Very Poor Performance on 4870 x2 help please

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Khalam, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. Khalam

    Khalam Master Guru

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 580 Lightning 1010mhz
    Dear Guru's

    I got my self an upgrade from my 8800gtx last week, got a new
    sapphire 4870 x2. I formated my hard drive, installed windows (vista home premium 64 bit) got all the updates including sp1. And now the bad part, I installed the new prince of persia, nfs undercover, mirrors edge, crysis warhead, fallout 3 and farcry 2, set all games to there in game max settings nad all of the mentioned run very poor, prince gets 24fps nothing more, just less, the first intro where the prince walks through the storm I get 12fps... then nfs I get between 22-35fps, crysis with aax4 I get between 16-22fps, fallout 3 around 30 and farcry 2 the same. Im very dissapointed because my 8800gtx was getting 3-4fps less in most cases. Any idea what might be the issue? ive tried 8.10,11 and 12 drivers. When I try to install the moded once vista shouts that the driver isnt signed and it wont work/install. Also when I choose screen res to 1920x1080 it doesnt fit the whole screen, never had a problem on the same tv with the 8800gtx. Ill appriciate any help because im after an extra 250euro for 3-4fps.....
     
  2. k3vst3r

    k3vst3r Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,576
    Likes Received:
    103
    GPU:
    KP3090 G9 240Hz
    Give vantage or 3d mark 06 a run post back the results.
     
  3. airblazer

    airblazer Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 2x 5870 1GB
    Check GPU-z to ensure both cores are being used. Lots of people had this issue in sli/x-fire boards with 2 or more pci-e x16 slots.
     
  4. Khalam

    Khalam Master Guru

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 580 Lightning 1010mhz
    ok ill do that, ive got a 3xsli mainboard. What exactly am I looking for in gpu-z??? and where:) I noticed that I had 18-24fps in mirrors edge and after disabling the ai it jumped up to 28-32fps
     

  5. deusex

    deusex Master Guru

    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    3090 FTW3 Ultra
    Check the clocks your card is running on.
    For some strange reason I had the same problem (crappy drives)
    my card was running at 500/500 only. Try uninstalling completly your drives and install them again.
     
  6. Wolfskin07

    Wolfskin07 Member Guru

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti
    at the bottom of the window u'll see "ATi Crossfire: Enabled (2 GPUs), Sideport Off (unsure on VIsta 64)"
    If it reads that there are 2 GPUs enabled you're fine. As for the 24FPS make sure u're TV can do 1920x1080 at more than 25Hz...if it can't and you have V-Sync enabled than that's the cause of the problem right there.
    As for at 1920x1080 rez your desktop only takes 1/3 of the screen i have that 2 and still couldn't find a way to fix it...it has something to do with the GPU scaling of that resolution in monitors/TVs that aren't native to it.

    Cheers!
     
  7. JaxMacFL

    JaxMacFL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    1,129
    GPU:
    3090 FTW3 ULTR/HYBR
    At desktop (2D) the x2 is default at 507/500 (runs cooler) and only uses one gpu. In fact I have mine set to 507/300 so it runs even cooler. When a 3D app or game starts up, both gpus' kick up to 750/900.
     
  8. Khalam

    Khalam Master Guru

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 580 Lightning 1010mhz
    I tried uninstalling, reinstalling and nothing, no differance. Lately I un-oced my q6600 back to factory 2,4ghz, think it could be a bottleneck?
     
  9. tukm

    tukm Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon X1800XT 512MB
    its the vista 64bit thats causing it. Dont you notice all the ppl with bad performance say they have vista 64bit?
     
  10. hallryu

    hallryu Don Altobello

    Messages:
    11,387
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    2x HD7970
    You have mentioned that in another thread as well! Can you tell us why you think Vista64 is the issue? Because I have no such problems with the games I'm playing!
     

  11. Symbiosis

    Symbiosis Master Guru

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 690
    I totally agree with you, Vista 64 with 8GB ram and a 4870X2 with no single issue here.

    @OP, your CPU will not be bottlenecking your card at the resolution your are playing as you will be GPU limited....it sounds like to me that you only have one GPU working....I play Far Cry 2 Max settings on DX10 and receive around 70-80 FPS average. It's possible that you may just have a faulty card.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
  12. Khalam

    Khalam Master Guru

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 580 Lightning 1010mhz
    Hey everyone,

    I've been fightinng with that 4870 x2 of mine for a week now and I give up.
    I've finally got 3dmark2006 working and I got 13k....

    Farcry 2 gets 30-40fps, nfs undercover 25-40, crysis dosn't go over 22-24fps,

    I've reinstalled windows, tried 8.11/12 and 9.1 drivers

    do you think that the fact im using a 3xsli mainboard and not a crossfire one could be the problem???
     
  13. Iarwain

    Iarwain Banned

    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4890 990//1120
    I think you need to try more than screwing with drivers.

    Crysis, don't bench it, it hates ATI hardware probably coded that way.

    A score of 13k on 3dmark tells us nothing, that score could be 1k worth of CPU and 12k GPU.

    Confirm for me please that when Catalyst AI is turned completely off (Disabled is checked) then your FPS improves? Also confirm for me you're not applying any AA of any kind. If you disable eye candy or turn down the resolution, do the FPS improve?
     
  14. MTM1977

    MTM1977 Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati 4870x2 2Gb
    well, i have quite similar setup than you, main difference being the CPU and mobo and it works without problems for me (19,8k 3DMark06). So, there is something wrong with your setup.
    How is the score divided on your 3DMark result? (trying to figure out if it is the CPU or the GPU that is underperforming)

    Basicly X2 card should not require crossfire mobo, as it is a single card and the "crossfire" is done internally on the card.

    What kind of settings you have on CCC 3D settings?
     
  15. subfire91

    subfire91 Master Guru

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Powercolor 4870 1GB
    for crysis with aa4x thats pretty normal. i believe is the cpu. you need a good cpu to handle that card 2.4 GHz wont do the job well. try ocing about 3.2 GHz and retest.
     

  16. Khalam

    Khalam Master Guru

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 580 Lightning 1010mhz
    Hey everyone,

    Just got home from work and after turning everything to performance in ccc, disabling and enabling the AI, changing the resoulution im still geting more or less same resoults, turning everything of in ccc all of the above gives me a max 4-5fps gain...
     
  17. MTM1977

    MTM1977 Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati 4870x2 2Gb
    One thing that came to my mind is that since you have re-installed windows, did you install chipset drivers also?
    If they are not installed, the motherboard might not function properly.
     
  18. Khalam

    Khalam Master Guru

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 580 Lightning 1010mhz
    no no, ive installed everything, do you think the 2,4ghz would be such a bottleneck?
     
  19. MTM1977

    MTM1977 Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati 4870x2 2Gb
    2,4Ghz could very well bottleneck the 4870x2. From what i've seen/heard, it is recommended to have 3Ghz at minimum (even with multicore CPU) with this GPU.
     
  20. Khalam

    Khalam Master Guru

    Messages:
    883
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 580 Lightning 1010mhz
    I've just run 3dmark with ai disabled i get 12k and with enabled 13k... all the eye candy is off. no aa. i'm gone oc my cpu 2m and see if that helps.
     

Share This Page