1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virtual Super Resolution (VSR)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fr33jack, Jan 15, 2015.

  1. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    The "Reds" have finally answered to Nvidia's Dynamic Super Resolution (DSR).

    So, let's talk about it. Lets talk about how it's works, how we need it for the rest of the gpu models (Tahiti, Pitcairn, Cape Verde, etc.) ASAP, how we can tweak it and such (if any), about it's flaws, bugs, etc. ...I mean, let's talk about it all. And first of all (I presume we all who can't yet enable it) we want to hear about first-hand experience from the owners of R9 295X2/R9 290X/R9 290/R9 285 GPUS who can only ones who can use it atm :)

    So, gents...speak up...
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  2. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    211
    GPU:
    GTX 960M
    Yeah i'm waiting for it to get supported on the other architectures. Enabling it only on the 290-285 seems really stupid. Even more when the 285 is like a little bit worse than the 280x.
     
  3. griffz

    griffz Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16GB


    so funny, guru3D benchmarked frame pacing improvement with .... r9 295x².
    why not use someting more mainstream like 7870 and R9 280 ?
     
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    Its only on those cards, because in its current form its HARDWARE SCALER DEPENDANT.

    Those cards have the proper scaler, the others dont. They cannot implement it on the other cards.

    They are working on a potential software solution for the other cards as well as additional resos.

    This is exactly what nvidia did. Supported hardware 1st, then software after.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015

  5. griffz

    griffz Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16GB

    yeah , i give you a cookie , you just admit AMD failed to select the best technical design.

    hint:
    http://www.dsogaming.com/news/softth-is-a-downgrade-tool-that-works-with-dx9-dx10-dx11-games/
    http://blog.metaclassofnil.com/?tag=gedosato
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  6. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    no, they implemented a feature for those who could use it. In hardware.

    software will be an inferior solution, as is softTH and GeDoSa

    You would rather they say "Everyone cant use it, so no one gets it"?

    please....

    Sounds more like sour grapes....
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  7. griffz

    griffz Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16GB
    every DX9 game can use softTH downsampling execpt those that use a titanium hack scan . mainly MMORPG/FPS
    Dont try to make us think a full scale conceptor team can't make better.
     
  8. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    and they will

    and it will still be inferior to a hardware implementation.

    Every game DX9, DX10, and DX11 can use the current hardware implementation so im not sure what you are implying...
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  9. millibyte

    millibyte Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    2070 subpar RTX OFF
    In what way will the software solution be inferior in your opinion, performance, compatibility, IQ?
     
  10. Goldie

    Goldie Banned

    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 760 4gb sli
    nvidia uses software to do it and it works fine, i use it to watch hd videos, it does indeed improve pic quality.
    it'll work the same as green that's why i chimed in is all.
    we get a smoothness slider, default is 33%, i like 0% as it's nice and crisp.
    you need to resize browser and such when using it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015

  11. Krteq

    Krteq Master Guru

    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    RX Vega 56 +64 BIOS
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015
  12. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    ^-this.

    Nvidia is both as well BTW, the initial release was hw for cards that could do it, then they released a sw update for the rest.
     
  13. millibyte

    millibyte Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    2070 subpar RTX OFF
    Thanks for the link Krteq. Well it's good to know that it's an actual hardware limitation and not an artificial one.
     
  14. otimus

    otimus Member Guru

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 GTX 970
    To be fair, Nvidia has supported custom scaling options via software for ages, just not in any capacity as a noted feature. They've had downsampling in the drivers, doable very simply by entering some numbers, for like... four or five years or so now.
     
  15. velocityx

    velocityx Master Guru

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FE - EK FCB
    im actually loving it, using it for shadowrun returns, diablo 3, wasteland 3, dragon age origins and inquisition, thief, mass effects, all the games i got, civ 5 looks cool too.
     

  16. fr33jack

    fr33jack Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    1050Ti @1.9/ 9.0GHz
    Yeah...but I'd say more than 5 years...close to more than 10 or something around like a 10 :) I used downsampling on my 8800 Ultra back in those days...and even before, the option to create a custom res via driver was there...
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2015
  17. Hootmon

    Hootmon Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    RX580 8GB
    Works great with Elite: Dangerous. Tried it with Rift and its not as great.
     
  18. haz_mat

    haz_mat Master Guru

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    1070 FE
    VSR 2560x1600 scaled to 1920x1200 on my 290x is working great for me in a few of the lesser-demanding titles that I've tried it with. Diablo 3, Starcraft 2, DOTA2, GTA4-EFLC - all looking good.
     

Share This Page