The Evil Within - New Update Adds 60FPS Cap

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Oct 30, 2014.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,496
    Likes Received:
    10,289
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Bethesda and Tango Gameworks have released a new update for the PC version of The Evil Within. According to its changelog, this update adds a 60FPS cap option for those able to push such framerates....

    The Evil Within - New Update Adds 60FPS Cap
     
  2. benq

    benq Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1
    Ok, so what about 120-144fps? (for those who have 120-144hz)
     
  3. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,558
    Likes Received:
    4,940
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Well, maybe a step into the right direction, but for me personally I think they just should have offered proper PC graphics options, including ALL the PCs technical possibilities.
     
  4. Phuncz

    Phuncz Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    0
    That this patch even exists shows that Bethesda thinks PC gamers are just the crud under a shoe. Luckily this patch was within a month of release and not many months after, like the recent Watch Dogs patch.
     

  5. Ven0m

    Ven0m Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX 1080M
    For these undecided, if they should buy this game or not, perhaps Zero Punctuation Review will convince you.

    Regarding patch - it's good that they fixed the mentioned issues, but as Phuncz has already stated, there shouldn't be a need for such patch.
     
  6. maikai

    maikai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 3060 Ti
    Oh wow I can only imagine what the steam forums are going to look like now from all the fanboys who backed the 30fps cap to the death and also said it would be impossible to remove the black bars. I'm gonna grab my popcorn and head on over
     
  7. Ven0m

    Ven0m Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX 1080M
    You can't be serious? How would one back such decisions (frame cap, bars) if there was a possibility to extend these limitations?
     
  8. Glasofruix

    Glasofruix Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980
    Didn't they say that 30 fps and the black bars are the way to go if you wanted a "cinematic experience"? Even though they knew it was a crap design choice to match the console versions?
     
  9. wsgroves

    wsgroves Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Asus Strix OC 1080Ti
    I am not going to cut on them, I am just happy they added these features that people wanted!
     
  10. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    You aren't worried but no 120 fps or faster framerate because the excellent graphics may be very heavy despite GTX 780 to 980/R9 290x. ;)

    But 60 fps is very good!
     

  11. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,630
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Is there a way to disable those daft widescreen letterbox bars ?
     
  12. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,179
    Likes Received:
    2,007
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    have you checked in the options menu ?
     
  13. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,630
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    I haven't got the game yet, I just saw 30fps cap and widescreen bars and thought "No thanks" :)

    I take it that option is easy to disable then ?
     
  14. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,179
    Likes Received:
    2,007
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    oh alrigth, well it seems to be fixed, or well it has a option for it :)
     
  15. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,630
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    Temping.... not sure what they were thinking by limiting to 30fps and wasting screen real estate with bars, obviously realised their mistake if they are adding options to remove the limits
     

  16. Glasofruix

    Glasofruix Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 980
    Because the "next gen" consoles are already outdated and struggle with the game at full resolution, hence the black bars, claustrophobic FOV and 30fps.
     
  17. SoloCreep

    SoloCreep Master Guru

    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 TI
    I cannot for the life of me figure out what black borders people are talking about. At 1080x1920 I have never had them. Its full screen like all the other games I play. Aside from that, they did say before release that they were adding 60fps support and that's what they did, good on them.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2014
  18. Feneeth of Borg

    Feneeth of Borg Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    TwinFrz R9 270Xx2
    What a travesty. The game is quite (been watching markiplier). But we all know "60fps support" isbt a thing. They were forcing double vsync down our throats and when Dead space did it we got around it with radeon pro. What is up with Bethesda anymore, they pander to casual gaming more than ever?
     
  19. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,080
    Likes Received:
    305
    GPU:
    GTX 1660Ti
    They have slowly succumbed to casual gaming more and more.
    Just looking at the differences between Morrowind -> Oblivion -> Skyrim.
     
  20. BLEH!

    BLEH! Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    192
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury
    Can't someone mod it...?
     

Share This Page