**The HD5770 Thread**

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by keenan, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. zomb69

    zomb69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 OC/3Dsyncmaster
  2. Sever

    Sever Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy 3GB 660TI
    oh and i noticed that your graphics card says 'trying to find a 5850 in au'.

    go to http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?tab=new&cPath=416.

    its pccasegear's new products page. refresh that page and their 5850 page and you may get lucky. a few ago i managed to help my friend get his hands on an xfx 5850 oc'd edition.
     
  3. pvhk

    pvhk Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire hd5770
    no mod necessary to run an nvidia card on a ati CF rig at the very moment you use forceware 185.68...for the later drivers: yes!
     
  4. zomb69

    zomb69 Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 OC/3Dsyncmaster
    sold out there as well , doesnt matter i got an MSI 5770 today and ill get another in a couple of weeks, thanks anyway
     

  5. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Prolimatech Unveils MK-13 Multi-VGA Coole

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Looks like this will wipe the floor with any other cooler gonna get one for my 5770 lol
     
  6. Stone Gargoyle

    Stone Gargoyle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,791
    Likes Received:
    441
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 G1
    Finally joined the 5770 club after upgrading from my much loved Powercolor HD 3870 XT 512mb card. I shall miss you but new gaming horizons now await.

    Just thought I'd say hello. Hello.
     
  7. keenan

    keenan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti Hydro Copper
    Great stuff mate, that should be a great step up in performance

    Enjoy it
     
  8. Stone Gargoyle

    Stone Gargoyle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,791
    Likes Received:
    441
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 G1
    Thanks. It does seem a great card, just a shame current drivers don't seem to be doing it any real justice.
     
  9. keenan

    keenan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti Hydro Copper
    Next time you get a black screen, try removing your monitor cable from the back of the card and then reconnect it..

    Let me know if that works
     
  10. Stone Gargoyle

    Stone Gargoyle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,791
    Likes Received:
    441
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 G1

  11. damnit72

    damnit72 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x8800GTs | 5770
    Hey chaps ... just built a new machine and joined the ATI side of the fence with a 5770 after many years of Nvidias (had one ATI in the past, but a looooong time ago) ... well TBH I am currently "visiting" and if I like it I will stay and maybe buy a 2nd 5770, else I will return to my 2x8800GT's in SLI ;)

    Currently finding a couple of annoying issues which may just be with the 9.11 drivers, I dunno, not had much time to test others ... but I would be happy to hear if anyone else has or had either of these issues and found a way around them:

    System specs: 1x Sapphire 5770, Intel i5 750, Gigabyte P55-UD6, Gskill PC3-16000 Ripjaws 2000MHZ DC, Corsair HX750W PSU, 2 x 500GB WD Caviar Black, all boxed in a lovely Coolermaster HAF932, 2 x Samsung 226BW Monitors running in dual view @ 1680x1050. All at stock speeds (that will change once I have my new H50 watercooler in place :)). Win 7 64 Ultimate RC (build 7100) - that will soon change to Win 7 Pro.

    Issue 1. ANY speed of overclock I try causes an annoying flickering on my 2nd monitor (whilst running normal 2d/desktop/windows apps), esp visible when min/maximising windows or apps. Returning to stock speeds solves the issue immediately :(
    Issue 2. I mainly run driving/racing sims/games, and with no overclock in Simbin's Race On, I get some occasionaly flickering of the screen, and then objects in the distance or on the horizon like trees flicker with a hard cartoon style edge.

    If these issues are purely driver related, then I might stick around with this card, else if not, its going in to my wife's machine and I will return to my Nividias for a bit longer :pirate:

    (BTW ... not done a direct test between the two - like I said, time is currently short so would appreciate any help on this I can get :nerd:)
     
  12. davetheshrew

    davetheshrew Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some green some red
    just got my sapphire (asus bios) 5770 up to 1010mhz core 1351mhz memory at 1.275 volts fully stable, anyone reckon I could push higher without trouble or have I hit my max?
    I only ask because Ive never pushed a card with so much ease and Im not sure of its breaking point lol, this card is OC'ing like a beast lol.
     
  13. Goliath182

    Goliath182 Master Guru

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5970 Redline
    Just got my third 5770 today, and later on in the week im gonna throw them together in Tri Fire for a review. Heres to seeing if it beats the 5970. :rock:
     
  14. Sever

    Sever Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy 3GB 660TI
    so far the flickering appears to be an issue with the card being too far underclocked in its lower power state to handle two monitors properly.

    trying running folding@home gpu edition in the background. this normally raises the clock speed to a higher power state, and see if that reduces your flickering. so far, i believe this is an issue with the default powerstates in the bios. i think somewhere in this thread (or on this forum) there should be a guide to rewriting the power states on the bios.

    folding@home is a temp fix that should keep it from flickering when youre running desktop applications, but the bios fix would be better.

    but before you flash your bios, try contacting your card's manufacturer. a few card vendors have released updated bios' upon request.
     
  15. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Can someone run this benchmark with the same settings please and 5770 crossfire i feel theses are held back by the cpu.

    [​IMG]
     

  16. davetheshrew

    davetheshrew Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some green some red
    I belive it would be held back as the cache on that chip is low mate
     
  17. Goliath182

    Goliath182 Master Guru

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5970 Redline
    I wish I had the 5770's in or I would help you out. I can give you numbers for a few other games.

    Far Cry 2
    1280
    avg - 66.2
    min - 54.8

    1600
    avg - 58.8
    min - 48.4

    1920
    avg - 53.2
    min - 43.4

    Crysis 1
    1280
    avg - 30.3
    min - 18.6

    1600
    avg - 22.4
    min - 14.1

    1920
    avg - 19
    min - 12.6

    Stalker Clear Sky
    1280
    avg - 36.3
    min - 18.3

    1600
    avg - 31
    min - 12.9

    1920
    avg - 28.1
    min - 15.9

    Company of Heroes
    1280
    avg - 177.4
    min - 90.4

    1600
    avg - 149.6
    min - 75.3

    1920
    avg - 121.3
    min - 54.3

    World In Conflict
    1280
    avg - 42
    min - 23

    1600
    avg - 34
    min - 18

    1920
    avg - 31
    min - 15

    All in Vista 64*
     
  18. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Well yes but 3.6 is not enough in general

    Thanks.
     
  19. FlawleZ

    FlawleZ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,254
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon R9
    Looks like Crysis benchmark was detecting your 2180@4Ghz? And 3.6Ghz is a good overclock on that CPU Kylzer. It just needs more L2 ;)
     
  20. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Indeed i'm trying to get a quad for my friend

    that E2180 will not run stable over 3.6 even tried 1.6v lol
     

Share This Page