
    2,628
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    The clear noon weather can look a bit washed out (SweetFx should be able to help with that.) but otherwise I think they did a pretty good job on the lighting.
     
  9. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,570
    Likes Received:
    1,489
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    Oh right, I've not tried SweetFX yet.

    On a side note I tried High textures instead but the stuttering was there although the "downs" were not that low.
     
  10. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    466
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    I'm getting scaling across all six of my cores, and GPU usage on both my GPUs tends to average in the mid 80s to low 90s.

    How are you getting triple buffered V-sync to work?
     

  11. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    466
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Was that just for Watch Dogs or games in general? Stuttering isn't an issue on PC gaming unless a game is badly coded or un-optimized from my experience..

    And yet PC gaming is hardly synonymous with decreased performance and asset quality.. That's actually console gaming.

    Lets look at another huge, complex CPU intensive game. BF4, which was designed primarily for PC. BF4 64 player matches can have a ton of things happening on screen that the GPU and CPU has to render, and the CPU has to keep track of a lot of different things like state changes, status updates etcetera.

    Yet BF4 has none of the issues plaguing Watch Dogs. Last time I ran BF4, it was smooth as butter at ultra settings 1440p with 2x MSAA.

    I can guarantee you that the game is going to get downgraded before release.
     
  12. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,746
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    What about when BF4 launched ? Remember that ?
    IMHO you just need to give it time to let them fix stuff. a few patches (just like bf4 had) and it will be good.
     
  13. Hristi

    Hristi Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 770 2GB
    Can someone please tell me how to make Sweetfx work on W7? I tried everything and it still crashes. I get this in the log.


    [01:04:28] D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain redirected successfully
    [01:04:28] Hooking swapchain...
    [01:04:28] D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain failed: 0000000080070057 !
    [01:04:28] D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain redirected successfully
    [01:04:30] D3D11CreateDeviceAndSwapChain failed: 0000000080070057 !
     
  14. kendoka15

    kendoka15 Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Gaming X
    I really hope they do get this sorted out

    But the people saying stuttering's normal with a game like this are full of baloney
     
  15. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    466
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Yes, and most of the problems were server related..

    I agree, but it's just that Ubisoft rep stating PC gamers should expect stuttering because of PCI-E latency is ridiculous..
     

  16. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,746
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    No they were not. for instance it was unplayable for me on windows 7. it had nothing to do with servers at all.
     
  17. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    466
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    The whole point of me bringing up BF4 was to show that a complex game that requires plenty of communication between the CPU and GPU could run very smoothly despite that Ubisoft rep's ridiculous assertion that PCI-E latency causes stuttering and PC gamers should expect it.

    I never had any non server related issues with BF4 personally, but I was on Windows 8.1. BF4 used a DX11.1 renderer, so it was going to be more optimized for Windows 8/8.1 from the get go as per the developer.

    Anyway, that's enough off topic.
     
  18. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,031
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Its mostly harddrive / file or OS file corruption and buggy AHCI RST drivers or Asmedia drivers


    in CMD (run as admin)
    one at the time
    Dism.exe /Online /Cleanup-Image /ScanHealth
    Dism.exe /Online /Cleanup-Image /CheckHealth
    Dism.exe /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

    &

    sfc /scannow


    also run disk scan, like mentioned in bsod window.



    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/findbyerrormessage/a/stop0x0000007b.htm
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2014
  19. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Dice did say that w8 was the OS for BF4. Anyway, BF4 ran 80+ fps on my rig at launch, 1440p, all maxed.
     
  20. kendoka15

    kendoka15 Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Gaming X
    AA too?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page