Very bad score in AS SSD. The disk feels slow too

Discussion in 'SSD and HDD storage' started by Englishlad, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,466
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    You cant just switch ACHI on in the bios OS will not boot if it it was not installed with ACHI enabled you have to either do the ACHI switch in registry first or install the OS that way Same goes for IDE you cant switch between the 2 freely once installed

    Nor are the Sata III on the X58 native Intel controller they where marvel i think and they where terrible last i checked, Sata II is native though.

    Also if you have no problems with your SSD you should not change the firmware at that is my believe my 830 has never had Firmware update and i never had problems with it either.


    AS SSD Benchmark 1.7.4739.38088
    ------------------------------
    Name: ATA SAMSUNG SSD 830 SCSI Disk Device
    Firmware: 3B1Q
    Controller: iaStorA
    Offset: 1024 K - OK
    Size: 119.24 GB
    Date: 9/3/2014 2:26:43 PM
    ------------------------------
    Sequential:
    ------------------------------
    Read: 262.32 MB/s
    Write: 226.14 MB/s
    ------------------------------
    4K:
    ------------------------------
    Read: 21.12 MB/s
    Write: 58.51 MB/s
    ------------------------------
    4K-64Threads:
    ------------------------------
    Read: 172.26 MB/s
    Write: 95.42 MB/s
    ------------------------------
    Access Times:
    ------------------------------
    Read: 0.098 ms
    Write: 0.055 ms
    ------------------------------
    Score:
    ------------------------------
    Read: 220
    Write: 177
    Total: 515
    ------------------------------

    This the normal give or take for Sata II atlest for me anyway.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
  2. F3ckB9LL

    F3ckB9LL Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti 11Gb
    here's mine ( SATA III / Maximus VI hero c2 )

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,495
    Likes Received:
    990
    GPU:
    3080Ti Strix H20
    EXT0BB6Q is the latest firmware, i always install the latest firmware, never have issues with it.

    As for those drivers, you can go to device manager, go to the storage controller, drivers then use the have disk option. Browse to the folder called AHCI 64/32bit.

    Alternatively, just run the setup program.
     
  4. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,499
    Likes Received:
    679
    GPU:
    Dell 6800XT 16GB
    Marvell SE9128 is my sata III
    ICH10R is my sata II
    Based on what you have said and this, Ill try out my sata II.
    But in my bios I dont any setting for ACHI for my sataII
    Only sataIII has the option.

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     

  5. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,495
    Likes Received:
    990
    GPU:
    3080Ti Strix H20
    Dont need to set anything in the bios, intel supports it regardless. Your benchmark from above shows storahci driver being used.
     
  6. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,499
    Likes Received:
    679
    GPU:
    Dell 6800XT 16GB
    No matter what I do, I dont have ahci running on sata II. Did all the reg edits. Everything is higher on sata II except read rate. its 210 sII vs 250 sIII.
    But overall it feels good enough. Guess it would be worth it to get a native intel stataIII board with a sataIII ssd.
     
  7. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,466
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    Ach/Ide settings should apply to all ports not just sata III seeing as both cant be running at same time
     
  8. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,495
    Likes Received:
    990
    GPU:
    3080Ti Strix H20
    Look at your benchmark picture. STORAHCI is the loaded driver, so yes, it is using ahci.
     
  9. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Vertex 2 is a SATA II drive. Have u run trim though?
     
  10. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    I forgot to add SSD's seem to work better with speedstep turned off.......

    *edit
    hey mate I just noticed your driver is MSAHCI, have u tried the Intel AHCI drivers?
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2014

  11. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,495
    Likes Received:
    990
    GPU:
    3080Ti Strix H20
    More specifically, C3/C6 states.
     
  12. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,499
    Likes Received:
    679
    GPU:
    Dell 6800XT 16GB
    That picture is of my Marvel Sata III port. I got ahci to run on that.
    When I switched to Sata II ahci will not work on my SSD.
    My 640gb which is used for steam, and 80GB for chrome downloads
    both work in ahci on sata III. They both were in ide mode on sata II
    before swapping them around. I also downloaded and installed the drivers
    you had posted.
     
  13. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,666
    Likes Received:
    5,094
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Is that so? No C3 state if you got a ssd in your system, do I understand that correctly? Is there a specific technical background for that?
     
  14. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,495
    Likes Received:
    990
    GPU:
    3080Ti Strix H20
    AH my bad, thought i read the 2nd post was SATA 2.

    Anyways, if you can boot on the sata 2 ports, just install the AHCI driver in the x64 folder using have disk from device manager on the storage controller. After that, dont reboot do this

    1) Run the Registry Editor (regedit.exe)
    2) Navigate to Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Msahci
    3) Set the "Start" value to 0 (zero)
    4) Navigate to Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Pciide
    5) Set the "Start" value to 0 (zero)

    C3 and C6 power savings affect SSDs speeds. If you dont care about that, then it doesnt matter. Some people found out loading prime95 with high cpu usage gave better SSD scores, found out it was the c states.
     
  15. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    I mean speedstep, sometimes file transfers don't load the CPU enough to make it change p-states and SSD's can be a bit faster when the CPU is working at full throttle....


    Incidentally I just discovered AMD RAID drivers are seriously impeding read speed. First bench is with RAID drivers 2nd is with AHCI drivers.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2014

  16. Englishlad

    Englishlad Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI NVIDIA GTX 970
    Yesterday I manually replaced the Gigabyte controllers listed in Storage Controllers section of Device Manager with the Intel ones. This caused a BSOD so I probably did it wrong. I do have both the linked Intel resources installed now, but I don't think they're being used. Scores are the same as before, and no change in Device Manager.

    How can I successfully use the Intel drivers throughout my system? Thanks :)
     
  17. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Do u have AHCI turned on in BIOS?
     
  18. Englishlad

    Englishlad Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI NVIDIA GTX 970
    Yep.
     
  19. clawhamer

    clawhamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 780 Classified
    What's the dump file say ?
     
  20. Englishlad

    Englishlad Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI NVIDIA GTX 970
    OK, I dunno how to get whatever dump file is being asked for. I did however buy a new SSD. Here's an interesting graphic about that:

    [​IMG]

    Note that this is running over Sata 2.

    On the left is the SSD on September 3rd. On the right is the SSD on October 4th. This disk is less than 5% full and it's barely been used. The PC has been off from September 10th - September 30th, but it was running great before that.

    I haven't made any system changes, although there have been some Windows updates.

    ------

    UPDATE: I've tried many things over the last few hours, and the problem was solved after the following actions: Running the TRIM operation from Samsung Magician, then formatting the drive (properly). Although now ASSD gives this error for the last test:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2014

Share This Page