The Folding@Home Pub

Discussion in 'Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !' started by Crossfire, Oct 22, 2007.

  1. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    Ok, when I just run one of them it says Im using 50% on each thread. Is that right?
     
  2. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Yeah it is right, since HT kinda simulates a second core for inefficient apps to uttilize which inturn means that app will now be more efficient. Since F@H isnt that efficient you will see a slight increase in ppd.
     
  3. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    So what do you recomend? Running one, or two isntances?
     
  4. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Are you going to keep dragging this out? Its the third time ive told you that it will increase ppd (1-20% depending on wu).
     

  5. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    Ok, either I'm slow or you're not being clear.

    What is it? I asked what to run., one or two instances, and you say it will increase ppd. wtf is "it"? I guess I'm slow, as stuff is not clear lately for some reason, I'm probably stressed to f*ck from school. But here is my main question: If I run my P4 with one instance of the no-nonsense version running as a service will it complete work unit's faster?


    Thanks, and sorry if I sound mean, I'm just a bit frustrated.

    I'm about to complete a 500 point WU in a few hours. :)


    EDIT: WU just completed and sent in. :D

    Hey Billabong, what's wrong? You're not hardly folding lately...
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  6. Billabong

    Billabong Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 9800GTX
    Bit of a revamp (house) and rebuild (home network wiring) also lost one P4 3.2GHz (478) box to a fritzed m/board, rma replacement was despatched today apparently (so they said when I phoned them this afternoon)
     
  7. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    Oh, ok, so this means you will still be folding? If so, great! :D

    Guru3D now ranks 289th !!


    Another question guys: I can run a 64 Bit OS, I have a 64 Bit Processor, if I run Windows Vista 64 Bit would I get a performance boost in F@H? Also, this is kinda OT and I
    m going to post it in the drivers section, I can't find Vista Drivers for my Motherboard Chipset and WiFi card. My Chipset - nVidia nForce 3 250 and my WiFi card - Linksys WMP11 PCI Network Adapter. Any help would be great.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  8. DevilDude

    DevilDude Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward Bliss 7800GS+ 512Mb AGP
    Sorry, I can't really help - I would caution against the use of Vista 64 however as it can only use signed drivers!!

    (As if I needed another reason not to upgrade :) )
     
  9. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    for the love of god, upgrade your gpu! fx 5500 is a crime.
     
  10. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    GPU upgrade costs me money, OS upgrade does not. ;)
     

  11. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    if you are in the US, get 100 bucks and get something decent for your agp rig
     
  12. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    I'm waiting for all the new hardware to come out, then there will be a huge price drop n the current hardware, and I will hopfully build one with these or similar specs:

    • Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
    • Gigabyte P35
    • 8800GTS or GT


    :)


    EDIT: I have 555 posts! :D Like the 555 deal from Dominos. :D
     
  13. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    I have an idea...

    Stanford should make a client that would use GPU and CPU power!

    I.E: Say I have a Q6600 and a 2900XT or two 2900XT's in CrossFire, both of them will do great, but put both together, BAM!!

    Also, there was a post about some password cracking program that used GPU power, and it said, a CPU will take a 500 page book and go through it from page 1 to 500, a GPU will tear the book into a thousand pieces and read them all at the same time, which could mean that they both might not be able to work together. But if the GPU power is better then CPU, then if stanford gets support on the 2900's, when I build my new machine I might get one of those, but I'll probably be getting an 8800GT/GTS.

    Just a thought.
     
  14. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    No one has any idea's about the GPU with CPU Client? :leave:

    We are at 284 !! Huge rank jump in past few weeks.
     
  15. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    i take all the credit ;-)
     

  16. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    lol, you have done alot, and will do alot more (hopefully..)

    You running 24/7 on your P3 server?
     
  17. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    yeah man my p3 xeon server is crankin em out
     
  18. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    Hell yeah!! You're flying through the ranks!!

    Your Status...

    Sad thing is, you're catching up to me. :(
     
  19. DevilDude

    DevilDude Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward Bliss 7800GS+ 512Mb AGP
    Sheesh. The loss of some of our best folders is really hurting us. We were folding @ roughly 31k ppd and now we are down to 25k and falling :(

    We're still climbing up the ranks but only at half the speed...

    Aircool, Billabong - Hope you guys get your rigs back to folding soon :)
     
  20. Crossfire

    Crossfire Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS Radeon HD 4670
    Yeah, but we have recruited some new folders as well.

    I think the new BETA of the No-nonsense client has helped my performance noticeably. It was taking about three to four days to complete those 500 point WUs, now it only takes two to four. I don't know why but my Athlon 64 is flying through WUs recently, not EUE'ing either, it's probably because of colder ambient temperatures in my house.

    My GeForce FX-5500 is screwed. I don't know what's wrong but the VRAM is @ 200MHz when it's suposed to be 400MHz, and every time I try to run a 3D application it locks up or artifacts. I've tried everything, new drivers, cleaning it out, checked all connections, re-formatted, etc. I'm going to put my old GeForce Riva TNT2 32MB card in. But, only thing I will be able to do is get online, fold, and play older games; suprisingly, I can play Unreal tournament 2003 and 2004 on low - medium settings and get good FPS without overclocking with my 8MB TNT2, and with my 32MB I can play Battlefield 1942 with good FPS.

    Who is rx4711_(Germany) ?



    - CrossFire
     

Share This Page