The Witcher 3 driver

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by oGow89, May 11, 2015.

  1. mtdew332

    mtdew332 Member Guru

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 390x
    There are some really good tips for smoothing out the frametimes in TW3 HERE.
    Maybe it will help some.
     
  2. TestDrivers

    TestDrivers Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI 980Ti Gaming 6G

    Thanks for the link, interesting read :)
     
  3. dove

    dove Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 6950 2GB
    Interesting. I wonder how RTSS' framerate limiting compares to Radeon Pro's (I presume Dynamic Framerate Control is the equivalent option)? If we can use RTSS to limit the framerate and borderless fullscreen to force triple-buffering, then perhaps there's no real need for RP anymore?
     
  4. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Not all games support borderless windowed mode so it comes in handy for those.
    I've stopped using RadeonPro.
     

  5. b0uncyfr0

    b0uncyfr0 Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gaming XXX 1070
    Not sure if this will help but im usre you guys can give it a go. With these i managed to get rid of almost all stutters within the game. Im also running the 1023 driver.

    a) Set the game to Fullscreen. Going from the gaf performance thread, Windowed Borderless is suspected of introducing stuttering. Its a 2/3 fps hit at most, get it back from somewhere else.

    b) This is the biggest thing that helped : Cap the in-game fps to 60 fps. After i did this, i noticed i didn't have any more hitching/stutter.

    My settings are 1080p, Vsync PLUS 60 cap on. Shadows Medium, Foliage and Water on High, Everything else on Ultra.

    In the postfx section ive got everything disabled except Bloom, Light Shafts plus i run HBAO+ and Sharpening on 'High'. I force FXAA thru Sweetfx and in CCC ive got Texture Quality set as 'High Quality' for the W3 .exe.

    Currently enjoying a crisp 50 fps experience through RTSS. That AMD driver (IF it ever comes) will make me even happier.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2015
  6. dove

    dove Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 6950 2GB
    With my 6950 (shader unlocked to 6970), even OC'd to 850/1300 I pretty much have to disable all the Post Processing to maintain 30fps. Doing that, the GPU is around 85%, otherwise the GPU is pegged at 98-99% and I get dips to 25fps. CPU is averaging around 30%.

    I'm using RTSS to limit to 30fps, rather than RP. I did try using RP first but noticed that the Overclock option wasn't having any effect on my GPU's clocks, which made me wonder if it was doing anything, so I OC'd with Afterburner instead.

    I've been able to increase the Texture and Terrain to Ultra and it's still only using around 1.4GB of my 2GB but it's looking a bit funky to me. Should it look like this?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    These are my user.settings:

    Code:
    [Hidden]
    HasSetup=true
    uiVerticalFrameScale=1
    uiHorizontalFrameScale=1
    [Localization]
    SpeechLanguage=EN
    TextLanguage=EN
    [Viewport]
    VSync=false
    Resolution="1920x1200"
    FullScreenMode=1
    VSyncThreshold=0
    OutputMonitor=-1
    [Budget]
    cvMaxAllowedLightsShadowTime=1
    cvMaxAllowedApexDestroTickedTime=0.2
    cvMaxAllowedGrass=30000
    cvMaxAllowedDecalsDynamic=10
    cvMaxAllowedDynMeshes=104857600
    cvMaxAllowedChunksSkinnedTime=2.5
    cvMaxAllowedTrianglesSkinned=100000
    cvMaxAllowedDecalsSSTime=0.1
    cvMaxAllowedLightsShadow=3
    TerrainTileMipDataBudget=100
    cvMaxAllowedApexTicked=60
    cvMaxAllowedActiveEnvProbesTime=0.1
    cvMaxAllowedStatTextures=314572800
    cvMaxAllowedSpeedTree=5000
    cvMaxAllowedLightsNonShadowsTime=0.2
    cvMaxAllowedSpeedTreeTime=2.2
    cvMaxAllowedChunksStatic=1500
    cvMaxAllowedTrianglesStatic=500000
    cvMaxAllowedHiresChunks=25
    cvMaxAllowedDecalsDynamicTime=0.5
    cvMaxAllowedLightsNonShadows=40
    cvMaxAllowedChunksStaticTime=1.5
    cvMaxAllowedChunksSkinned=400
    cvMaxAllowedApexDestroTicked=20
    cvMaxAllowedStatMeshes=209715200
    TerrainTileMinTimeout=2
    cvMaxAllowedHiresChunksTime=0.2
    cvMaxAllowedApexTickedTime=0.5
    cvMaxAllowedCharTextures=209715200
    cvMaxAllowedParticlesCountTime=0.2
    cvMaxAllowedParticlesCount=1000
    cvMaxAllowedGrassTime=1.5
    TerrainTileTimeout=10
    OcclusionQueryAdditionalMemory=5
    TerrainTileLoadingTimeout=5
    cvMaxAllowedDecalsSS=160
    [Audio]
    Subtitles=true
    [LoadingScreen/TCR]
    ShowProgress=true
    [Game]
    DoNotPauseWhileStopped=false
    [PostProcess]
    AllowChromaticAberration=false
    MotionBlurPositionTreshold=0.05
    AllowVignette=false
    AllowBloom=false
    MotionBlurRotationTreshold=1
    AllowShafts=false
    AllowMotionBlur=false
    AllowSharpen=false
    AllowAntialias=false
    AllowDOF=false
    SSAOSolution=0
    AllowBlur=false
    [Input]
    PadVibrationEnabled=true
    KeyboardCooldownSpeed=0.1
    InvertCameraXOnMouse=false
    InvertCameraYOnMouse=false
    CameraAutoRotX=true
    InvertCameraX=false
    UIMouseSensitivity=1
    CameraAutoRotY=true
    RightStickCameraSensitivity=1
    InvertCameraY=false
    RightStickAimSensitivity=1
    MouseSensitivity=1
    [Gameplay]
    Difficulty=2
    [LevelOfDetail]
    SwarmHideDistance=200
    DecalsHideDistance=80
    DimmerHideDistance=60
    DynamicDecalsHideDistance=20
    StripeHideDistance=60
    [General]
    ConfigVersion=1
    [LoadingScreen/Editor]
    Disabled=false
    [LoadingOverlay/TCR]
    FadeOutCooldownExtraTime=1
    FadeInSpinnerTime=1
    NoninteractiveSpinnerTime=3
    FadeOutSpinnerTime=1
    NoninteractiveEndCooldown=1
    [Visuals]
    InventoryBgColorScaleB=0.036
    InventoryFixedLuminance=0.25
    InventoryBgColorScaleG=0.034
    MovieFramerate=30
    GammaValue=1
    InventoryBgColorScaleR=0.02
    [Rendering]
    GrassDensity=1600
    DecalsSpawnDistanceCutoff=10
    TextureStreamingHeadsDistanceLimit=10
    TextureStreamingCharacterDistanceLimit=50
    CascadeShadowDistanceScale2=1
    TextureStreamingDistanceLimit=40000
    TextureMemoryBudget=800
    CascadeShadowDistanceScale3=1
    MeshLODDistanceScale=1
    ScaleformTextureUnstreamDelay=2.5
    DecalsChance=1
    TerrainReadAheadDistance=200
    HairWorksLevel=0
    TerrainScreenSpaceErrorThreshold=1.6
    TextureInFlightCountBudget=12
    TerrainErrorMetricMultiplier=6
    CascadeShadowDistanceScale0=1
    MeshRenderingDistanceScale=1
    CascadeShadowDistanceScale1=1
    [Input/Gestures]
    EnableSwipe=true
    EnablePan=true
    EnableGestures=true
    EnablePinch=true
    [LoadingScreen]
    FadeInTime=3
    SkipShowWithAnyKey=true
    GameRevealTime=3
    SkipHideDelay=3
    SkipInputDelay=0.25
    FadeOutTime=1.5
    SkipAutoshow=false
    [Engine]
    LimitFPS=0
    [Rendering/SpeedTree]
    GrassGenerationEfficiency=0.075
    GrassDistanceScale=0.8
    FoliageDistanceScale=1
    FoliageShadowDistanceScale=12
    GrassRingSize=4194304
    [Save]
    ShowCompatWarning=true
    [Kinect]
    Kinect=true
    [Foliage]
    MaxVisibilityDepth=8
    
     
  7. windrunnerxj

    windrunnerxj Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 1060 6G
    Of course it shouldn't look like this.
    Also, why do you limit your FPS with RTSS when the game itself has FPS limiter (30, 60 or Unlimited)?
     
  8. ObscureangelPT

    ObscureangelPT Master Guru

    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1650 Supe
    Because the game doesn't lock the frametimes.
    I was locking the game with Vsync to 30, and the frametimes was all over the place, 20-40-60 you name it and it wasn't suppose to be like that.
    Same goes for Watch_Dogs that i'm playing now.
    Other games are ok, i tested.

    Forcing the RTSS to lock at 30FPS gives me a locked 33.3ms Frametime and everything seems absolutely more smooth.
    Well there aren't such thing as a smooth 30fps, but its more smooth, i can feel it.
    Thats why we are forced to use it.
     
  9. Ungeheuer97

    Ungeheuer97 Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    Thanks for the tip! Just tried it out and the frametime was successfully locked at 33.3 ms . Definitely smoother. And yeah, unfortunately the game does't lock frametime, only framerate.
     
  10. windrunnerxj

    windrunnerxj Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 1060 6G
    Didn't know that, thanks :)
     

  11. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Smooths frametimes a bit but once you actually play the game I see big spikes. Must wait for a patch or a driver.
     
  12. Krelianz

    Krelianz Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290x
    Day 252, still waiting for a proper driver with support for witcher 3, so glad i changed my nvidia for an amd because of some black november deals.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Patience and faith bro.

    Some things are coming:

    - End of the universe

    - Proper AMD drivers

    Which is coming first? :D
     
  14. dove

    dove Master Guru

    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 6950 2GB
    I thought not. So what must I do to make it look correct?

    EDIT: Never mind, it seems to have sorted itself out now. I'm not sure if I helped but I did create a profile in CCC for it and set Tesselation to 8x.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    With all PP disabled and Terrain, Texture and Detail on Ultra, Shadows on Medium and everything else on Low, it mostly maintains 30fps with usage around 85-92%. However, there's still places where it drops to 25fps with usage around 98% like here:

    [​IMG]

    and even setting everything to low doesn't help, as shown here:

    [​IMG]

    I would have guessed it was the fire, or at least the light/shadows coming from it, that was the problem and this would seem to be confirmed by the fact that looking away drops the usage

    [​IMG]

    but if I move around and look at it from a different angle, the usage drops and even moving back to roughly the original position I couldn't get it back up again

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    so I don't really know what's triggering the problem but I don't really want to play it if I'm going to keep dropping to 25fps randomly.
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2015
  15. Krelianz

    Krelianz Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290x
    my next nvidia card :p
     

  16. niczerus

    niczerus Master Guru

    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI GamingX 580 4GB
    AMD will lose a lot of customers if it continues.
     
  17. windrunnerxj

    windrunnerxj Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 1060 6G
    Half-Life 3 :)

    I play on 6850, core 850mhz, memory 1100. If I use a "Low" preset both in PostProcess and Graphics then I can maintain almost steady 30fps @1680x1050. In 1080p FPS fluctuates quite a lot, 25-30. I play with 30FPS limiter and VSYNC on.
    However I play with a high PP and mixed graphical settings: shadows, foliage distance, textures and terrain on medium, water = high and everything else that's left I set on low. Got ~24-27fps @1680 res.
    Yeah, it lags and the picture is somewhat blurry on my 24" monitor (because I don't play @1080p) but all my life I always had low-end PCs so I kinda got used to the "cinematic" FPS :)
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2015
  18. eshk

    eshk Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor 280x 3gb
    I wouldn't mind playing it on 30 or hell even 25 if its stable, which it is not. Even on lowest resolution and settings. Currently on 35, but every 15-20 secs it spikes and I wanna pull my hair. Its fine about 70% of the time, but its becomes very noticeable around mobs and towns.
     
  19. nevernamed

    nevernamed Master Guru

    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Saffire R9290x VaporX 8gb
    I'm running gigabyte r9 280x on i3 4160, running overclocked on the GPU 1160 core/1600 memory, and I'm mostly maintaining 60 fps in the game. in the villages it seems to drop to about 50 fps, but horse back riding and out in the fields it stays pretty much at 60, usage is between 92-98% most of the time.. everything ultra, except foliage which is medium, shadows are high, SSAO on.
    edit: most importantly, hairFX off.
     
  20. db87

    db87 Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 1070 @ 2025
    Off course we all want new drivers. But please see the bigger picture here, and ask yourself why is it always with Nvidia Gameworks titles.

    Gamers should not accept this unethical behaviour, please vote with your wallet. Just don't buy those games.

    Witcher3 is currently far from perfect, also for a large amount of Nvidia users are experiencing low performance. Kepler users are also complaining.
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page