Tip for nVidia users using HDMI and getting accurate color format

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by jwb1, Nov 18, 2012.

  1. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,062
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    wow this made a difference on my asus hdmi monitor. I couldnt use RGB becuase it was too bright and now with the current drivers the other option was messing with colors, I used this tool and switched to RGB. and the desktop looks great.
     
  2. Turdhat

    Turdhat Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 X
    I have always used the custom resolution hack. Making a 1080p resolution custom by changing it from 60hz to 60.1 hz and that works well. This would be easier next time and I assume this will set it for all resolutions ? I downsample from higher resolutions a lot. With the hack you have to do each resolution.
     
  3. jwb1

    jwb1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 2080 Ti
    Should work on all resolutions.
     
  4. viren

    viren Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,481
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX 2070
    Thanks for the heads up bro. Now i can finally use the hdmi cable i got. I don't care how the display will look but i will definately give it a try.
     

  5. Retrolock

    Retrolock Master Guru

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    G1 Gaming GTX 970
    Many thanks for this awesome tool!

    There should be a thanks button in guru3d forums :D
     
  6. jwb1

    jwb1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 2080 Ti
    You could all petition the Guru3D forum mod to stinky this thread :)
     
  7. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,505
    Likes Received:
    1,809
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    lol stinky
     
  8. Phragmeister

    Phragmeister Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    307
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980 4GB
    Here you go, freshly squeezed. [​IMG]
     
  9. Retrolock

    Retrolock Master Guru

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    G1 Gaming GTX 970
  10. jwb1

    jwb1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 2080 Ti
    You know what I meant smartass! :p
     

  11. BullSpit

    BullSpit New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GalaxySuperOC GTX 460 Sli
    I just used it. I have a 27" Planar PX2710 connected via HDMI to GTX 460s in SLi and can see a very nice difference.

    Many thanks to the OP! Great find!
     
  12. snorge

    snorge Member Guru

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970 SLI
    yeah I am starting to like it now my eyes are adjusting to the warmer colors but I have no idea what is correct.
     
  13. snorge

    snorge Member Guru

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970 SLI
    Another noob question but long time ago when I tried to find out if there is a difference between using an HDMI or DVI cable for a computer lcd everything I found stated they are identical. If that is true why does using HDMI with this color format fix look so much different to DVI. The fix only applies to HDMI because Nvidia sets DVI properly right? Is HDMI better afterall if your lcd has the option?
     
  14. maco07

    maco07 Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 3GB Boost
    No, its the same. I checked with HDMI-DVI and HDMI-HDMI cable and, if you have your TV correctly calibrated, looks the same.
     
  15. snorge

    snorge Member Guru

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970 SLI
    so basically you are saying both cables should have the fix done?
     

  16. maco07

    maco07 Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 3GB Boost
    yes.
     
  17. GMtm

    GMtm Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7950 3GB
    I have a Samsung UE40D8000 TV connected via DVI-HDMI dongle to HDMI 1.3 cable and I see a remarkable difference after applying patch. The colour range and reds are much nicer and the increased contrast from lights and shadows in Batman AC is very apparent and the game now looks absolutely amazing... even my wife noticed the difference.

    Thank you for posting this, as the lack of fidelity has been bugging me since I stopped using a dedicated monitor. A 1000 Internets to your sir.
     
  18. snorge

    snorge Member Guru

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 970 SLI
    This looks even better after I removed the color profile my lcd installs with the driver.
     
  19. russ1

    russ1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 970 Hurricane
    Thanks op. Works great brought new life to my monitor.
     
  20. JacobKlein

    JacobKlein Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    An alternate solution

    Guys,
    I have another possible solution that I've been using for years, and it doesn't involve fiddling with registry settings or running rogue .exe files.
    Give the solution below a try to see if it works for you!

    ==================================================

    Simply create and use a custom resolution!

    NOTE: Because this involves creating a custom resolution, which can theoretically damage a monitor, I figure I'd give warning. I've personally not had any problems, if you follow my instructions exactly, but the choice is yours. I create and use a custom resolution on every install of the nVidia drivers.

    So, if you have this problem, the solution is to create a custom resolution, of the same resolution size as your existing resolution, but by going custom, it will make blacks look black and grays look contrasted correctly!

    Start by going to the "Change Resolution" area, and click Customize.

    Change Resolution - Pic 1
    [​IMG]

    Then you'll want to click "Create Custom Resolution..."

    Change Resolution - Pic 2
    [​IMG]

    Here's the important part... In order for the drivers to recognize this as a separate setting than the current one, you have to change Timing to be Manual, then without changing any other setting, go to the refresh rate input controls, and click the up-arrow once. So, again, after you've changed the timing to Manual, do not mess with any other setting except refresh rate!

    On my machine, it did say 60.000 Hz, and I changed it to 60.001 Hz.

    Click Test.

    Change Resolution - Pic 3
    [​IMG]

    Hopefully at this point you can still see your screen. If you can, click Yes to save the resolution.

    Change Resolution - Pic 4
    [​IMG]

    Now you should see your newly-created Custom Resolution listed here.
    Click OK to use it.

    Change Resolution - Pic 5
    [​IMG]

    You are now using the Custom Resolution. Look around! Look at Windows Explorer, other programs, look specifically for correct contrast and color namespace. For me, it's an obvious difference that whites look white, blacks look black, and grays/colors do not look washed out. If you can't tell the difference, you could always undo the work we've done so far, but for me, I require the custom resolution.

    Change Resolution - Pic 6
    [​IMG]

    ==================================================

    Good luck, and let me know if it works for you!
     

Share This Page