The GTX 1080 thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by bugsixx, May 7, 2016.

  1. Corbus

    Corbus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080 Ti FTW3
    Nice. Hope you enjoy your card :D

    I tested using the normal 1080p preset , not the extreme(1440p) or ultra(4k). And the drivers settings in the nvidia control panel i left them at default. Also as i said, gpu was stock,no overclocks voltage to 0+ and power to 100%. Was boosting between 1964mhz to 2012mhz.
     
  2. grzesiek1515

    grzesiek1515 Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX1080 SuperJetStream
    I did some OC at memory and I'm close to 24k now. Core were flowing between 2000 and 2050Mhz for this. No idea why I got 4123Mhz reported for CPU if it was still 4250Mhz. Seems right if I'd had 2100+ at GPU core those 25k would be right there
    http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9026874
     
  3. Emille

    Emille Master Guru

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Aorus Extreme
    Awesome, thanks.

    I was confused by what you meant by the driver settings being at default but I know what you mean now.

    The only thing I ever touch in there is high quality rexture filtering which might take a few points off but not much more.

    This is the card btw, it looks great

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2016
  4. Corbus

    Corbus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080 Ti FTW3
    Yea,lucky you managed to get one considering current shortage, how much did you pay for it btw? ( i know you said 50$ cheaper that FE but with current prices being more than they should, it doesn't say much)
     

  5. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,071
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    This is very interesting since I always wondered why my card wont go higher than 1.093mV and typically sets around 1.081mV.
    Though I still don't understand why the card doesnt use more mV since it's specified at 1.250?

    Actually that depends on the card. I noticed that JC3 crashed a lot and I couldn't understand why since even when I decreased the OC, it still crashed albeit less. I've always run my voltage slider at 100% since I thought just like you that it was the best idea. When I decreased it to 60% the crashing stopped completely. Sure, I lost 12MHz in the process but the game seems to prefer this setup. Mind you, that's the only game that has crashed so far.

    I think you should get 24k GPU score at stock.
     
  6. Emille

    Emille Master Guru

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Aorus Extreme
    Well I live in aus where we get ripped off so the cost of the founders 1080 was $1199 and I paid $1149...so not exactly comparable to U.S pricing but for a third party card I thought it was a good buy.

    There is australia wide shortages too. I had to pre order one because no stores had stock and I wanted to ensure I got one right away when they come back in.

    @Netherwind

    Thanks
     
  7. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,071
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Exactly. I remember the first FE OC tests where the reviewers yelled that "omg, we're hitting 1.25mV and we cannot go further" yet here I am with less and apparently that's how its supposed to be? Is the extra headroom saved for 1080Ti so that it will be superultrapowerful?

    You mean fiddlin' with the curve? I don't quite understand how it works even after having watched Hilberts video.

    The only fact I'm grasping is that the chip needs all the voltage it can get to maintain a high OC. In my case I get artifacts (which still baffles me) at high clocks but the throttling is so strange. It's pretty considerable too, about 40-50MHz almost instantly when the 3D scene is rendered. For me that indicates a shortage of power or too high temps. The latter is obviously not the case since the throttling occurs at 50-55 degrees.

    Weird stuff...weird...

    I tried having a conversation on the MSI forums about this but they basically blew me off :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2016
  8. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,548
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Nobody ever declared that Pascal is specified to work at 1.25V. 1250mV voltage wall was only mentioned in extreme overclocking reviews as stability limit that Pascal GPUs could survide under air cooling with hardware voltage mods. Anything above 1.25 results in immediate crash.
     
  9. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,071
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Okay I see.

    Could you please explain once again what the Voltage slider does? If I understand correctly it's not like the slider for Maxwell and earlier with specific values that are added (up to the chips capability of course). If my chip cannot handle more than 1.093mV, adding 100% voltage wont make it go higher but...what?
     
  10. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,548
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Please read the link I provided above in this thread and watch video referenced there. I have nothing to add to it.
     

  11. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080Ti
    Yah my understanding is the voltage is currently limited by the BIOS to 1.09v maximum. And the hardware has a hard limit of 1.25v.

    Currently we'll need to wait for BIOS modification tools for Pascal to be able to lift the 1.09v limit. I read on overclock.net someone is working on a BIOS Tweaker app for Pascal. But it might be a while as there are significant changes to the BIOS due to GPU Boost 3.0.

    -------------

    If the current cards are hitting ~2.0 to 2.1Ghz on 1.09v, i bet even a mild overvolt to 1.14 to 1.18v volts would get people into the 2.2 to 2.4Ghz territory. With the smaller GPU die sizes of 16nm higher voltages would likely require H2O cooling. I highly doubt you'll be able to push ~1.2v+ on air without the thing overheating. This isn't 28nm anymore the voltages will be lower compared to Maxwell if your running on air.

    There is a good reason Nvidia limited it to 1.09v. I have a feeling these chips get pretty hot when you push higher voltages into them. I do wonder if cards like the EVGA Classified will have a different BIOS possibly pushing voltage beyond 1.09v??
     
  12. wsarahan

    wsarahan Master Guru

    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga Titan X SLI
    Guys how are you?

    I`m having an issue here with my 1080 SLI

    Sometimes, almost always when i launch a game one of the cards do not enter in 3d mode i think, the voltage stay in idle mode and the boost do not happen, i have to alt tab and change some value at Afeterburner to see the card voltage change enad the boost happen

    This both images are while in gaming, you can see that one card boost the other one not, sli is active, voltage do not increase as well

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    What can cause this? Anyone with the same issue with 1080 SLi?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2016
  13. wsarahan

    wsarahan Master Guru

    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga Titan X SLI
    Well my cards do not goes to 2d mode i don`t know why

    But take a look at core speed at voltage, complete different from cards
     
  14. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080Ti
    Does the game actually support SLI?? Some games will only put load on 1 card only and the other card will drop to idle clocks or 3D base clock.
     
  15. wsarahan

    wsarahan Master Guru

    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga Titan X SLI
    Yep, it`s happening with any game

    Witcher 3, Black Ops 3.... all games with sli support
     

  16. wsarahan

    wsarahan Master Guru

    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga Titan X SLI
    My cards i don`t know why don`t come back to 2d clock when i exit some game or even at desktop

    The issue is that one card is not boosting the core and the voltages, i can see at AB monitor thet the cards stays with complete different clocks when gaming
     
  17. Corbus

    Corbus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,363
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080 Ti FTW3
    Did you use DDU to uninstall old drivers before installing gpus? Some gpu usage info would be helpful.
     
  18. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,071
    Likes Received:
    1,155
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Okay, thank you.

    I even forgot how to enable this graph :) What I dont understand is why increasing voltage does not affect the core clock?
     
  19. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,548
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    It is NORMAL to see different clocks, they depend on GPU load. And even if there were 100% equal load patterns (which is never having place in reality), the clocks can be different due to different operating voltages.
     
  20. wsarahan

    wsarahan Master Guru

    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Evga Titan X SLI
    It happens immediately, i found this playing with AB now, if i select to desync cards make a change at the one that is not boosting and apply and sync again everything goes normal

    Mayse an AB bug so?

    Thanks for helping me
     

Share This Page