The GTX 1070 Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Netherwind, May 31, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FrAnTiC

    FrAnTiC Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX GTX1070 OC
    I know there is no BIOS editor for Pascal, but there is an official bios update form ASUS.I don't know, should I update and are there any benefits in doing so?
     
  2. endbase

    endbase Master Guru

    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    69
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
    I did with my MSI Gtx 1070 new bios in december not even for my serial number but no complaints and does asus does not have an release note with the new bios ?
     
  3. tensai28

    tensai28 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    365
    GPU:
    2080ti MSI X TRIO
    With the vram at +0 (vram currently at +500) I can raise my core to +100 from my current +60. +120 causes it to bug out and artifact. Problem is this results in lower fps compared to my combined overclock so I chose to keep my core at +60. I tried underclocking my memory a little but that didn't seem to do much. I didn't underclock it as low as you did. Wouldn't that negatively impact the performance a lot underclocking it that much?

    Edit:I just tried it to see and it's not working for me. Underclocked the memory as low as it can go and raised the core to +120 and still got artifacts popping up even at max voltage.

    Overall performance for the card is good but I really wish I could push out a few more frames. I originally bought the card for 1080p gaming and since then I've upgraded to a 2160p 4k display. Now at 1440p, I find myself having to compromise a setting or two in order to keep 60fps on some games where I was easily maxing everything out at 1080p. The shame is; those games I am compromising settings on are only dropping to the mid 50's so if I was able to get a better oc, things would be perfect.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2017
  4. FrAnTiC

    FrAnTiC Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX GTX1070 OC
    tensai28 I understand you very well I'm pretty much in the same situation,exept that I can't do +500 on the mem under any circumstances.In games as you said I can max almost every game at 1440p but there are few occasional drops to the mid 50's, which is quite annoying.

    Well unfortunately I don't have much time these days but I'll do some more research on the BIOS update from Asus also wanna see if somebody have already tried it.I don't know maybe I'll give it a try in the weekend.Good luck, hope you'll find your solution.

    endbase
    "I did with my MSI Gtx 1070 new bios in december not even for my serial number but no complaints and does asus does not have an release note with the new bios ?
    "

    "GTX1070updatebios
    1.DUAL GTX 1070 series now support 0dB function.
    2.Improve Micron memory overclock stability."


    This is the only info I could find on their site.Quite insuficient.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2017

  5. tensai28

    tensai28 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    365
    GPU:
    2080ti MSI X TRIO
    There really isn't much options either (or at least practical options). There always is the 1080 but that doesn't seem worth upgrading to if I already have a 1070 and fps is just ~5 away from what I want. Then there's putting in another 1070 and going sli but I rather not go sli because of all the issues and lack of support. 1080p is always a fallback option if the settings get too low at 1440p but now that I am used to 1440p, it's tough to use 1080p. I had a pretty sick oc with my previous 970 using a modified bios...not sure if I can do the same with this card in the future after a bios tweaker gets released(not getting my hopes up since raising the voltage on afterburner had zero affect). Oh well, I guess this will do until the next gen cards get released. Thanks for the suggestion and help anyways:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2017
  6. EAK

    EAK Master Guru

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZT-P10800H-10P
    1070 is worth it for the price difference vs performance gap. Im happy with it.
     
  7. Mars73

    Mars73 Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX1080Ti
    I can completely relate to it.
    Bought the 1070 last summer, playing at 1920x1080 I could turn on everything at the highest and not think about anything.
    Then I bought a 3440x1440 34" monitor and while a lot games still play at ultra smoothly there are cases where you have to turn down a few things to get it smooth.
    I had it overclocked memory +600 and core +85 for a long time (Samsung memory) and am now testing with memory at 0 and clock at +100. Seems stable, whereas mem at +600 and clock at +100 is not.
    Also wish it could push just a few notches higher to get to that set and forget everything at max point.
    Oh well, it's still performing excellent, not going to swap it for a 1080 anyway. (but still after every driver update trying to see if it goes a bit further haha).
     
  8. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,789
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    Ok thanks for the advice. I will send my card to EVGA so they can make it right since I paid well over $460 bucks for the card.
     
  9. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    895
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Black screen/lost signal every few minutes lasting only 2~3 seconds then comes back ?

    Guys i am having a issue that is bothering me a lot. I am having this problem and it is affecting everything i do on my PC. Every 5 or 10 minutes my screen goes completely black with a lost signal warning from my display and then it comes back :/ . This is a brand new out of the box eVGA GTX 1070 SC Gaming ACX 3.0 since the first 1070 i bought was doa and i did rma that faulty video card.

    This happens anytime , it could take anywhere between 5 or 10 minutes but it will do it again and again while browsing the web , watching youtube or gaming. My screen will go black with a lost signal warning from my UHD 4K TV for around 3 seconds and then the signal cmes back. The display it's connected via hdmi 2.0 with a Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cable by monoprice ( 18Gps , certified by HDMI organization with the logo , 20 feet long ) this one = https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15427 , is connected to my Vizio 50'' D50u-D1 UHD 4K 60HZ thru the hdmi #5 on the TV wish is the recommended hdmi 2.0 for gaming on this display.

    Things that i have done: Checked the hdmi connections and cable ( it's a brand new cable so it is not the cable ). Uninstall nvidia drivers and re-install the latest whql 378.49 drivers running DDU and CCleaner before re-installing. I only install the nvidia display driver , nvidia audio driver and Physx with a clean installation. In Nvidia control panel i have vsync as selected by application , perfomance mode mode enable everything else is left at stock and / or as per application controlled. I have reset the motherboard bios and also re-flash the mobo with the latest bios. The video card is running at stock settings , no oc and not touching anything.

    Any idea why this is happening ? I am at lost right now because i cannot have such a bad luck and have 2 brand new video cards been faulty :( , it seems some kind of bandwidth related problem or a driver issue. The display is a 4K 60Hz certified and i never had this problem before with my last amd 290x video card and my eVGA gtx 750Ti. Any help , guidance and opinions are welcome. Please give me a hand my fellow Gurus i do not want to RMA this video card again. Thank you in advanced.

    Kind Regards: Angelo
     
  10. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,789
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    I know that you RMAed the card before but did this happen with the card you had before the RMA? Do you still have either your 750 Ti or your r9 290X? Because you can try those out and see if they do the same thing as what your 1070 is doing? Do you have any other devices hooked up to your 4K TV like a PS4 or Xbox-one and do they do the same thing?
     

  11. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    895
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Thank you for the quick reply , appreciate it.

    No , this issue never happened with the other 1070 that was rma.

    I'm sorry :/ right now i only have my GTX 1070 , i sold my gtx 750Ti and 290X , but i did tried those two cards at 4K on this same display and never had an issue with them , no black screens etc... they did ran flawless.

    No , nothing else is hooked up to my 4K tv , i only have my pc connected to it.

    Do you think i am missing a setting with the nvidia control panel or something else ? I am at lost with this issue :(
     
  12. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,789
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    To me it sounds like some kind of power suspend mode issue like what happened with certain AMD cards. Like something is telling the card to go to suspend mode or something. But I am guessing at this point. When I had my R9 290 card installed I had black screen issues when it was just idling but the problem there was I was using 2 power connectors off of the Same PCI-E Power connector rather than using two separate power connectors. Or it could be some kind of Power issue. No I don't think there is any setting with in Nvidia control panel that could cause this unless there is something that I am missing.
     
  13. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    895
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    I did a google search on this issue and they are thousands of reports of this problems wish leaves me with more questions than answers. I am going to try a few things and let you know if i can fix it somehow , it does not look like a hardware ( video card problem ) , will see. Thanks again for the help Fender.
     
  14. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,789
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    Not a problem. Lets hope that it is not a card issue.
     
  15. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,789
    Likes Received:
    98
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    Well I started the RMA process for my GTX 1070 FTW edition. What needs to be done is the RMA needs to be submitted.
     

  16. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    895
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    I hope you get a good one , it seems evga is lacking quality control.

    I'm still looking for a solution to my problem , most likely i'm looking for a second rma for mine too :(
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2017
  17. jura11

    jura11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    303
    GPU:
    GTX1080 Ti 1080 FE
    Hi Angelo

    Are you using assume Win10 or are you still at Win7?

    Do you have enabled UEFI boot or are you have enabled Legacy boot?

    Can you try Legacy boot or try UEFI but not with fast boot?

    I'm still at Win7 at moment bit have run Win10 too for while and no issues with any of my monitors although my monitors are connected through the Displayport(DP) and not through the HDMI

    Hope this helps

    Thanks, Jura
     
  18. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    895
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Hi there Jura. I am on windows 10 Pro x64bit. UEFI boot without fast boot it's what i am using right now. I will try legacy boot now as you sugested , brb let me give it a try.
     
  19. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    895
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Well there is no legacy boot option on this mobo Bios :/ , only secure boot and UEFI boot.
     
  20. jura11

    jura11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    303
    GPU:
    GTX1080 Ti 1080 FE
    Hi Angelo

    Only thing which I thinking is did you tried to hot plug TV or did you tried any other connector/connection on TV

    If this doesn't work then I'm not sure there, only thing I would suggest do you have spare HDD and install there Win7 or Win8?

    But agree people do report these issues over on other forums which is unfortunate and unfair to consumers and us

    Although my board support UEFI, but I'm still on Legacy as with this in my case everything is working as should and no issues

    Hope this helps and best of luck there

    Thanks, Jura
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page