Upgraded to 2500k -awsome improvement

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards Intel' started by Foamy4, May 5, 2012.

  1. Foamy4

    Foamy4 Master Guru

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX770 4GB
    Hey all. Just want to share my experiences with the i5-2500k. I just upgraded from a Q9650@4Ghz to a 2500k@4Ghz. I'm only running 4Ghz for comparisons.

    In cinebench 11.5 my Q9650 scores 4.23 multicore and 1.21 single core.
    My 2500k scores whooping 6.53 multicore and 1.51 single core. :banana:

    I've only tested BF3, WOW, WAR and mass effect 3. Common for all games is that the loading times have been decreased and the smoothness has greatly improved! In WoW I gained a massive fps improvement... sooo smooooth.. :)

    Programs are responding faster and all tasks in general are running better.

    Now I'll annoy my girlfriend with facts about my awsome upgrade :stewpid: and test some more games tomorrow.

    -Foamy4
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  2. XBEAST

    XBEAST Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 770 Gaming
    Tell me about it. I went from Athlon64 X2 4400+ straight to i5 2500K. Now that was awesome :D
     
  3. draccy

    draccy Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX570DCU II-950/1900
    Foamy4 - now upgrade your video card and you will see much more ;)
     
  4. Foamy4

    Foamy4 Master Guru

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX770 4GB
    I can't even imagine. :D

    Baaah I know, I just don't want to spend money on it yet ;D
     

  5. kingnosser

    kingnosser Banned

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI560tiTFII/OC/1GB
    I also went from a Q6600 upto a 2500k oc'd to 4.5Ghz pretty much doubled my fps in some games with the same gfx card, lower volts lower temp, one happy nosser here :D

    45fps in BF3 on ultra and GTA IV is now happy with 70fps maxxed, Metro 2033 is still a bitch!!.

    Really good performing chip at a very modest price I feel, well worth the upgrade :)
     
  6. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    I went from the AMD Phenom II 810 to the Core i5 3570K and noticed quite a sizeable speed increase that's for sure. Even web pages load quicker. The SSD helps loading times but since I cache all the web pages on a RAMDisk anyways, SSD or no SSD, the speed is still noticeable.

    deltatux
     
  7. Vxheous

    Vxheous Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    Went from an E8400 @ 3.6Ghz to a i5 3570K @ 4.4Ghz....love the performance boost, though I haven't had much time to really play with it yet.
     
  8. fuma86

    fuma86 Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 560Ti
    hmm wonder if theres point from what i have in left to jump into i5 3570k? mobo would be like @deltatux or Maximus V GENE + 4x4 corsair venegance 16GB
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2012
  9. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    You don't really need an upgrade, but you will notice a difference as Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge do outperform the Nehalem series even without going LGA2011.

    It's really up to you if you want to pony up the cash. However, if I were in your position, I wouldn't as there's still a lot of life left in your system.

    deltatux
     
  10. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,333
    Likes Received:
    56
    GPU:
    1080ti @2GHz air
    Did a similar upgrade from Q9705 @4.2GHz to 2500K @4.6GHz (at the time).
    Similar experience, windows was much snappier, games smoother+higher framerate, winamp visuals better :D
     

  11. draccy

    draccy Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX570DCU II-950/1900
    +1
    he can only get better video card (not that 560ti cant play todays games)

    personally i went to 2600K from 9550Q,my friend offered me good price for 9550Q system,so i didnt hesitated,and after 3 nightmare days without pc i got Sandy system up and running,and difference was quite amazing
    i think Sandy's is one of the best cpu's ever made
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2012
  12. Gripen90

    Gripen90 Master Guru

    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xGTX1080Ti@1616/1468MHz
    It always nice when you feel that an upgrade really was worth it all !. Going from a Q9650 to a Ci5 2500K should also be noticeable even at stock settings.

    So what are you gonna replace the old trustworthy GTX 295 with ? :)
     
  13. Chillin

    Chillin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,813
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    -
    I went from a P4-D (Prescott) 3.4GHz, 3GB of some slow ass DDR2 and a 9400GT to my current system. :)
     
  14. Foamy4

    Foamy4 Master Guru

    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX770 4GB
    Neeeeveer! I haven't thought about it yet. I might go for the next amd release or get a 670ti. :)
     
  15. Vxheous

    Vxheous Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    Shell out for the 690 :) I'm still kinda upset my GTX 295 died back in Feb, but at least EVGA replaced it with a 570 free of charge.
     

  16. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,044
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    HD7950
    Damn.

    Must have felt like getting out of a Ford Fiesta and into a Lamborghini Murcielago. I upgraded to Ivy from using the Core2 series and the improvement was huge.
     
  17. Vxheous

    Vxheous Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
    More like a Golf Cart to a Murcielago. My parents were still using my P4C 2.6Ghz at home from 2003, and the thing was painful. Gave them my Core 2 E8400 this weekend, gave me the excuse with the wife to build the new IB system. Parents happy, Wife happy, Me extremely happy. My 10 month old daughter was meh to the whole thing, but she got to play with the Intel Stock cooler out of the box, so I guess she's happy too.
     
  18. GandraZz

    GandraZz Master Guru

    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    555m 2GB 665/1330 FHD
    Pfff.

    I went from p4 630 3.6GHz to mine 2500k 4.6Ghz :nerd:
     
  19. Luluzinha

    Luluzinha New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD 6950
    hi, i did a similar upgrade and i kind have a dumb question, i have this mother board full of overclocking settings, but right now, im not interested in overclocking.

    Anyway, its an asus maximus III + I7 860 and this proc is 2.8ghz, but i checked cpuz and its always at 3ghz.

    Im wondering if there is any option to disable overclocking, does it disable if i set everything to "Auto", i tried that option and the proc is always running at 3ghz++ even at idle.

    So, i found the turbo mode option and i turned it off, so now it seems that its running at the "correct" speed, which is 2.8ghz, is there a way to have intel turbo on and the proc. working at the nominal speed ? i mean, i thought turbo would only be activated when necessary or am i wrong?
     
  20. fuma86

    fuma86 Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 560Ti
    indeed but its more about power saving + ramdics and ivy got both of em like oc with voltage on offset :p
    By the way how you set ramdisk with mssd? mobo auto detect it ?
    or need to change anything in bios ?
     

Share This Page