Tomb Raider: Lara Croft Reborn

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by BABA-The Hacker, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    Moved.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  2. drac

    drac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3080 Ti
    Something I discovered, max settings but ssaa at 2x + SweetFX sharpness filter at about 1.00 and the game looks veryy damn nice. I like to only use sharpness, everything else seems to over saturate and mess with the color palette, just imo. Texture filtering quality set at High quality in the games profile adds enough extra richness to the colors.

    A sharpness effect should just be a in-built feature now with every damn game, especially in this one it makes a massive difference. :gape:
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  3. evohan

    evohan Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus DCU2 GTX670 4GB SLI
  4. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013

  5. unstrain

    unstrain Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX660TI 3xSLI
    Complete freeze iups requiring hard reset, but on my system I fixed all issues by using the hitman abs profile. Now finished the game on max settings including 3dvision, which by the way is a must for this game, no other game looks in 3d like this one, except maybe trine 2
     
  6. Major Melchett

    Major Melchett Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 280X @ 1100/1500
    Here's another borderless window app that can be used with this game, unlike the earlier one posted this one doesn't have the weird grey screens when attacked/shot.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?jnsslpz2wl7yjf8
    ---
    Edit.
    Never mind, just seen the new patch fixes the issue now.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  7. antonyfrn

    antonyfrn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    patch just out on steam fixes exclusive mode

     
  8. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,233
    Likes Received:
    688
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    Again, thank you for response.

    I was able to play the game with no problems last night with TressFX hair OFF and tessellation ON using the v314.14 beta drivers with the Hitman Absolution SLI flag. I did re-validate the game cache though and found a 271 MB file was missing - Patch_English.000.tiger - for some reason (perhaps it got corrupted or I deleted it by mistake?) and Steam redownloaded it. I'm wondering if that was why my game seemed much more unstable than everyone else's even when I tried the various workarounds?

    *EDIT 1*
    I had Exclusive Fullscreen mode *disabled* during last night's play session so I wonder if that was the root cause of all my freezes?

    The new patch did not download for me automatically even though my PC was left on overnight to download some Steam games; it still shows v1.0.716.5 so I'm again having to re-validate the cache to force it to download the new version. Hopefully this will make the game even more stable for me and everyone else.

    *EDIT 2*
    Game now seems to be updated. Going to grab some breakfast then try it out. How it fixes everything!
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  9. Kono

    Kono Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 / 8GB
    with the new patch, TressFX is officially broken on 680. It was working perfect before. :bang:

    Using the latest beta driver.
     
  10. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,563
    Likes Received:
    2,960
    GPU:
    XFX 7900XTX M'310
    Really?

    Maybe they have to patch it again then, here from what I've noticed there's a little more clipping but overall the hair behaves more realistically and moves a bit more naturally.
    (It's still not perfect but I'd say it's pretty good for a first attempt with this technique.)

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013

  11. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,233
    Likes Received:
    688
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    OK so the new patch fixed the exclusive fullscreen mode bug (refresh rate for my 1920x1200 resolution now shows as 59 Hz instead of 60 Hz) and the missing special effects are back in fullscreen/exclusive full screen mode so that's good.

    I'm playing the game with TressFX hair on and tessellation to test stability and although it never froze, at least so far from 30 minutes of playing, I was experiencing lots of hitching (split second freezes), especially during QTEs and cutscenes. I am playing with 2xSSAA, 16xAF and everything else on or maxed but the framerate shows mostly as 60 fps so I figured my system (Core i7-920 @ 3.2 GHz, 12 GB, GTX 680 SLI v314.14 beta drivers, Windows 8 Pro 64-bit) should be able to handle it. These hitches seemed to occur when the game was auto-saving (TR icon in the bottom right corner) but I can't be 100% sure as it is difficult to play QTEs and keep your eye on everything.

    One bug I did notice though was that despite have V-sync Triple Buffering enabled I was seeing screen tearing in both the cutscenes and gameplay but not all the time. It is like Adaptive V-sync is not enabled in the game but I've checked the Tomb Raider (2013) profile and v-sync is definitely not forced to Adaptive. I can't stand screen tearing so I find this distracting. I've been playing the game since Friday with Triple Buffering enabled in the game and never saw screen tearing before so it is a new bug introduced with this patch.
     
  12. MarkyG

    MarkyG Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,000
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080Ti
    Not sure if this is something new, but never noticed it until now. When Lara is wading through water, the top of her arms glitch...almost as if they're about to break off. Quite amusing actually. All post processing effects are working in full screen for me too, nice stuff. Game hasn't crashed yet either.
     
  13. Kono

    Kono Master Guru

    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 / 8GB
    After seeing your post, I give 2xSSAA a try with everything all maxed out, TressFX work. But when I use 4xSSAA, TressFX just went kaboom. :(
     
  14. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,233
    Likes Received:
    688
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    I thought the hitching I was getting was due to extreme VRAM usage with 2xSSAA and TressFX enabled as I noticed at one point that 2,006 MB was being used but even when I turned off TressFX, which drops VRAM usage to 1.6-1.8 GB, and FXAA, which lowers it further to 1.4-1.6 GB, I still get hitching. They mostly occur when the game is auto-saving though.

    Also, I've confirmed that I'm still see screen tearing with Triple Buffered and Double Buffered V-sync from the in-game options but it seems to only occur when the framerate dips below 60 fps. In other words it works like Adaptive V-sync but I definitely do not have it forced in the driver game profile and both those options were working fine (i.e. no screen tearing) before this patch. I'm going to try forcing V-sync on in the driver to see if that gets rid of it as I find it distracting due to the wibbly-wobbly look you get when panning the camera around. I'm very sensitive to it and spot it no matter how slight.
     
  15. darrensimmons

    darrensimmons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    ZOTAC RTX4090AMPEXT
    Great, game runs fine now with tressfx although it doesn't like me enabling anything but fxaa. Can run full AA settings without tressfx but I choose to use fxaa and tressfx as I don't like any of the advanced aa settings.
     

  16. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,233
    Likes Received:
    688
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    The game still has the framerate bug where if I switch from FXAA on the Ultimate setting at 1920x1200 to 2xSSAA (or, presumably, 4xSSAA) then the framerate dips to 1-5 fps and stays like that until I exit to the main menu. I'm forced to exit the game completely and reload it to fix it though as even though exiting to the main menu returns the framerate to 60 fps, if I resume my save without having exited the game first then it goes back to running at 1-5 fps. And VRAM isn't the issue as Afterburner's OSD only show 1.5 GB being used when this bug occurs.
     
  17. PNeV

    PNeV Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Armor
    I am still on the original release, my steam isn't updating the game?

    EDIT: Nevermind fixed.
     
  18. unstrain

    unstrain Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX660TI 3xSLI
    Use FXAA, it's working excellent no need for SMAA, also VRAM maxing out will be an issue, I have 3x660tiSC with 3GB each so I don't have this VRAM maxing out problem.
     
  19. RecluSe

    RecluSe Master Guru

    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC/ACX 2.0
    So my Tomb Raider has started updating (96 meg), any idea what for?
     
  20. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,233
    Likes Received:
    688
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    Arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, I've just had another complete freeze up with this new patch which required me to reset me to hard reset my PC. I did switch from the Hitman Absolution SLI flag back to the original Tomb Raider one included with the v314.14 drivers though so I suspect that this game still needs a new updated driver from NVIDIA to fix these stability issues. At least, that's what I hope.

    And I fixed the screen tearing I was having with in-game Double/Triple Buffered V-sync by forcing v-sync on in the control panel (which may or may not have contributed to the freeze I had... ain't PC gaming just wonderful?).
     

Share This Page