The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by chispy, Feb 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,669
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    AMD's overclockers went at it to try and overclock the CPU over 5GHz on all cores to run CINEBENCH. That's right; 32-cores and 64-threads at over 5.0GHz on all cores.
    They used liquid nitrogen (down to -196C, but maybe not that low depending on how the CPU likes it), which is more intense than Intel's 28-core chiller demo (close to 0C, or maybe a bit lower), but either way they demolished Intel's CINEBENCH score.

    However, we believe they can score over 8000 points, as this isn't their top run and was just done live on CPUs that we are told weren't binned closely.
    Either way, this performance is crazy high and impressive, and we can't wait to see how things turn out at launch!

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2018
  2. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,367
    Likes Received:
    245
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    Took ram down to 3400 from 3466. Only lowered voltage to 1.38 from 1.41 and Trfc1 to 252 from 262. All other timings remained the same. Bandwidth may be a tad lower but performance in game is better.
     
  3. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,669
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
  4. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,669
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Here is AIDA test with (good Timings with 1T) CPU set to 4017MHz
    DRAM at 1.475v (1.438v) SOC 1.150v (AIDA shows 1.112)

    [​IMG]
     

  5. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080Ti/Radeon VII
    My results are well down on that, in fact it got as low as 5800 on the third run and maxed at 7300ish. I though my ram was 3200 cl14. Every other test in the benchmark suit performed as expected. :/

    edit

    just got a 3078 result. Clearly something is wrong.
     
  6. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080i SC2
    VP8 bench took a BIG hit after spectre patch.

    You can check for yourself .... : Download InSpectre from GRC (https://www.grc.com/inspectre.htm) and disable Spectre protection.
    Run the VP8 benchmark, reboot and run the benchmark again and be amazed :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2018
  7. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080Ti/Radeon VII
    Ah, wait, so OnnA's results are using that? I feel I've missed some information and should have paid attention and read back.
     
  8. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    893
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    [​IMG] Guys any idea why hwinfox64 is not working correctly for me ? it shows some weird numbers and texts :/ .
    Asus Crosshair VII x470 / Ryzen 2700x @ 4.3Ghz / G.Skill DDR4 16Gb @ 3466Mhz Cas14

    I'm using the latest beta 5.87-3495 x64bit , this is what it shows :


    http://i68.tinypic.com/1z33yud.jpg


    Weird ! , images are not showing for me on the website ??? see the direct link for the image.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2018
  9. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080i SC2
    It looks like the tables just need to "expanded"
    Have you opened and closed HWINFO and then changed DPI scaling ?
    When you start HWINFO .. try going into settings and press "Reset preferences".

    [​IMG]
     
    chispy likes this.
  10. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    893
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Thank you , that did the trick :) . I have reset the preferences and voila now is working as it should.
     

  11. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080Ti/Radeon VII
    I was getting some pretty extreme voltage spikes with the 2700x using balanced mode with temps reaching 59c just using 14% cpu (much lower temps using more cpu because voltage was lower) so I switched to high performance mode and that settled everything down. I guess I'll leave it on high performance mode but it's a bit annoying that balanced mode exhibits this behaviour.
     
  12. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080i SC2
    The CPU will NEVER request unsafe voltage. Idle voltage is sometimes high, but it shouldn't affect temps that much, since there is no load.
    I'm using balanced power profile, and voltage is sometimes > 1.45v, in idle. Under load voltage drops below 1.3V even when running max load on all cores.
     
  13. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080Ti/Radeon VII
    Voltages weren't unsafe with 1.45v or thereabouts being the highest but I was seeing higher temps under slight load (15-20%) than I'd like. 59c isn't what I want when the cpu isn't doing much. Once the load increased the voltage backed off a bit and temps were around 44c at about 30% load. Max temps (60c) seem fine so the NH-D15 is doing its job.

    edit

    Just to clarify; the higher temps were also spikes that occurred when the voltage and core speed hit peak. I want a more stable, linear progression to my cpu temps.

    edit 2

    I can't find anything related to xfr2 or pbo in the bios of the x470 prime pro. Reading through the motherboard manual didn't help, it just mentions ez overclock or something. My 2700x doesn't all-core boost over 3.9Ghz. Quite confused!
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018
  14. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,669
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    -> https://twitter.com/AMDRyzen/status/1029118827831877632

    cinebench r15 TR 2990wx 8532

    -> http://hwbot.org/submission/3916636_sampson_cinebench___r15_ryzen_threadripper_2990wx_8532_cb

    No, im on Older BIOS v.1403 :D (No other is better than this one)
    That's why i have normal score in Google Img. compresion VP8

    PS. Im waiting for new Agesa 1.0.0.5 with better DDR support the i will go for Usmus1 BIOS Mod :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,669
    Likes Received:
    2,016
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD

  16. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080Ti/Radeon VII
    I've got a few cores boosting to 4482mhz here on my 2700x, everything at stock, not touched anything in the bios. O_O
     
    Aniboom and Jagman like this.
  17. Jagman

    Jagman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    295
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1070
    You've got a peach of a processor there then. I'm guessing you have a decent cooler as well though :cool:
     
  18. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080Ti/Radeon VII
    I think it must be a bug in HWMonitor because one core touched 4509mhz! Probably just a spike.
     
  19. Jagman

    Jagman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    295
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1070
    Run the benchmark in CPU-Z, I'm curious what score you'll get.
     
  20. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,937
    Likes Received:
    1,304
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
     
    chispy likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page