Tomorrow I should receive my 3700X

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by Kool64, Jul 15, 2019.

  1. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Shipping was a killer but I'm glad I got it ordered at least. I have ran a few benches on my 1600X. I don't have AIDA (unless I'm missing some kind of "free" version) because the demo blocks access to half the good stats so I used SiSoft Sandra. It has a terrible results system but here are my memory results and a 720 all options turned off/Low on Deus EX MKD with my GTX 1070.


    SiSoftware Sandra

    Display
    Connection : Local Computer

    Memory Bandwidth
    Analysing...
    Aggregated Score : 32.803GB/s
    Result ID : AMD F17 (Ryzen/ThreadRipper) Host Bridge; 2x 8GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR DDR4 (3GHz 128-bit) PC4-25600 (16-18-18-38 8-69-22-11)
    Speed : 2934MHz
    Capacity : 16384MB
    Power : 43.00W
    Finished Successfully : Yes

    Cache & Memory Latency
    Analysing...
    Warning 5010 : Global Data Memory : In-Page Random Access Pattern : Cannot use Large Memory Pages due to lack of privileges.
    Warning 242 : Global Data Memory : In-Page Random Access Pattern : Dynamic OverClocking/Turbo engaged. Performance will not be consistent!
    Tip 205 : Global Data Memory : In-Page Random Access Pattern : Turbo Power/Voltage/Current is low. Performance may be constrained.
    Aggregated Score : 64.6ns
    Result ID : AMD F17 (Ryzen/ThreadRipper) Host Bridge; 2x 8GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR DDR4 (3GHz 128-bit) PC4-25600 (16-18-18-38 8-69-22-11)
    Speed : 2934MHz
    Capacity : 16384MB
    Power : 43.00W
    Finished Successfully : Yes

    Cache Bandwidth
    Analysing...
    Warning 5010 : Multi-Threaded (MT) : Cannot use Large Memory Pages due to lack of privileges.
    Warning 242 : Multi-Threaded (MT) : Dynamic OverClocking/Turbo engaged. Performance will not be consistent!
    Tip 205 : Multi-Threaded (MT) : Turbo Power/Voltage/Current is low. Performance may be constrained.
    Aggregated Score : 194.056GB/s
    Result ID : AMD Ryzen 5 1600X Six-Core Processor (6C 12T 3.7GHz, 1.47GHz IMC, 6x 512kB L2, 2x 8MB L3); AMD F17 (Ryzen/ThreadRipper) Host Bridge; 2x 8GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR DDR4 (3GHz 128-bit) PC4-25600 (16-18-18-38 8-69-22-11)
    Speed : 3693MHz
    Capacity : 19648kB
    Power : 174.56W
    Finished Successfully : Yes

    Overall Memory Score
    Aggregated Score : 1.17kPT
    Results Interpretation : Higher Scores mean Better Performance.
    Decimal Numeral System (base 10) : 1GPT = 1000MPT, 1MPT = 1000kPT, 1kPT = 1000PT, etc.
    Result ID : AMD F17 (Ryzen/ThreadRipper) Host Bridge; 2x 8GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR DDR4 (3GHz 128-bit) PC4-25600 (16-18-18-38 8-69-22-11)
    Finished Successfully : Yes



    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    Edit: forgot to include main board info:


    [​IMG]
     
    SpajdrEX likes this.
  2. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Finally got my chip booted right up started running preliminary tests and got a blue screen of death as I was bringing up a webpage. Now my computer won’t boot with two sticks of ram. My crappy Hynix has struck again.
     
  3. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Oh no man.I hope things get worked out.I can tell you for sure memory overclocking is excellent on the New Ryzen chips,so good luck I look forward to checking out what you end up with.
     
  4. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    thanks for the vote of confidence. As of now I got it booted by swapping the memory from one slot to the other but I cannot get it booted at the rated 3200 but it's booting at 3133 at stock timings. performing a stress test now. 16 threads prime 95 all for is 4.2 should be fun to see if it makes it a few hours.
     

  5. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I can’t even get it stable right now. Stock core settings 3200 3133 3000 ram all crashing within 30 minutes of prime test. Temps never even reach 70
     
  6. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I think my problems had to do with windows so i’m In the process of reinstalling it. HWinfo was registering a lot of hardware errors
     
  7. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    It appears something serious is happening I don't know what just yet. Just had a BSoD while surfing the net again.
     
  8. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Getting WHEA PCIe endpoint error 17 in windows event log.
     
  9. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    yeah I've tried 3 earlier drivers it appears I'm victim to this:

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/cd7pqb/warning_samsung_nvme_ssds_also_subject_to_whea/

    Edit I also happen to have an NVME Samsung but most of the errors have been related to my video card

    Side note I do not have an X570 board

    also one of the errors is mentions a 5700XT that I've never installed the driver to.

    Probably going to have to put my 1600x back in. My computer is completely unusable because of this.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
    insp1re2600 likes this.
  10. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    997
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    its likely not the geforce driver at all, the 3xxx cpu's are having whea errors logged on any gpu, and a reported fix is to reinstall windows but not install the chipset driver.


    Quick scanning of varios reddits

    Boards using agesa 1.0.0.3 = not affected
    Boards using agesa 1.0.0.2 = all affected
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019

  11. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I'm going to try that right now. thanks for the info

    Unfortunately that didn’t fix it :/
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
  12. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    997
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    the destiny 2 bios fix should be out soon, so that might fix the whea errors too.
     
  13. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I hope so because the 5 minutes I had before the crap hit the fan had some impressive gains in performance over my 1600x

    I've decided to just leave my main rig powered off for the time being. Using my Laptop isn't so bad when it's 4 core CPU is as good as my 1600X for the most part. ONly lackng my GTX 1070 at that point.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2019
  14. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Went ahead and set up a memtest86 session for curiosity sake. Right now it's 64% done with an all core test. Been about 5 hours now. this is looking good to have my memory running at 3200 at a minimum like it's supposed to.

    Passed 8 hours solid at 3200. Not too shabby for the crappy BIOS. Once I get 1.0.0.3 it should be awesome.
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2019
  15. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    8 Hours hours your a trooper.I hope you do not load up GTAV or something and get a crash.Good luck.
    I am not one for testing memory for a long period of time,I find gaming expose a weekness. Newer games like Metro Exodus,Anthem can expose bad GPU/CPU memory OC but it is also fun testing the stuff.
     

  16. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I’m not using it right now because it’s essentially incapacitated by the WHEA issue so I figured since i’ve got nothing better to do I’d test the memory. I’m just using my laptop at the moment. It’s only got a 1050Ti but it’s livable.
     
  17. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    ASRock sent me a beta BIOS finally and it fixed the WHEA issues at what appears to be some power draw and clock speed changes. Been stable now for 30 minutes on prime 95. Will post CPU z Sandra and MKD results tomorrow.
     
  18. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Ok so here's the MKD bench results all settings low 1280x720 res. I ran everything on low because MKD can max out my 1070 very quickly. The minimum alone is faster than the average on my 1600X. Over all I'd say that's quite a nice gain. However I was able to run the bench on the older bios(before the nuclear meltdown) and it was significantly higher average was 145 and minimum was 120. I had just ran the test and was uploading the pic and I had a BSOD and was not able to run the test successfully again. I wonder if they put the brakes on the chip permanently.

    [​IMG]


    Here are the CPUZ results

    [​IMG]

    Ok I know it's not AIDA but I used the same version of Sandra so it's a 1:1 comparison. The latency is nearly 50% better.


    SiSoftware Sandra

    Display
    Connection : Local Computer

    Memory Bandwidth
    Analysing...
    Aggregated Score : 32.612GB/s
    Result ID : Algol 0000; 16GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR DIMM DDR4 (3.2GHz) PC4-25600 (16-16-16-38 4-54-17-6)
    Speed : 3200MHz
    Capacity : 16384MB
    Power : 26.40W
    Finished Successfully : Yes

    Cache & Memory Latency
    Analysing...

    Aggregated Score : 33.4ns
    Result ID : Algol 0000; 16GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR DIMM DDR4 (3.2GHz) PC4-25600 (16-16-16-38 4-54-17-6)
    Speed : 3200MHz
    Capacity : 16384MB
    Power : 26.40W
    Finished Successfully : Yes

    Cache Bandwidth
    Analysing...
    Aggregated Score : 385.503GB/s
    Result ID : AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 8-Core Processor (8C 16T 4.29GHz, 1.6GHz IMC, 8x 512kB L2, 2x 16MB L3); Algol 0000; 16GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR DIMM DDR4 (3.2GHz) PC4-25600 (16-16-16-38 4-54-17-6)
    Speed : 4292MHz
    Capacity : 37120kB
    Power : 26.40W
    Finished Successfully : Yes

    Overall Memory Score
    Aggregated Score : 1.82kPT
    Results Interpretation : Higher Scores mean Better Performance.
    Decimal Numeral System (base 10) : 1GPT = 1000MPT, 1MPT = 1000kPT, 1kPT = 1000PT, etc.
    Result ID : Algol 0000; 16GB G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR DIMM DDR4 (3.2GHz) PC4-25600 (16-16-16-38 4-54-17-6)
    Finished Successfully : Yes

    edit:

    I just realized my PCIE slot is running at X4
     
  19. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    So I'm not sure that the port is running at X4 after all. HWINFO64 says the PCIE link speed goes up to the 8.0 GT/s like it's supposed to.
     
  20. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    997
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    it may drop to 4x for power saving
     

Share This Page