Tweaks for dell m6800 workstation

Discussion in 'Laptops & Notebooks' started by Cockbender, Nov 11, 2014.

1. Cockbender

Cockbender Master Guru

GPU:
    dunno
    I'm an architect and I bought a dell m6800 laptop workstation with an I-7 4810 CPU, 16Gb ram (x2 8Gb), nvidia quadro k3100m with 4Gb GDDR5, two hard drives, Win7 64bit, for my practice. I use revit, autocad, photoshop, sketch up, things like that.

I also like to game, from WoW to fps'ers, good graphics games.

I don't really know my way around laptops as this is my first laptop with some good muscle.

Can anyone recommend some bios or windows tweaks to optimize performance?

Thanks.

2. kanej2007

kanej2007 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    Though not a gaming laptop, I'd recommend using a custom Nvidia driver.

I used to own the Dell M6400 and running a custom forceware driver made gaming a wonder. Should you use a custom driver, say for another high end gpu, gaming performance will be far better than stock drivers.

Unfortunately I'm not able to guide you to the site I previously used since it's not working or has closed down, unfortunately.

http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/ was the site custom Nvidia drivers were available from.

Otherwise look for other sites in which you could obtain a custom/hacked desktop gpu driver made to work with your laptop. Good luck cockbender. :)

3. zipper

zipper Maha Guru

GPU:
    GTX 680M
  4. kanej2007

kanej2007 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
    Glad to know the site is in operation and just an issue with the server.

Every laptop I've ever had would get the latest custom drivers from laptopvideo2go and I'd get a good boost in fps...

I don't know of any other site as good which offer custom laptop drivers...

5. anticupidon

anticupidon Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Vega/Navi
    well ,apart from BIOS tweaks, putting a SSD inside your notebook,will make a huge difference.

6. CalculuS

CalculuS Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GTX 960M