Vista, 32 bit or 64?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by heads_up, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. heads_up

    heads_up Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5770 1GB
    Hey, haven't posted here in a long time.

    Basically, rigs on the left, should I go 32 or 64?

    Thanks
     
  2. dukedave5200

    dukedave5200 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX 285 OCX - SLI
    Well, 64bit will use about 20-30% more ram than 32. If you don't plan on increasing your amount of ram, it might be better to go with 32. But I would recommend getting 2 to 6 more GB of ram and getting the 64bit version.
     
  3. GSB

    GSB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,163
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 650
    I got same CPU, although not OCed as much but he is correct, in my tests the 64 bit Ultimate flavor of Vista was a little bit slower than the 32 bit version. However, 64 bit Home Premium ran pretty good after I knocked some of the unnecessary overhead down. my 2C
     
  4. Deadman93723

    Deadman93723 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX 260 OC2 MaxCore
    Simple and plain, 32-bit will work best for you.
     

  5. Finchwizard

    Finchwizard Don Apple

    Messages:
    16,439
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    -
    Stop going 32bit!

    64bit is the future, it's taking ground.
    Go for it.
     
  6. heads_up

    heads_up Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5770 1GB
    Thanks Finchy, I think I'll head 64.
     
  7. Keitosha

    Keitosha Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,872
    Likes Received:
    114
    GPU:
    Vega56 8GB
    Yeah, not only that, but 99.9% of your 32-bit apps will run just as fine in Vista 64 as in the 32-bit version.

    Vista 64 for example has way better (driver) support than that dreaded XP64. (I used it, but always had problems with software)

    Welcome to the 64-bit era.
     
  8. DES_MX

    DES_MX Master Guru

    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX480 850/4400 1.075v
    How about Adobe Creative Suite 3 (CS3), does it operate on Vista X64?
     
  9. Barry J

    Barry J Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,780
    Likes Received:
    128
    GPU:
    RTX2080 TRIO Super
    New X64 user

    I have just moved to Vista x64 and all my games work all my software works and all of my hardware works. I am finding X64 vista to be better than X86 vista.

    This is what i have installed and its all working.

    Games
    The settlers rise of an empire
    World in conflict
    TDU
    Crysis
    Stalker
    Company of Heros
    Rainbow Six
    Bioshock
    Dirt
    Flight sim X
    NFSMW
    Supreme commander

    Software
    MS Office 2003
    MS Autoroute 2003
    Nero 7
    Skype
    Norton internet 2007
    Real player
    Rivertuner 2.06
    GPU-Z
    Fraps
    Adobe reader

    Hardware
    Nforce 550
    Logitech Notebook pro webcam
    Logitech MX5000
    8800gts 512
    XFi Fat1ty Pro
    2x rapters Raid0
    1x Hitachi 250Gb
    1x DVDRW
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2008
  10. RandyB

    RandyB Banned

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS HD4870/Samsung2343BWX
    Why anyone with current hardware would choose the 32bit over the 64bit is beyond me!!!
    Time to wake up and smell the techology, boys and girls. If your system is 64bit and all your hardware is up to the task; then, its not something you should even have to think about.
    You've read the horror stories...read about all the people who have 64bit running perfectly on their systems - me included.
    BTW: Vista has made great progress since its' release. Absolutely no reason not to go with it. :bigsmile:
     

  11. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,115
    Likes Received:
    1,688
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Reason why people won't make the switch mainly is because...well, there are a couple of reasons.

    1. People don't have the money
    2. People don't care to much
    3. People don't like Vista
    4. XP64 is worthless

    Vista 64-bit to me is the only reliable 64-bit OS from microsoft, I use it, and love it. :D
     
  12. Drizzt

    Drizzt Master Guru

    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA Geforce 7800GT @ Stock OC
    64-bit
     
  13. dukedave5200

    dukedave5200 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX 285 OCX - SLI
    All (well most) of my servers at work use Windows Server 2003 64-bit... Completely rock solid.......
     
  14. OrionRU

    OrionRU Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 8800GTX (621/1512/2020)
    X64 hands down, been using same install for almost a year now and its been perfect.
     
  15. Nato.dbnz

    Nato.dbnz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5870 Crossfire
    Yep, no problems there
     

  16. anwaypasible

    anwaypasible Banned

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga / 7900 GTO / 512mb @ 676/1554
    i read that not much takes advantage of 64bit

    i dont use any professional applications
     
  17. RandyB

    RandyB Banned

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS HD4870/Samsung2343BWX

    Give it some time. There'll probably be a flood of 64bit apps at some point. Meanwhile; Vista 64 with SP1 is quite solid and secure. I'm sure, those who have used it for any length of time will forget all about XP. You couldn't pay me to go back to XP! Or - you could pay me - but, I still wouldn't go back to XP! :bigsmile:
     
  18. Deadman93723

    Deadman93723 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX 260 OC2 MaxCore
    Yeah, a flood of 64-bit apps eventually but not anytime soon. I'm sticking with 32-bit, I have 64-bit and have used it but 32-bit is easier to work with....for now.

    And, yes RandyB, we all know you loooooooovvvvveee Vista.:)
     
  19. RandyB

    RandyB Banned

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS HD4870/Samsung2343BWX
    ...and obviously; I'm not alone. Do you think we're all lying about what a great time we're having with Vista 64 and lots of RAM? ;)
    For me; one year after its release, Vista is (overall) faster and more stable than XP ever was. So, what's not to love? I've said it before; any time I have to work on someone's XP machine, it just feels clunky and I can't wait to get back to my Vista box. :rock:
     
  20. Animatrix

    Animatrix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,842
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT OC2 512
    There are other reasons why x64 is a superior platform, and it's not just professional applications. Though im not sure i know exactly what you mean by professional. If it is professional as in only expensive software then no, if you mean software usually used by "professionals" such as video editing software etc. then yes, many such applications are taking advantage of 64-bit code. But this includes free software such as VirtualDub.
     

Share This Page