The Witcher 3 Official Thread (Pt.2)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by morbias, May 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stone Gargoyle

    Stone Gargoyle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,806
    Likes Received:
    451
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 G1
    I'm loving how you randomly come across places and parts of locations thinking I wonder what's in/over/under there expecting to be instantly devblocked by lazy game design but the game goes no wait, there's more.

    I've genuinely not felt so buzzed about finding that my underlying need for exploration is so properly rewarded since the playing the original Tomb Raider game on PS1. :)
     
  2. goat1

    goat1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,071
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    Asus 770 2gb
    Stop with all the technical sh*t... How's the damn game?
     
  3. sounar

    sounar Master Guru

    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 980TI SC
    Game exceeded my expectations. So much talk lately about the downgrade I started to worry. It looks bloody amazing for an open world game. Better than Gta 5 I would say and a much bigger world as well. Devs didn't deserve all the crap they got from all the endless forums, but that is just how I feel.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2015
  4. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,093
    Likes Received:
    478
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    Haha, I asked a gameplay question about 10 pages ago and it quickly got buried in tech guff.

    Game is good, I like exploring, barely covered the story yet.

    I think the exploring holds up enough on its own to get around the story I don't totally have an interest in.


    Is it just me or does this game really not like alt tabbing?

    Just had the game crash there from it, had a few issues before with it going windowed but that usually resolved itself after a few seconds
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2015

  5. jim2point0

    jim2point0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2080TI
    Camera + FoV + Timestop + Time of day (works wile the game is frozne)

    [​IMG]
     
  6. evilfury

    evilfury Master Guru

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 GTX Gaming X
    I cant find display settings in game? WTF?
     
  7. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Quite "go fetch".
     
  8. ahalama

    ahalama New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5770 HAWK 1 GB
    same issue BUT
    After quick testing (ReShade 0.18.5 Public Beta with SweetFX 2.0 Beta 8+ The Witcher 3 - SS V1.1) with a same ingame settings + latest nvidia driver:

    Windows 8.1 x64 (uptodate) - Hell Darkness
    Windows 10 Preview x64 (uptodate) - Hell Darkness
    Windows 7 x64 (uptodate) - working as intended

    Maybe this one OS related somehow,maybe not.Need some one more familiar with a reshader\sweetfx config then me.
     
  9. Halfmead

    Halfmead Master Guru

    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    GigaByte 2070 Super
    Game itself is good, go explore and find stuff...don't rush storyline.
    My eyes hurt after playing a short while though..camera too damn close to character, so focuses both on Geralt and at stuff elsewhere..strain, and not possible to zoom out/in as far as i can find :(.

    only sad thing is...ground foliage / leaves looks better in RIFT than in W3 lol..i turned foliage coverage all the way down now...much better :p

    edit:

    Maybe just sweetFX alone could work in other OS's than win7-64, don't know if it is a reshade problem with 8.1+
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2015
  10. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,245
    Likes Received:
    707
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Great to see you got working so quick.Nice job.
     

  11. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    202
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    Yeap, sweetFX makes the game too dark.
     
  12. LiquidFrost

    LiquidFrost Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970 FTW
    Pretty good, low res textures make stuff like foliage look way worse than it should. CDPR better have a texture pack in the works. In game texture settings don't touch the resolution, it's only a texture cache slider.

    The game is atmospheric as hell, NPC textures and so on are awesome.
     
  13. jim2point0

    jim2point0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2080TI
    That's like saying that a hammer is only good for smashing my thumb in :p It's a tool.... all in how you use it.

    SweetFX can also make the game too bright you know....
     
  14. antonyfrn

    antonyfrn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW ACX3.0
    Damn I hope they get a fix soon for the inventory bug driving me nuts already.
     
  15. ravaged

    ravaged Member Guru

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    G1 970 SLI
    Yeah......

    [​IMG]

    Looks like discards from a Hollywood set, with everything on Ultra. I'm a little shocked this made it out the door in 2015, from a studio that has more than ten employees.

    But I guess if you look at the right angle so you can't see the seams, it looks ok. I haven't had to do that in a game in recent memory, maybe since Oblivion.
     

  16. deets75

    deets75 Guest

    two issues.
    one, they screwed us over
    two, is the game actually any good.

    the funny thing, I got the witcher 1 and im playing that instead of 3
     
  17. Singleton99

    Singleton99 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    Aorus-Extreme-1080TI
    Is there a option to change the refresh rate in-gme ?
     
  18. A49ER08

    A49ER08 Member Guru

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC2
    does anyone have any bugged quests?
    I'm also confused as to how the contract board works

    I went to it.. grabbed all the contracts, but got no quests... is it bugged? or did I break it by exploring and killing a bunch of stuff before actually getting to the contract board?
     
  19. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,093
    Likes Received:
    478
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    Not seen any so far, done the whole intro area.

    Contract board has about 3 quests in the first village, the others are just flavour text.

    One I can remember is finding a missing brother on the battle field and getting rid of a noonwraith in an abandoned village.
     
  20. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    Nice Job as always! Can you share this table with us?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page