TRI Fire 5870/eyefinity PROJECT/benches!!! post yours.

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Bodar, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. AlvinMaker

    AlvinMaker Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2XEVGA GTX480 SC
    That's a great way to put it.

    Someone asked me the other day how it was after a few days of testing, and I likened it to the first time I launched a game with 3dfx enabled... I fired up MW2, and all by myself in my office, said out loud, "holy *$%#!".

    To me, it REALLY is that amazing. Going back to a single monitor is just not an option for me. That's why I am so concerned with hoping Crysis/WH scales OK with 3 or 4 GPUs for Eye- Even though it's fun to see it maxed out and flying by at 60 fps on a single display, it's not even CLOSE to how amazing it looks when your FOV is tripled. (been tooling around with Far Cry 2 -with FOV fix- for some reason never got to that that one till yeesterday- equally impressive! )

    On a similar Eyefinity note... I can't decide which arrangement i like better. I am Landscaping it right now. I prefer that for Crysis, as the extra peripheral REALLY comes in handy while walking scouting around.

    HL2, and Far Cry2 , I think I like Portrait- the loss of the extra FOV is worth it for the HUGE amount of screen real estate! :grin:
     
  2. csaris

    csaris Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5870 TriFire
    Ι totally agree with you.

    Leave out crysis, that game is so unoptimized. You can barely run it at 60fps on single display... On multi display is just unplayable.

    There lot of games that look awesome in like mw2 you mentioned above. Also dead space and fc2 run like a charm with eyefinity!

    I don't know if 5870's with 2GB of dedicated memory will help to increase performance in eyefinity though.
     
  3. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    I have to agree and say I actually had a blast using eyefinity with every game you mentioned except crysis.. The cool thing about 3 monitors is if you want to turn the other 2 off to play crysis you can.. Every other game... turn it on!!! :)
     
  4. csaris

    csaris Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5870 TriFire
    Thats right!

    If a very intensive game is around like crysis you just turn off eyefinity!
     

  5. rony794

    rony794 Member Guru

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 5970@1ghz
    Can I connect 3 monitors to my 5970 with a dvi to 2dvi splitter, or does one of them have to have a DisplayPort?
     
  6. csaris

    csaris Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5870 TriFire
    One must be on display port and only with an active adapter dp to dvi.
     
  7. rony794

    rony794 Member Guru

    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 5970@1ghz
    thx a lot
     
  8. MikeMK

    MikeMK Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,100
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2080Ti
    Quick question, as this seems to be the thread to ask.

    Been doing some benchies this evening on 5870 crossfire, and get some erratic scores. It seems that i will suddenly drop 2000 or so marks randomly. Just wondering if there is a crossfire/driver issue somewhere? Ive only noticed this in 3dmark, games seem fine.
     
  9. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    Hey Mike! :) What driver? That happens to me in vantage sometimes.. Mostly if I have gpu-z open or any other monitoring software.. If you hav'nt closed everything, try that and see how it goes.. Also, close ccc.. Just a test run.. cheers!!
     
  10. MikeMK

    MikeMK Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,100
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2080Ti
    Hey Bodar... Im using the cat 9.12's. Been playing around with it a bit and done as u said. I'm pretty sure its actually afterburner. I just got a higher 06 score at stock without afterburner running, than with my cards @ 1000mhz and afterburner running.

    Its strange, cos it was working fine in vantage until I tried benching 06, now both of them seem to have the same prob. Anyhow... these are the benchies I've got so far - Vantage is much better than my quadfire 4870x2 setup, especially considering the CPU is clocked 150mhz slower. 06 is lagging 1000 marks behind, but i think i'll sort that ;)

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    Anyhow, I'll keep going this week, guess I'll have to try rivatuner or something and see if that fixes the prob.
     

  11. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    I love afterburner.. When running benchmarks I usually just type command r.. go into msconfig and disable afterburner and ccc at startup.. Then I open afterburner.. change the voltages and clocks and close it again... then run the benchmark.. it's all good..
    Man.. that vantage gpu score is freakin killer with 2 cards... I'll try 1000.. but I get like 24 , 25ish right now.. 30144 is bad ass! :) Wish I could overclock these dual cpu's.. The low speed is holding back my gfx score.. I'd have to clock my gpu's to 1100 to even come close to 30k..
     
  12. avivoni

    avivoni Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,602
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    560ti 448 classified
    man ati still in the 30k's i got 40,500 a year ago. no troll intended.
     
  13. Jcazz

    Jcazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Tri-fire 5870
    synthetics = fail.
     
  14. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    762
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    @MikeMK
    Great OC on the CPU there.Would you mind uploading your Bios settings ,I would love to check them out.Thanks
    Code:
    Advanced CPU Features:
    CPU Clock Ratio ................................ [20x]
    Intel(R) Turbo Boost Tech .................. [Enabled]
    CPU Cores Enabled ............................ [All]
    CPU Multi Threading .......................... [Enabled]
    CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E) ................... [Disabled]
    C3/C6/C7 State Support .................... [Disabled]
    CPU Thermal Monitor ......................... [Enabled]
    CPU EIST Function ............................ [Disabled]
    Virtualization Technology ................... [Enabled] << Disabled if you do not use Vmware or Virtual PC Programs
    Bi-Directional PROCHOT ..................... [Enabled]
    
    
    Uncore & QPI Features:
    QPI Link Speed .............................. x36
    Uncore Frequency ..........................  (Always 2x memory Multi or 2x +1)
    Isonchronous Frequency ..................[Enabled]
    
    
    Standard Clock Control:
    Base Clock (BCLK) Control ................ [Enabled]
    BCLK Frequency (MHz) .....................
    PCI Express Frequency (MHz) ........... [100]
    
    C.I.A.2 [Disabled]
    
    Advanced Clock Control:
    CPU Clock Drive ..............................[800mV]
    PCI Express Clock Drive ................... [900mV]
    CPU Clock Skew ............................. [0ps]
    IOH Clock Skew ............................. [0ps]
    
    
    Advanced DRAM Features:
    Performance Enhance ...................... [Standard]
    Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P) ......... [Disabled]
    System Memory Multiplier (SPD) ........ [AUTO]
    DRAM Timing Selectable (SPD) .......... [Manual]
    
    Channel A + B + C
    
    Channel A Timing Settings:
    ##Channel A Standard Timing Control##
    CAS Latency Time ......................
    tRCD .......................................
    tRP .........................................
    tRAS .......................................
    
    Below values may be left in Auto if you like, generally this is fine.  For those users who DO Set advanced timings manually, please see some of my thoughts and findings about these settings and rules here
    XtremeSystems Forums - View Single Post - Gigabyte EX58-UD5/Extreme Discussion Thread
    
    ##Channel A Advanced Timing Control##
    tRC ........................................  (Should be = tRAS + tRP or above for stability)
    tRRD .......................................
    tWTR ...................................... (Must be Write to Read Delay/Same Rank - (tWL + 4)
    tWR ........................................
    tWTP .......................................   (tWTP Must = tWR + tWL + 4)
    tWL ........................................    (tWL Must be CAS Latency -1)
    tRFC .......................................
    tRTP .......................................
    tFAW ......................................
    Command Rate (CMD) ................
    
    ##Channel A Misc Timing Control##
    Round Trip Latency ...................
    
    
    
    Advanced Voltage Control:
    
    CPU
    Load Line Calibration ................. [Disabled]
    CPU Vcore ...............................
    QPI/VTT Voltage 1.150v ............
    CPU PLL 1.800v .......................
    
    MCH/ICH
    PCIE 1.500v ...........................
    QPI PLL 1.100v .......................
    IOH Core 1.100v .....................
    ICH I/O 1.500v .......................
    ICH Core 1.1v ........................
    
    DRAM
    DRAM Voltage 1.500v ..............
    DRAM Termination 0.750v [AUTO]
    Ch-A Data VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
    Ch-B Data VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
    Ch-C Data VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
    Ch-A Address VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
    Ch-B Address VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
    Ch-C Address VRef. 0.750v [AUTO]
     
  15. MikeMK

    MikeMK Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,100
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2080Ti
    Thanks for the tip bodar, will give it a shot tonight. Hoping to beat 30k overall in vantage, and 06 I need to pass 31k to beat my pb.

    Gerardfraser - I,ll post settings when I get home from work tonight. :)
     

  16. poo417

    poo417 Master Guru

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080
    Well have ordered 3 dell professional monitors with DP so dont need to worry about getting an active adapter. I only need to worry about getting them in the house without wife noticing!! :bang: Problem is she is on maternity leave so is not out much. She also shares my computer room so may notice the change. What drivers are you guys with 5970's using to get the best out of eyefinity? I am on one of the 8.70 but to be honest I still feel the best driver was the hemlock beta 5. I do need to do a clean install but was waiting for 10.1 to come out. I have done every trick in these forums to get open CL to work all in vain so a clean install it will need to be.
     
  17. Bodar

    Bodar Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Lots of Fermi'zzzz
    I'm pretty sure she will notice 3 monitors. :)
     
  18. Jcazz

    Jcazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Tri-fire 5870
    hey Bodar the 10.1Drivers for ati wotk awsome! 8xssaa now working in Crysis warhead @ 60fps without the jitter..knew it was the damn drivers!
     
  19. MikeMK

    MikeMK Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,100
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2080Ti
    That's good to hear, looking fwd to trying them out :)
     
  20. poo417

    poo417 Master Guru

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080
    Sadly she did notice. Even though I did kindly donate my 24" samsung to her she does not seem impressed. Had a quick blast last night on dirt and BFBC2 beta very good fun but the performace hit is large!!! funnily enough. I can now see why people have been raving about it. It does drag you into the game. I prefer it to using single large as well. I have only ever used a 30" a couple of times but have used a 46" tv as well but this is my favourite. I found the big tv the pixels were too big if that makes sense. I may actually have to overclock it now :banana:

    So my reward for buying 3 monitors a days shopping!! I am thinking about sending them back :3eyes:

    Sorry for teh quality of pic just done on the iphone
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2010

Share This Page