VSR game compatibility list?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by sammarbella, Dec 9, 2014.

  1. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I've tested the VSR feature from new drivers in The Witcher EE with a 290X Lightning at 3200x1800 on a 1080 27' monitor and it bounce me to desktop and revert to 1080 when i re-enter game settings.

    I can't understand why 285 is able to use 4K and the 290X only 3840x1800...:confused:

    This VSR feature needs more work from AMD in regard of compatibility and resolutions.

    For DX11 games it could be usefull (limited) untill GeDoSaTo adds DX11 support.

    Right now i can play TESVLE at 8K (7680x4320) with GeDoSaTo at 35 fps all option maxed but AA.

    AMD give us more res options or hire GeDoSaTo dev to do it.

    Sure he knows how to add his "magic" but don't hide dev improvements in a closet like you did with RadeonPRO! :bang:
     
  2. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    ?

    Radeon Pro is a 3rd party tool, he has not ever worked for AMD.

    He now works for Raptr, which is NOT part of AMD, they are a partner.

    VSR is in phase 1, there are more updates coming.
     
  3. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    So close they are in the AMD driver bundle.

    Can you share something about the VSR coming updates (ETA/added res)?

    Do you think custom res will be possible like in GeDoSaTo?
     
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    1q2015
     

  5. Turban

    Turban Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gb R9 290 OC
    I turned it on for the desktop, and when in games I could choose a new resolution.
    I have'nt found a game where I could do it yet, if even worked in Star Citizen.
    So overall it's pretty easy. I won't keep it though, Star Citizen is a bit too power hungry and the FPS suffer a bit too much for my taste.

    But pretty cool overall :)
     
  6. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    2,813
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    I'm not really sure how VSR is set up but from their list of supported resolutions and GPU's it does appear to have the same limits as the custom resolution utilities had with going above a resolution of 2700x1536 something although here it's set to a actual resolution of 2560x1600 on 16:10 and I think it was 2560x1440 for 16:9 from 1920x1080

    Unsure if that really is a hardware issue since these GPU's can display at resolutions above this via say a actual 4K monitor or even using GeDoSaTo downsampling but that limitation could be why only the R9 285 supports higher values at the moment.

    That's just a guess though, we'll see when they start expanding VSR with other options and more supported GPU's and hopefully higher resolution limits. :)


    As for compatibility it's working well in most games I've tried, start the game and set the resolution to 2560x1600 and it will downsample to 1920x1200 although some games like Far Cry 4 do something that also affects the desktop so folder windows and such gets resized.

    Solved it by going borderless which also works for most games although for Far Cry 4 SRWE was needed for the window to scale properly and not disappear beyond the monitors display area. :p

    Performance hit isn't that big but going from 1920x1200 to 2560x1600 isn't really a huge step, I think 1.5x1.5 scale would be 2880x1800 and 2x2 would be 3840x2400 and that does cause a significant performance hit in many newer games when tested with GeDoSaTo though it's currently limited to DX9 only at the moment.
    (I have also tested without any additional options and default scaling, performance improves but that's a lot more pixels and that will affect performance though it looks great.)

    I suspect that games that have problems with mouse cursor behavior and UI scaling will also have problems with VSR (And DSR.) but I haven't tested this.
    (Which is why GeDoSaTo has so many compatibility options and other settings to minimize these issues although UI size will be difficult to fix as far as I know.)
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2014
  7. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    anyone have any info on what features the A10-6800k APU supports with this new AMD omega driver? seems the 7xxx series of apu's get most of an features update, I can find any info on what features are supported by the 6800k apu. it just says Athlon APU support ? didn't even know they classed the Athlon as an APU ? just confused with AMD now dout i'll buy there hardware anymore,let down after let down for me from my vtx HD7870 to my crossfire r9 290x's when I owned them nothing but issues, I don't care so much for having the fastest graphics card in the world,reliability is more important to me, which AMD just didn't have when I compare to my new move over to Nvidia hardware
     
  8. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    268
    GPU:
    GTX 1660Ti
    Well there's the Athlon XP and stuff which are classic cpu's but their latest Athlon 5350 is a fully fledged APU.

    The semprons too.
     
  9. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    oh thanks for heads up, so what is the A10-6800k apu it not an Athlon it an A10 apu, so im guessing that the Athlon apu has the GCN based gpu? where does the new amd omega driver leave the richland and older apu's with feature support?

    EDIT

    after a little bit more looking I think the A10-6800k is supported with the new driver but its listed as HD8000 series APU.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2014
  10. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    268
    GPU:
    GTX 1660Ti
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/7933/the-desktop-kabini-review-part-1-athlon-5350-am1/5

    "The Athlon 5350 is analogous in design to the A6-5200 except for a 50 MHz speed bump and the name of the IGP – here this is designated as the R3 series."

    The new athlon and sempron are basically refurbished lower TDP, low-end A6 APU's.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2014

  11. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
  12. chilly willy

    chilly willy Master Guru

    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1080ti
    im mainly gonna use it for setting desktop resolutions to 1440p on 1080p displays so i can watch 1080p content for editing purposes and stuff without having to go fullscreen with it. the gaming stuff i great and all but desktop space is all i need.
     
  13. Ohnooze

    Ohnooze Guest

    Using a 1440p monitor I don't see much difference if any when using this feature.
     
  14. Final8ty

    Final8ty Master Guru

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x5970 Toxic 4GB 900/1200
  15. Hootmon

    Hootmon Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    XFX THICC III Ultra
    I tried it with Elite Dangerous Gamma. Reso is 1920x1600.
    VSR upscaling looks like SMAA but with a better framerate.
     

  16. darkshadow5k5

    darkshadow5k5 Master Guru

    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte vega 56 OC
    1080p
    [​IMG]
    QHD+
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Final8ty

    Final8ty Master Guru

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x5970 Toxic 4GB 900/1200
    The better quality on the chainmail is very noticeable.
     
  18. Gapster

    Gapster Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xSapphire R9 290x Tri-x
    1)The Witcher 1 EE on steam runs great for me at 3200*1800 (except smaller interface).
    2)Payday 2 on 3200*1800 excellent run.
    3)WoT works too.
    4)Smite runs good.
    That's all what i played for now. My Benq G2420HD runs at 1920*1080, and what is great about VSR, it support my overclocked monitor, so i have 60@75Hz even with VSR 3200*1800 turned on.
     
  19. Deathchild

    Deathchild Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,970
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    Nice.
     

Share This Page