Update: Watch Dogs 2 Anti Cheat System Blocks RTSS Overlay Software

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Nov 29, 2016.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    44,679
    Likes Received:
    11,355
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    GB 2060S,Gsync,3DV2
    Mail sent.
    Hopefully they will work on this without the usual delay..

    Send mail guys, the more we send the more chances for it (I guess).
     
  3. akbaar

    akbaar Master Guru

    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    ASUS TUFF 3080 12Gb
    Yep, same with SURVARIUM game which uses same Anti-cheat system "EasyCheat"
    but you won't get banned, it's just your MSI afterburner won't run in the game.
     
  4. Monchis

    Monchis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    GTX 950
    This just tells you how some people coding stuff for games on PC don´t even play on pc at all.
     

  5. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    664
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Not really, just tells that they are less nerdy or something.
     
  6. Primey0

    Primey0 Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    -
    Contacted them. Thanks for bringing this issue up.

    Not really. It's a easy thing to overlook.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2016
  7. psychic717

    psychic717 Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    The link for old RTSS doesn't provide the 6.3.0 version.
    Where can I download that?
     
  8. robb

    robb Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2 x GTX 970 STRIX
    Sent them an email.

    Also, for the love of God don't send emails with tons of hate-filled ****. It won't get anything accomplished.
     
  9. kendoka15

    kendoka15 Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    I knew Watch Dogs 2 had to have something wrong with it. It's the Ubisoft guarantee
     
  10. sverek

    sverek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,073
    Likes Received:
    2,972
    GPU:
    NOVIDIA -0.5GB
    Whats wrong with cheating in l33t h4X0rz game? Kids can't handle it? lul.
     

  11. brutlern

    brutlern Master Guru

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 X Gaming
    Yep just noticed that it has links for 6.2.0 and 6.4.0, but no 6.3.0. HALP!

    Message sent to EasyAntiWhitelistRTSSPleaseCheat. Hope they do something quick.
     
  12. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,065
    Likes Received:
    3,655
    RTSS 6.3.0 was not distributed as a stand alone version, it is a part of MSI Afterburner 4.1.0/4.1.1 distributive. If you absolutely need to get that old version, you may temporarily install version 4.1.x of MSI AB, find RTSS 6.3.0 installer in .%MSIAfterburner%\Redist\ folder and save it somewhere then use it as stand alone installer if necessary. However, personally I don't think that it is a good idea to downgrade it to 2 years old version just because of one game. I'd better wait for EasyAntiCheat update.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2016
  13. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,562
    Likes Received:
    2,958
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Ref"
    [​IMG]

    Looks like adding "-eac_launcher" is all that is required for toggling Easy Anti Cheat off. :)
    (And yes that's actually the same forced command-line parameter when you start the game, somehow having it twice shuts EAC down in-game and allows processes like Afterburner to interact with the game again without being blocked.)

    Taken from this discussion. -> http://www.cheathappens.com/show_board2.asp?headID=132522&titleID=22151

    Ubisoft could patch this though (Rather they'd patch in a launch option for if you want to start with or without EAC when starting the game though like some other software using this solution does it.) but for now it's working fine though with the caveat of also disabling online functionality almost completely.


    EDIT: Rewrote the post, hopefully it's a bit better now.
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2016
  14. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    16,065
    Likes Received:
    3,655
    Good find!
     
  15. djnoob

    djnoob New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    I just received a response from EAC. They said they are currently working on white-listing RTSS that it will be fixed in the next game update.
     

  16. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,647
    Likes Received:
    286
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380
    Received this responds at 4:56 PM

    Hi,

    Thanks for contacting us.

    We are working on white-listing RTSS and it will be fixed soon (within next game update).

    --
    Best regards,
    EasyAntiCheat Team
     
  17. robb

    robb Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2 x GTX 970 STRIX
    Thanks for sharing! Never worked with EAC before so didn't even occur to me that there'd be CLI options as usual.

    Yep, got the same email.
     

Share This Page