Upgrade help for an older system

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by erikthereddest, Dec 6, 2011.

1. erikthereddest

erikthereddest New Member

GPU:
    Nvidia 8800GT 512MB
    Hello all,

This is my first post here, but I have been visiting these forums for several years. When I had this question, I thought of the expertise of this community and figured it was the best place to go.

I have a desktop that I ordered from CyberPower back in December '07, and while it's been a great rig for my needs, nowadays it's not doing so hot.

I have very little money to work with (about $100 or so), but had this system built with upgrades in mind and think I can get a little more life out of it if I play my cards right. Here's the setup:

ASUS P5N-E SLI nForce 650i motherboard
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 3.00GHz (Water cooled, ASETEK 120MM watercooler)
    EVGA GeForce 8800GT 512Mb PCI-E
    4 Gigs of Muskin 1024Mb DDR2 Memory (PC6400)
    Sigma Shark 635W PSU
    Windows 7 Professional 64bit

I've seen some 8800's around to SLI for about $79, but I thought I might ask if it wouldn't be more worth it to go for a newer card for about $50 more. I know there's the bottleneck issue with old CPU's matched with new cards, but I've been running this processor pretty cool over its lifetime, so I figure I could overclock it a bit if I needed to. Other than the CPU, however, the system runs pretty hot. The GPU doesn't seem to get enough circulation, and for a few years the case fans were actually reversed, so the GPU's been running at 70C almost constantly, 90C+ under load. I think part of that might be that I don't seem to have the case fans connected in such a way that I can control them with Rivatuner or other programs, but otherwise there are no obstructions or other reasons that I can see as the cause. So, here are some things I was wondering about:

-Would it be better to SLI, or buy a newer card? If newer, what would be best considering my low budget?