The Evil Within from Bethesda (Shinji Mikami)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by deathfrag, Apr 19, 2013.

  1. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,610
    Likes Received:
    614
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Oooh that does look good, got my eye back on it now. :p
     
  2. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,676
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Guess it's i7 CPUs all around again... . :p

    So, I expect to see system requirements that do nothing towards actually showing what the game needs to run.
    But, here's this... if you can run Wolf: TNO... you should be good for The Evil Within.
     
  3. umeng2002

    umeng2002 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    52
    GPU:
    3
    I almost wished he stayed doing Resident Evil games. I just don't like the spiritual/ ghost/ telepathy aspects in a horror game. The thing about RE is that it's somewhat based in reality.
     
  4. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,304
    Likes Received:
    2,653
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Vanilla"
    http://www.bethblog.com/2014/09/25/the-system-requirements-within/

     

  5. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,676
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Look at that... it's the Wolf:TNO system requirements all over again. ;)

    Who else wants to bet the game will run great on specs way below those...
     
  6. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,118
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    When is this suppose to be released?

    Wanna see if its horror'ish or not :devil:
     
  7. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,676
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
  8. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,118
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Ok thanks :)
     
  9. Slikar

    Slikar Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX970 WF3
    So 4GB VRAM huh? Wonder if those are locked 60fps requirements, still i guess they are bit too high if it turns to look same as consoles
     
  10. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    lol at 4gb vram recommended, it won't get anywhere near it at 1080p.
     

  11. Slikar

    Slikar Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX970 WF3
    It better have some super hi res textures and whatnot if it's gonna use 4 gigs of VRAM.
    But yea, it's probably gonna do fine with 2GB cards just like WOLF did...
     
  12. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,676
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Judging from videos and screenshots, it's got a very solid art style, but it does not have super hi res textures.

    Bethesda said the specs released were for running the game at max settings to get the "ultimate" experience from the game.
    But, they said the same thing for Wolf: TNO and people showed that Wolf didn't need nearly the kind of resources Bethesda said it would.

    I figure The Evil Within will run fine on a wide array of hardware and setups. As, that's what idTech5 is designed for. Getting the most out of minimal resources.
     
  13. rodrigoles

    rodrigoles Master Guru

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 680 1254/7000
    lol the sh!tty idtech 5 again, they should nuke this engine

    idtech5 = 50gb for a linear game, 10 hours long with beautiful ps3/xbox360 textures

    4gb of vram for this ?
    http://s.pro-gmedia.com/videogamer/media/images/ps4/the_evil_within/screens/the_evil_within_16.jpg
    http://www.gamesfoda.net/wp-content/gallery/zwei/EpzuUHa.jpg
    http://media1-us.shopto.net/microsites/the_evil_within/screens/B.jpg
    http://s.pro-gmedia.com/videogamer/media/images/ps4/the_evil_within/screens/the_evil_within_18.jpg

    either they are seriously over exaggerating the requirements because a game is not "NEXt-GEN" if it doesn't require an i7 and tons of ram, or it's a lazy port and they're not bothering with optimizing asset streaming on pc, like ubisoft and watch dogs.

    I hope bethesda don't have the bright idea of developing an elders scrolls/fallout with idtech5.
     
  14. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    ^that is the worse use if Id tech i have ever seen. I'd be offended if i were carmack.

    Also, that looks just as bland as anything else to have come from Bethesdas own internal developer who make Fallout and Elder Scroll, muddy green pixelated textures and low quality assets... its like a poormans UE3.
     
  15. Emille

    Emille Master Guru

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Aorus Extreme

  16. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Its called backwards compatibility..aka being feckn lazy.:banana:
     
  17. Emille

    Emille Master Guru

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Aorus Extreme
    It honestly looks worse than RE5 on the lowest settings.
     
  18. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    1,676
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Actually... it's about a 20 hour game.
    And, there's no logical reason the game would/will actually use 4GB of video memory.

    These specs (just like Wolf:TNO and DisHonored's before it) are overly bloated and not an accurate representation of what you will need to play the game.

    It's also been no secret that the game's texture resolution is not super hi-res, but, you could at least use current screenshots to defend your point. Not screens from the first time the game was shown.
    The game looks a LOT better then those screens now, yes it's nothing so amazing it absolutely needs such hardware, but... it's a huge step up from the first handful of screens they released over a year ago.
     
  19. biggyca

    biggyca Master Guru

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 980 GALAX
    I will never understand why developers use film grain...
     
  20. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,118
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Agree, wasn't Wolfenstein NWO also 4gb vram? And yet it runs fine with 3gb maxed including VT compression off..
     

Share This Page