Third party Graphics Card hardware database

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion' started by Unwinder, May 30, 2015.

  1. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    RT8867A lacks I2C support and cannot be reprogrammed.
     
  2. masteratarms

    masteratarms Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus EAH6850
    It lacks I2C support but it can be reprogrammed. Page 3-5 of the data sheet has a lookup table for 0.5v to 1.6v (gpu idle is 0.95v and 1.15v load, SD limit 1.3v). Its been done in Asus Smart tweak so controllable not only by bios but software.

    Apparently the reason why Radeon bios editor is no longer supported is because there is a hash check in the driver to disallow modded bios', and no one has come up with a work around. I'm not sure if this only applies to more recent graphics cards, RBE doesn't support RT8867 either though.

    My next idea would be to use a hex editor and compare eah6850 with eah6870 bios.
     
  3. EJIekTpuK

    EJIekTpuK Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE DUAL-X R9280X OC
    HWiNFO program can detect the VRM model.
     
  4. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    Please don't quote the datasheet if you don't understand it. Especially in database thread. No, it is NOT reprogrammable. The pages you're referring to list binary VID codes, supported by the controller. Absolutely any controller, even the cheapest one, support the set of VID codes, which can be selected by HARDWARE by setting high/low state on the controller's input VID pins. Some pins are normally hardwired and a few of them are connected GPU GPIO pins, allowing GPU to switch between a few predefined voltages. It doens't mean that the chip can be reprogrammed at all, the only way to change voltage on it is via hardware signals at VID pins.
    Refer to chapter 2.1.17 to get more info about VID GPIO control and please let's stop wasting time discussing RT8867 "programmability" here. This thread is absolutely not for that.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2015

  5. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    Software diagnostic tools are not the best way to detect VRM model as well, especially on custom design cards.
     
  6. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,089
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Good thread, good Sticky!
     
  7. masteratarms

    masteratarms Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus EAH6850
    I understand that Smart Doctor is a piece of software which has a slider which can control the GPU voltage in very small steps. I understand that as MSI does not use the RT8867 chip on any of its GPU products therefore you will not add support for it in MSI afterburner. I accept that your program will not be able to mod the gpu voltage of my Asus eah6850 or Asus Nvidia 670/760 with same RT8867. What I can't accept is that you are implying that the GPU voltage is hardwired.

    I would believe you except that I have personally used Smart Doctor to change my GPU voltage and I can't see how you can define the RT8867 as being unable to be reprogrammed PERIOD!

    I am not looking for help here but if you know of any place I CAN discuss the RT8867 or place to discuss BIOS editing.

    I think this is a good place to start:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?180607-Tutorial-How-to-fix-a-bios-checksum
    here:
    http://www.win-raid.com/f16-BIOS-Modding-Guides-and-Problems.html
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2015
  8. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    I would beliive you if I never worked with A LOT of voltage controllers myself. There is either different controller onboad or SD doesn't adjust anything in reality and provide a fake slider. Period. I ask you to stop flooding the thread with nonsese related to "programmable RT8867" for the last time. This thread is intended to give more knowledge about voltage controllers to users. What you do is called spreading misinformation and misinforming users. Any further posts about "but RT8876 is programmable, period" will be removed. Enough of that.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2015
  9. Tomatone

    Tomatone Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowerColor R9 270
    I have PowerColor HD6870 and I think this card have UP6266 controller ... here is the I2C scan and can voltage be changed?
    Code:
    Scanning GPU VEN_1002&DEV_6738&SUBSYS_23051787&REV_00&BUS_1&DEV_0&FN_0...
    Scanning I2C bus 0...
    Probing device 51...
    Invalid device
    Scanning I2C bus 1...
    Probing device 51...
    Invalid device
    Scanning I2C bus 2...
    Probing device 51...
    Invalid device
    Scanning I2C bus 3...
    Probing device 51...
    Invalid device
    Scanning I2C bus 4...
    Probing device 51...
    Invalid device
    Scanning I2C bus 5...
    Probing device 51...
    Invalid device
    Scanning I2C bus 6...
    Probing device 51...
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 6E FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    12 01 00 40 46 52 68 77 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    Scanning I2C bus 7...
    Probing device 51...
    Invalid device


     
  10. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    Yes, it looks like absolutely valid dump of UP6266 registers. Try the following OEM2 file for it:

    Code:
    ;OEM
    
    [VEN_1002&DEV_6738&SUBSYS_23051787&REV_??]
    
    ; PowerColor HD6870
    
    Desc					= PowerColor HD6870
    VDDC_uP6266_Detection                   = 6:51h
    VDDC_uP6266_Defaults			= D7 77
    
    If it doesn't adjust 3D voltage and change different performance state voltage instead (e.g. UVD voltage) then it can be necessary to change VDDC_uP6266_Defaults line to

    D6 68
    or
    D5 52
    or
    D4 46

    Those VIDs come from your dump, I highlighted them with bold:

    Code:
    Probing device 51...
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 6E FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    12 01 00 40 [B][COLOR="Red"]46 52 68 77[/COLOR][/B] FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 
    
    VID encoding scheme for uP6266 is linear, voltage is adjusted in 5mV steps starting from 600mV. So 4 VIDs stored in your UP6266 lookup are:

    register D4 : 46h = 70 * 5 + 600 = 950mV
    register D5 : 52h = 82 * 5 + 600 = 1010mV
    register D6 : 68h = 104 * 5 + 600 = 1120mV
    register D7 : 77h = 119 * 5 + 600 = 1195mV

    Knowing that, you may simply use OEM2 database as is without trying to adjust the voltage, run any 3D application, monitor 3D voltage then select LUT register containing 3D voltage you see'll see on the graph.

    All

    You may use the same principle to calibrate 3D voltage settings for different voltage controllers with LUT registers, but please keep in mind that each controller's VID encoding scheme is different. So don't try to use voltage calculation principle shown in this posting for different models of voltage controllers. Those calculations are specific to UP6266 architecture.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2015

  11. Tomatone

    Tomatone Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowerColor R9 270
    As I wrote, I think this card have UP6266 controller and I've done what you suggested but to no avail :nerd: These days, I'll change the paste on the GPU and I will look which controller this card have.

    Thank you for your time and this great program :)
     
  12. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    Define "but to no avail". You MUST have voltage control slider unlocked with such OEM2 file and hardware (assuming that the dump you provided is captured on your card).
     
  13. Tomatone

    Tomatone Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowerColor R9 270
    Voltage slider is locked :bang: I have PowerColor AX6870 1GBD5-2DH and the dump is from this card.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    Try to replace 6:51h in detection line with simple 51h
     
  15. Tomatone

    Tomatone Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowerColor R9 270
    YES MASTER
    [​IMG]

    WORKINGGGGG :banana:
    [​IMG]
     

  16. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    Nice. Now try to enable core voltage graph and ensure that 3D voltage is adjusted properly.
     
  17. Tomatone

    Tomatone Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowerColor R9 270
    ok :infinity:

    [​IMG]

    Now I will try some games to see if this is stable.

    BIG THAN YOU :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2015
  18. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    Excellent. Then I'll add a card to the database tomorrow.
     
  19. Tomatone

    Tomatone Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowerColor R9 270
    If you need +1 beta tester you have it :thumbup:
     
  20. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,963
    Likes Received:
    45
    The database has been upgraded to v1.3:

    - Added support for PowerColor HD6870 (AX6870 1GBD5-2DH)
     

Share This Page