vinyl record VS digital

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by vestibule, Jun 9, 2018.

1. vestibule

vestibule Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Radeon RX6600XT
    Hi guys.
    I have a burning question to which I hope you know the answer to and under stand my question.
    vinyl is back, but in this digital age is it possible that the quality of the vinyl press will only 16 bit like cd or will it always be 24 bit or higher.

2. mbk1969

mbk1969 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    That`s only the question of the sources for vinyl press.

user1 likes this.
  3. DAW40

DAW40 Guest

GPU:
    EVGA 1060 6GB
    You can do 32bit 384Khz then with your DAW you can convert digital to analog. It will sound the same as if you put a vinyl record on the needle.
    I have been producing music for 21 years so I know. hehe :)

4. RealNC

RealNC Ancient Guru

GPU:
    4070 Ti Super
    If you record vinyl into a 16-bit 44.1khz file, it will sound exactly the same as the vinyl.

If you record a badly mastered source into a 16-bit 44.1khz file, it will sound exactly as bad as the badly mastered source. Garbage in, garbage out :)

In other words: vinyl doesn't sound better. It's just that the original source material that's used to press the vinyl from is very often mastered better than the mastering done to press CDs from. See "loudness wars". It's a huge issue since the mid-90's, where many CDs are mastered in such a way that makes them sound horrible compared to vinyl records. Unfortunately, that bad mastering very often also extends to non-CD releases (like iTunes or Spotify and such.)

As for 16-bit vs 24-bit, there is no difference when you listen to audio. 24-bit is only useful when you're working on the audio in a DAW. You can take an "HD" audio file (24-bit, 192khz) for example and convert it to a 16-bit 44.1khz file. It will sound the same. In fact, on many consumer audio equipment, the HD file can actually sound worse. See: