The GTX 1080-Ti Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by XenthorX, Sep 18, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I do not have a problem with the game guys,I showed a screen shot with maxed out settings @ 2560x1440.
    I have a problem when people say maxed out.
    This is why I asked,so I will ask DW75 again,your running maxed out @3K and getting higher frames than me @1440.Then definitely my computer is fubar.
    Thanks for the replies.
    https://s25.**********/yfs1b53lr/Untitled.jpg
     
  2. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    405
    GPU:
    ASUS 4090 TUF OG OC
    Yeah, SSAA. I understand what you mean @gerardfraser about "max" and "real max" but I've always drawn the line at SSAA since it effectively changes your resolution. In essence, I run max settings at the resolution I picked and call that max. Using SSAA alters the effective resolution, much like DSR and DRS (upcoming DLSS and AI trickery) make the actual definition of "max" and "real max" tough to decide on from person to person.

    I guess I could also add the fact that *most* games, either in their launcher or game settings, will have SSAA in a different section than actual game options. So "maxed out" generally would refer to maxing the graphical settings for a given game to the general gaming citizens. I've always had an issue with Youtubers when they benchmark PCARS 2 and just say "max settings" since that game has multiple AA options, one of which is SSAA. They can show under 60 FPS @ 1440p while I run 4k "max" settings without SSAA @ 80+ FPS.

    These points are all helped along with extra clarification. I suppose @DW75 means they are running at a set resolution of 1440p with max "graphics" settings, sans SSAA or "display" settings. I see your frustration with a lack of specificity and uniformity among developers and users.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2018
  3. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    @BuildeR2 Great answer,I agree with everthing you explained so well,Thanks.
    I knew what DW75 was saying when he said max,I just wanted to ask.
     
  4. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    405
    GPU:
    ASUS 4090 TUF OG OC
    No problem! This is the kind of hardware and technical nonsense I spew on a daily basis, much to the chagrin of those around me. :) Over the last 2 decades my computer building/modding/OC'ing buddies and I have had many a conversation reminiscent of this one.
     

  5. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    405
    GPU:
    ASUS 4090 TUF OG OC
    Exactly. Or, if native resolution isn't sharp enough for you, turn SSAA down to 2x if that is possible or use DSR to whatever extent allows the FPS range you want to keep. Taking a demanding modern game like this and using SSAA is going to be rough. Something like Sniper Elite 3 and the Zombie Army version, which I'm playing with a few friends, I can easily run fully maxed out in every sense. 4k resolution, ultra settings and max SSAA.
     
  6. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire

    LOL you totally missed the point I was trying to make.You did not max out the game as you first said.
    Which in turn gives the wrong impression to people who read threads like these.

    So some poor fucker saves for a year to buy a GTX 1080Ti because he is reading forums and thinking everyone is maxing out a game at some resolution,poor sap buys card,maxes out game and it run like crap.Disappointed to the tits.

    Now I do not give a frack what FPS you get in a game,I already know exactly what the games FPS are. I was trying to point something out and you did not get it,my fault for not explaining myself.

    I am not picking on you ,just saying something.
    You are not the only one who says maxed out or has a different version of what maxed out means.
    I think maxed out means put all sliders/AA and whatever in game to the max possible setting in game.

    Anyway basically a GTX 1080Ti is still no enough to max out today's games at max settings even @1080p with 60FPS min.You just need to turn down settings to get playable FPS.

    What really bugs me are the people who think that 2080TI you be able to play games @ 4K with 60 FPS and maxed out games,where in reality you will have to turn down settings to medium/high to get that 60 FPS @4K.

    Anyway that was fun post,do not be so serious and take everything so literal like
     
  7. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,599
    Likes Received:
    386
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Lol... Tomb Raider's SSAA is one of the worst that I've seen. Same goes to their FXAA and SMAA implementations. Driver FXAA does better job than their SSAA. They didn't improve it at all from the reboot in Rise of The Tomb Raider. Maxing out in that game makes no sense in my opinion.

    2xSSAA vs. driver FXAA. I do know which one I prefer.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2018
    Dragam1337 likes this.
  8. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,535
    Likes Received:
    3,581
    GPU:
    RTX 4090 Gaming OC
    Generally speaking, nvidia's driver FXAA is better than nearly all ingame fxaa solutions. Only issue is that if you wanna take screenshots, the driver fxaa isn't applied to the screenshot :p
     
  9. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,599
    Likes Received:
    386
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Well, if you do not use exclusive fullscreen mode then Windows' built in screenshot capture method (win+prtscr) will capture it.
     
  10. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,535
    Likes Received:
    3,581
    GPU:
    RTX 4090 Gaming OC
    Exclusive fullscreen mode is reqruired for sli, and g-sync works better with it aswell... so not really an option ;P
     

  11. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,599
    Likes Received:
    386
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    When I used SLI with GTX 680, exclusive fullscreen mode wasn't required for SLI.
     
  12. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,535
    Likes Received:
    3,581
    GPU:
    RTX 4090 Gaming OC
    It is if you want ideal scaling... scaling in windowed mode is horrendous. And really, what's the point in sli, if the scaling is bad.

    But i reckon your experience with sli is a "little" outdated, if you haven't used it since the 600 series...
     
  13. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,599
    Likes Received:
    386
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Well, yeah - now a days it's even a bigger pain in the ass and nothing works properly if it works. :p
     
  14. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,535
    Likes Received:
    3,581
    GPU:
    RTX 4090 Gaming OC
    You can still get it to work in 90% of games, and you can still get flawless scaling in most of them... provided that you don't do foolish things like running games in windowed mode, and use nvidiainspector to set sli bits for games, now that nvidia hardly bothers to anymore.
     
  15. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    373
    GPU:
    Palit Gamerock 4090
    I'd like to ask something regarding our beloved cards' turbo boost 3.0, which still appears to be a mistery to me: I've been playing around with the under and overvolt in order to squeeze as much as possible out of the card. The best result I got is 2050MHz/1.081V. With these settings I manage to run Superposition 1080p extreme without any problems, the GPU frequency does not fluctuate and therefore I get a granitic 2050MHz. Things change as soon as I try playing videogames and downsample to 4k: by doing this, there is a pretty high and continuous fluctuation from 1974MHz to 2050MHz, the card just refuses to keep the desired OC. Temps are good, since the fan is running at 80% and I don't go past 61 degrees C. The PL is set to 120% and rarely the power consumption reaches 120-121%. What could it be? I've noticed that without using nVidia DSR and using for instance the internal resolution scaling which some games offer, the frequency does not fluctuate. At first I thought that the downclock was due to the excessive power draw, but it looks like it's not the case here.

    To summarize:
    - 2050MHz, 1.081V, native or inferior resolution: the card always keeps the frequencies I set;
    - 2050MHz, 1.081V, internal resolution scaling: same as before (except for Superposition, if I run the test in 4k optimized, frequencies fluctuate again);
    -2050MHz, 1.081V, nVidia DSR to 4k: frequencies fluctuate a lot and never stay where I want them to stay.

    Could it also be GPU load related? I mean, the card "thinks" the full frequencies are not necessary and it automatically downclocks them?

    EDIT: I forgot to add that the Voltage slider is set to 100%, mems are +500.

    EDIT2: I ran Superposition at 4k keeping GPU-Z in background and the perfcap is Power related... So I'm hitting the power limit everytime it downclocks... Is there a solution to avoid this?
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018

  16. tensai28

    tensai28 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    410
    GPU:
    rtx 4080 super
    You can try making a profile for programs/games that are throttling in nvcp and set those programs to to prefer maximum performance. That helped me a little with the throttling. Not much else you can do except maybe mess with the voltage curve. Look back a few pages if you don't know how to do that.
     
  17. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,621
    Likes Received:
    2,600
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Use MSI Afterburners graph tool to see if it is the gfx card that is limiting you or something outside that.
     
  18. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    @sertopico

    Did you try using a voltage curve yet in MSI Afterburner so you do not hit limits while having a maxed out overclock.Lots of ways to do it in this thread.

    EG:
    Set MSI Afterburner to default.
    Press control + F to get voltage curve.
    Move only single point on voltage curve.
    Lets say 1.02mV for now(you can lower later if you want for now voltage is for stability)
    Move voltage point 1.02mV up to 2038 Mhz.
    Hit red X or close voltage curve.Then click on check mark in MSI Afterburner to apply voltage curve.
    This will result in a flat line voltage curve starting at 1.02 mV and 2038Mhz.
    Setting the voltage curve this way will result in your MHZ to drop by increments of 13Mhz until temperature of the card is under control .Say under 70C.
    Set a fan curve next to run at 70% fan speed at 60C GPU temperature .
    Result should be a drop of two bins (so 26Mhz in total )So the GPU clock will settle at 2012 when card get to a normal running temperature (again say under 70C)

    See screen shot for a general idea how to set.
    https://s25.**********/63qejxxpb/gtx_1080ti.jpg
     
  19. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    373
    GPU:
    Palit Gamerock 4090
    First of all, thanks to everybody for the answers. Now, I'll try to answer:

    @tensai28 That's also what I thought but I did not try yet, gonna do it soon.

    @Mufflore Exactly for which parameter should I enable the monitoring? The power limit percentage is on already and as I said it rarely goes past 120%.

    @gerardfraser I am using the frequency/voltage curve to tweak the GPU already (which is actually the best tool to overclock more effectively). Basically what I did for now was to set 1.081/2050MHz. Then I saved and I did not touch anything else. The Strix OC even allows me to keep the temps under 62 degrees C, which in my case is the point where frequencies start to be cut. Are you suggesting me to try a lower frequency with a lower voltage as a starting point and try to go up till the card starts to limit the core clock again? Based on my experience, the only frequency which stays locked in every scenario is 2025 MHz. I wanted to go a bit further just for fun though and see if I could get some more of that green juice. :D

    EDIT: the card behaves exactly as you described in your short guide. I ran Superposition again (4k Opt) @ 2038MHz/1.025V. Soon after I started the bench core went to 2025, after a while it went down further sitting steadily at 2012MHz. So, now should I try to give a bit more voltage to see if it keeps the desired OC?
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018
  20. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Well I can suggest keep voltage @ 1.02 and bump up to 2070 and see if you can hold 2050 at that voltage,no need for highest voltage on GTX 1080Ti when the card can run at lower voltage with same clocks.It is just a matter of experimenting to see what your card will run at.Lots of people run with 0.993/1.000 voltage also for same clocks.

    If you look at my screenshot run 1.00mv with 99% GPU usage for hours,now I can run higher on OC but there is really no real gaming difference other than couple FPS when gaming even @2100Mhz
     
    sertopico likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page