To Full RGB or not to Full RGB

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by FDisk, Dec 22, 2014.

  1. Singleton99

    Singleton99 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    85
    GPU:
    Aorus-Extreme-1080TI
    wow thanks this has real helped me out , i've been messing the last two day with my settings , when i looked at the the link to the picture you posted i could only see half of the blacks , so i went into my tv settings ( advanced ) and found the black level and turned it to normal and bang i now can see all blacks and with a bit more tweaking i've got the best picture ive ever seen on this particular tv/monitor Cheers and merry christmas to you all :)
     
  2. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    Good lord, after SO MANY YEARS Nv finally added RGB full levels switch in their drivers. Right now I can get much richer colors (games, videos), exactly like on my ps3, and before Nv was saying that RGB switch will not help at all :).
     
  3. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    I don't remember Nvidia ever saying it wouldn't help.

    It is very strange why it took them so long to add it, surely it would be a 2 minute job for them.
     
  4. OrdinaryOregano

    OrdinaryOregano Master Guru

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    Guess it turned out to be a 2 year job instead.
     

  5. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    still going to say that this full RGB setting has better tones then the RBG tool.
     
  6. MrH

    MrH Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Armour
    I'm using the latest driver but I don't have the option, is it for HDMI only? I'm using DVI and the top row all look the same to me.
     
  7. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    yes only HDMI.
     
  8. FDisk

    FDisk Master Guru

    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX970 OC 4GB
    If you are using DVI and top row is all black try to play with your monitor Black Level setting.
     
  9. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    I thought that as well, but I also thought the same when I got a new GPU.
    I'm sure it's placebo, but who knows.
     
  10. Crimson Wolf

    Crimson Wolf Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX980 4GB

  11. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    could be seeing that the card thinks my monitor is a HDTV and only has pc resolution up to 1680x1050
     
  12. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    2 years ago I wrote on Nvidia forums about that issue, and some Nv guy replied saying that their engineers dont see it as an issue because tv EDID information is to blame.

    But they added fullRGB switch, and now everything works as it should.
     
  13. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    ..............:bang:


    sure they can blame EDID. but they still should make the work around. because how often does a company release EDID firmware updates?
     
  14. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,857
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Aside from proper whites, your monitor calibration is useless in AdobeRGB mode because all the colors you now see in sRGB media (99.99% of content) are oversaturated. :)
     
  15. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    why does the RGB color look better in windows 7 then in windows 8.1?

    I have the same settings and shows more tones in window 7.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2015

  16. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    DisplayPort aswell, cuz i got the Option using DP.

    More like sRGB looks crap compared to Adobe RGB :)
     

Share This Page