The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by chispy, Feb 22, 2017.

  1. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro OC
    Hynix Single Rank it looks like. 2X8GB.

    Now I have gotten to run 2400, and even 2666, but eventually my PC hard locks when gaming, even with CPU at stock clocks. I even put the XMP2.0 settings in manually and still cant it setup up right. So right now, my cpu is stock clocks and ram is 2133. Even as is, I love my ryzen setup. Still feels better then my 3930k @ 4.1 and quad channel 1886 DDR3. Just bummed I am struggling myself with having my ryzen setup not overclocked and ram stuck at 2133. One thing I have about my board, if the ram fails, it will reset settings. If a cpu overclock fails, I have to reset the bios, which I have a do a jumper switch on a 2017 motherboard, which I have to remove my GPU for.

    You are not gonna F***ing believe this.
    I completely missed this when I bought my board.
    My ram is on the list of QVL as a 32GB kit listed, but they only used 2X8GB sticks of it to get 2933 with XMP.

    My A1 and B1 slots only do 2400 with single rank. Using A2 and B2, they go up too 2667+.
    I switched my ram to those slots, and enabled XMP 2.0 2933. CPUZ shows it running at 1463.2. So its actually at 2926. I can live with that. Now to get a nice little OC stable on my CPU with the stock cooler till I can get an AIO.

    I have 90% of a custom loop already, but feel its 100% worthless at this point to get a block for my fury, and to do a custom loop on a 1500x.
    What ever the Ryzen refresh is of the 1600x, that is what Im gonna get and Ill water cooler that. Id be tickled to death to have a 1600X refresh at least 4.2+ and my ram at 2933*.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2017
    chispy likes this.
  2. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    Yeah pay extra attention to memory slot configuration and check and double-check mobo manual. A1+B1 is very different from A2+B2, it's the same for my mobo (A2+B2 for dual DIMM / high speed).

    Nice you got it running!
     
  3. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    chispy and mikev190 like this.
  4. mikev190

    mikev190 Master Guru

    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Zotac 1080Ti AMP! Extreme

  5. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro OC

    Thank you. Thats how I figured it out, I looked at the manual, and board online on the website and it all finally just clicked. I even got it to boot at 3006 Ram speed. But it wasnt stable. I think thats my overclock on cpu. Right now settled at a simple 3617 since I am on stock cooler.
    Honestly, I have never had to worry about slot configuration before. Everything has always worked as needed. Even when I had an MSI X58 board that was known to be a picky picky board with ram.
     
  6. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    Ryzen systems seem to be extra picky with RAM, both module type and configuration. BIOS updates keep improving memory support but one needs to be careful anyway.

    The slot conf. seems to be somehow "hardwired" into mobos as every board I've seen / heard of has the same A2+B2 rule. Must be a chipset thing.
     
  7. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro OC
    Well currently have the 1500x @ 3.7 with stock cooler, prolly could go more, but its fine for now. Ram is stable at @ 2933. Tried 3060, and it rebooted while playing FH3.

    Once the 1600x refresh chip is out, Ill be one happy camper with a 240 AIO. Once I have a referance vega 56, Ill finish my custom loop and have it all under water then.
     
  8. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    137
    GPU:
    Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
    [​IMG]
     
    AsiJu and chispy like this.
  9. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
    I'm glad you got it running at that speed :) , thhat should give you a nice performance boost :)

    Thank you for the update my friend , installing it now for testing , will post feedback later today.

    @OnnA :D , full support until 2020 on AM4 for future cpus Ryzen Zen + / Ryzen 2 , etc... no need for new motherboard , only needs a bios update ! , Thanks for posting that slide bro.
     
    Agonist likes this.
  10. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    So how does it go, Ryzen 2 will be the 'Ryzen refresh' and Ryzen+ will be the next-gen CPU?
     

  11. mikev190

    mikev190 Master Guru

    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Zotac 1080Ti AMP! Extreme
    The otherway round but yes I belive. Support on AM4 till 2020
     
  12. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    With UEFI version 3008, have abandoned my 14-14-14-28-CR1 @ 1.400v timings for the Stilt's 3466 memory preset (15-15-15-35-CR1). Able to run the ram with a setting of 1.37v and upped the cpu to a 39.25 @ 100.4 BCLK (offset +.0250). All benches return better results except for latency, slower (from 64.9 to 65.6) and Corona went to 2:00 from 1:59. aside from that, cannot tell a difference.

    Under 1501, cpu @ 38.5 and 100.00 BCLK required offset of +0.03125. Got bored not tinkering with the UEFI settings. Glad I did. Next UEFI will be even better...here's to hoping.
     
    chispy likes this.
  13. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,579
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Zen 2 may support AM4, however there will be an AM4+ socket as the rumour goes to fully support the Zen 2. Zen 2 is on a much smaller process, they will probably leverage this by improving single thread performance and adding more cores. We will probably see 10 and 12 core variants. Even AMD supports the socket that long it doesn't mean board manufacturers will fully support current boards. This is particularly true if Zen+ gets new chipsets and Zen 2 the revised socket and new chipsets.
     
  14. DW75

    DW75 Master Guru

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1080
    A couple months ago I had said I got lucky with my R7 1700X, as I was achieving 3.8ghz with only 1.2V. I actually ended up having to increase voltage, as things were not 100 percent stable. I am currently at 3.8ghz with 1.25V with 100 percent stability, so I still ended up with a good chip. I am able to achieve 3.9ghz at 1.281V as well.
     
  15. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,942
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
    Finally tweaked the latest Bios for Asus CH6 , bios 3008. Great bios , boot up is way faster than the old bios i was using. No more cold boot issues. Windows and programs seems to run smoother. Performance is up in games and benchmarks using the same old settings i was using in the old bios based on the old agesa code. Only a slight performance dropped in Aida64 latency test but nothing mayor. I will keep this one until some mayor changes are done or something new comes along the way :) , happy !
     
    mikev190 likes this.

  16. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080i SC2
    Does anyone know why ASUS pulled BIOS 3203 for the Prime X370 PRO ?
    Latest BIOS available on their site is 1201.
     
  17. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    ^ If it was based off AGESA 1.0.7.2a, that version is bugged. It was hilarious, Elmor said C6H received 1071 because 1072a had a cpu ratio error (prevented the use of a custom multiplier). Then shortly Gigabyte states 1071 is too buggy so there are releasing 1072a. Shortly after release those forums start to fill up with issues regarding 1072a. ASRock similar situation regarding 1072a. Does AMD even try and help or are they just as badly in the dark.

    It literally appears to have turned into: Every board is different even though they can be the same model number from the same manufacturer. Then am reminded how Intel ran into problems when first switching to DDR4.

    EDIT: looks like everyone pulled the newer AGESA based UEFIs. Wonder what reasoning for it was.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
    chispy and Webhiker like this.
  18. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080i SC2
    Thank you for the info.
     
  19. w0nderz

    w0nderz Member Guru

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GB GTX 980 G1
    chispy likes this.
  20. DW75

    DW75 Master Guru

    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1080
    Horus-Anhur and chispy like this.

Share This Page