The Windows 7 Thread Pt.2

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by aircool, Apr 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zomb69

    zomb69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 OC/3Dsyncmaster

    aaaarg ok thanks a least thats better than not knowing
     
  2. Finchwizard

    Finchwizard Don Apple

    Messages:
    16,440
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    -
    I've already had it on my MSDNAA.

    Got it on the 6th like before.

    Although now the keys section is down. *Sigh*
     
  3. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    alright then
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2009
  4. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,084
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    Merc 319 6800 XT
    I don't think publically broadcasting that you got Win 7 illegally is a good idea, but glad to see you enjoy it.

    I'd definately think about buying it if I was you.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2009

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Agreed +1
     
  6. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    alright then
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2009
  7. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    I am loving this OS, seriously. Only seem to have one issue tho, PCwizard 2009 does not work with it and when i try to close the program, it crashes and i have to restart my computer to get out of the crash. Other then that , this thing kicks butt.
     
  8. zomb69

    zomb69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 OC/3Dsyncmaster

    pc wizard 2009 works fine for me. and yes i agree win7 is the best os ever
     
  9. scandalous

    scandalous Master Guru

    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    980TI Classified
    So lets say I have Windows 7 ultimate and I have the iso to upgrade. Would it ask for a key during the installation? If so, would it be a windows 7 key, or is it gonna ask for my vista ultimate key?
     
  10. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    Does anyone know if Win7 works fine on a pre-historic age Dell D600 lappy?
     

  11. BaDmOfO

    BaDmOfO Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2 x Evga sc GTX 780
    How much ram is installed? I believe the requirements for Win7 are 1gig... Otherwise I doubt that you would have much trouble.
     
  12. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    1GB+256MB of DDR is installed.
     
  13. smashly

    smashly Master Guru

    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX 560ti / GTX 670
    I was trying Win7 x64 and I can't believe that the dx 9 runtimes aren't upto date without first connecting to the net.
    Clean install and and first game I stick on (Trine) and I get a missing d3dx9_38.dll..
    Look a bit further and check the dates of the directX runtimes and the last dated DX9 file is dated 5/3/08 (d3dx9_37.dll)..ffs
    Even the DX10 runtimes are no better... no biggie.

    But on a good note it's the first time I've done a clean install and been able to play just about any movie format straight out of the box. w00t.

    Vista I had a hate for it from day 1 of my purchase and I still dislike it to this day..
    Win 7 I'm actually liking it *shock*.
    MS seems to have made it so the things I h8ed in Vista I can now control in Win 7 without rummaging the net looking for hacks and tricks to resolve my gripes.
    I'm actually looking forward to buying the retail of win 7.
    Maybe I will be able to finally let go of XP, time will tell ..lol
     
  14. RandyB

    RandyB Banned

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS HD4870/Samsung2343BWX
    It will run fine on the D600, as long as you can find all the drivers for it.
     
  15. F1refly

    F1refly Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX-oc edition
    i wish MS would make explorer tabbed, like Xplorer or something, i've always dislike having to navigate windows and its search function still will not find a simple folder in documents that i know right where its at no matter how i index it. sorry for the rant but i got frustrated earlier copying files and realizing how ineficient getting around still is. I need to customize my "send to" menu and wish there was an obvious way to do it.

    well it ran flawlessly on my MSI Wind u100 Netbook if you wanted to look it up and compare specs.
    it ran butter smooth and i didnt have to install a single driver...it was like installing a good distro of Ubuntu or something. supposedly it can run on a P2 machine, how well w7 can run is pretty impressive.
     

  16. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    well, I just installed it and it ran fast. but had to go back to XP because I couldn't find the video and sound drivers anywhere. so sad...
     
  17. MM10X

    MM10X Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    ^intel usually has good support, and whatever audio manufacturer.
    that is, if you where trying to get it streight from the manufacturer.

    maybe you could try installing the XP drivers? if there are vista drivers it'll work.



    i should be getting windows 7 RTM tomorrow... ill get to see if it was as good as the beta i had!
     
  18. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    there are no vista drivers, afaik. neither dell nor ATi is backing up the old Radeon Mobility 9000.
     
  19. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Anyone know how do disable the secure Window popping up with CTRL+ALT+DEL?

    Also how do I stop my Windows from resizing when they touch the edge of the screen?

    TIA










    If you're really keen you could grab a modded .inf from laptopvideo....
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2009
  20. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    laptopvideo2go only has modded infs for Nvidia cards, but http://www.driverheaven.net/modtool.php should be able to do the trick, afaik.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page