The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by chispy, Feb 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,290
    Likes Received:
    2,524
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
  2. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,290
    Likes Received:
    2,524
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Here is AIDA test with (good Timings with 1T) CPU set to 4017MHz
    DRAM at 1.475v (1.438v) SOC 1.150v (AIDA shows 1.112)

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080Ti/RadVII/2070S
    My results are well down on that, in fact it got as low as 5800 on the third run and maxed at 7300ish. I though my ram was 3200 cl14. Every other test in the benchmark suit performed as expected. :/

    edit

    just got a 3078 result. Clearly something is wrong.
     
  4. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    180
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    VP8 bench took a BIG hit after spectre patch.

    You can check for yourself .... : Download InSpectre from GRC (https://www.grc.com/inspectre.htm) and disable Spectre protection.
    Run the VP8 benchmark, reboot and run the benchmark again and be amazed :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2018

  5. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080Ti/RadVII/2070S
    Ah, wait, so OnnA's results are using that? I feel I've missed some information and should have paid attention and read back.
     
  6. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,843
    Likes Received:
    965
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 590
    [​IMG] Guys any idea why hwinfox64 is not working correctly for me ? it shows some weird numbers and texts :/ .
    Asus Crosshair VII x470 / Ryzen 2700x @ 4.3Ghz / G.Skill DDR4 16Gb @ 3466Mhz Cas14

    I'm using the latest beta 5.87-3495 x64bit , this is what it shows :


    http://i68.tinypic.com/1z33yud.jpg


    Weird ! , images are not showing for me on the website ??? see the direct link for the image.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2018
  7. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    180
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    It looks like the tables just need to "expanded"
    Have you opened and closed HWINFO and then changed DPI scaling ?
    When you start HWINFO .. try going into settings and press "Reset preferences".

    [​IMG]
     
    chispy likes this.
  8. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,843
    Likes Received:
    965
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 590
    Thank you , that did the trick :) . I have reset the preferences and voila now is working as it should.
     
  9. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080Ti/RadVII/2070S
    I was getting some pretty extreme voltage spikes with the 2700x using balanced mode with temps reaching 59c just using 14% cpu (much lower temps using more cpu because voltage was lower) so I switched to high performance mode and that settled everything down. I guess I'll leave it on high performance mode but it's a bit annoying that balanced mode exhibits this behaviour.
     
  10. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    180
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    The CPU will NEVER request unsafe voltage. Idle voltage is sometimes high, but it shouldn't affect temps that much, since there is no load.
    I'm using balanced power profile, and voltage is sometimes > 1.45v, in idle. Under load voltage drops below 1.3V even when running max load on all cores.
     

  11. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080Ti/RadVII/2070S
    Voltages weren't unsafe with 1.45v or thereabouts being the highest but I was seeing higher temps under slight load (15-20%) than I'd like. 59c isn't what I want when the cpu isn't doing much. Once the load increased the voltage backed off a bit and temps were around 44c at about 30% load. Max temps (60c) seem fine so the NH-D15 is doing its job.

    edit

    Just to clarify; the higher temps were also spikes that occurred when the voltage and core speed hit peak. I want a more stable, linear progression to my cpu temps.

    edit 2

    I can't find anything related to xfr2 or pbo in the bios of the x470 prime pro. Reading through the motherboard manual didn't help, it just mentions ez overclock or something. My 2700x doesn't all-core boost over 3.9Ghz. Quite confused!
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018
  12. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,290
    Likes Received:
    2,524
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    -> https://twitter.com/AMDRyzen/status/1029118827831877632

    cinebench r15 TR 2990wx 8532

    -> http://hwbot.org/submission/3916636_sampson_cinebench___r15_ryzen_threadripper_2990wx_8532_cb

    No, im on Older BIOS v.1403 :D (No other is better than this one)
    That's why i have normal score in Google Img. compresion VP8

    PS. Im waiting for new Agesa 1.0.0.5 with better DDR support the i will go for Usmus1 BIOS Mod :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
  13. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,290
    Likes Received:
    2,524
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
  14. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080Ti/RadVII/2070S
    I've got a few cores boosting to 4482mhz here on my 2700x, everything at stock, not touched anything in the bios. O_O
     
    Aniboom and Jagman like this.
  15. Jagman

    Jagman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    304
    GPU:
    5700XT Pulse
    You've got a peach of a processor there then. I'm guessing you have a decent cooler as well though :cool:
     

  16. Supertribble

    Supertribble Master Guru

    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    1080Ti/RadVII/2070S
    I think it must be a bug in HWMonitor because one core touched 4509mhz! Probably just a spike.
     
  17. Jagman

    Jagman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    304
    GPU:
    5700XT Pulse
    Run the benchmark in CPU-Z, I'm curious what score you'll get.
     
  18. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,381
    Likes Received:
    1,618
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
     
    chispy likes this.
  19. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,524
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    Not possible on its own. Likely BCLK on 103MHz. HWiNFO64 reads information correctly. Check BIOS if it shows 3,7GHz. If BCLK is higher than 100MHz, BIOS will show higher than 3,7GHz.
     
  20. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,665
    Likes Received:
    900
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
    With the weather cooling down, I began overclocking my 2600 last night. Could use some tips if there's more options I can fiddle with. Got an x370 Prime Pro.

    I first tried to set the voltage to 1.45. Manually setting vcore to 1.4312 and using llc 3 it got to 1.48/9 under load.
    Under this voltage I could post with 4.3, 4.2 and 4.1 but they all crashed as soon as I started Prime95 Small FFT.
    While I say crash, I really mean the system would just freeze, I never once got bluescreen like I did with my old Intel.

    4.05 is stable for 10 mins in Prime95(I ran all tests for 10 mins for now, finetuning comes later). It needs 1.406v with llc set to auto.
    I saw people say SOC voltage could be set to 1.2 for extra stability, while others say this is strictly for memory stability. I did nothing for me but I didn't try it until I had already lowered voltage to 1.39.

    So that's where I'm at currently. Where do I go from here?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page