The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by chispy, Feb 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Yeah it is, you're profile says 8GB DDR4 @ 2133Mhz, not sure how fast it should be with that. I guess the future AGESA versions, if the above rewrite is true, will likely produce much better results. The refesh of Zen is basically just a die shrink through process update, the chip itself will probably be hardware indentical. The shrink should allow for better performance and energy use though. Because of this, the microcode should be compatible which will be good for future updates. The future Zen 2 (or whatever it will be called) is where the interesting hardware changes will occur. I suspect though for Zen refresh that they're hoping for people to be able to use RAM at their rated XMP speeds, or close to. You wouldn't want to do a complete rewrite of the memory management and major revamp of the other parts of the code only to find you aren't much better off.

    Although information leaks like this generally isn't liked much by the company that is 'victim' to the leak, AMD probably don't mind it in cases like this because it is positive news and doesn't actually give anything away other than enticing.

    Beta bioses will be very tempting, but I'd probably wait unil the final version. When there's major changes like this the risk with beta bioses is significantly greater.
     
  2. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,026
    Likes Received:
    3,259
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    I've got 78ns for 2x8GB 2940MHz CL14-15-15 1T (older AIDA, not downloaded new yet)
     
  3. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,244
    Likes Received:
    2,191
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT GamingX
    Very nice! Bring it already :D
     
  4. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,035
    Likes Received:
    110
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    Well, sounds good! I'm at 71ns at the moment but the platform can improve and mature for sure.
     

  5. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,026
    Likes Received:
    3,259
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    386SX likes this.
  6. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,026
    Likes Received:
    3,259
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    Gaming on ZEN k17 at varius Memories frequencies :D

    [​IMG]
     
  7. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    712
    GPU:
    RX 580
    I've built two Ryzen R5 1600 (B350) systems for my friends (yes, I will never buy one myself [maybe Ryzen 2] but I won't deny the benefits, hence why I picked them...) but I'm thinking of updating my friend's bios remotely and would like to know if there's any need to do that as of now? He don't want to do any overclocking (guided him through VOIP how to update his bios manually to 1.0.0.6 and set his memory to 3000mhz) everything is running flawlessly, but would there be any real world benefits from having him update to 1.0.0.7 (and waste more time) or should I just tell him to keep as is?
     
  8. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    411
    GPU:
    ZOTAC AMP RTX 3070
    AGESA 1007 is a complete rewrite from the ground up. Let it get released and see if the benefits it's supposed to deliver is actually delivered. Everybody is waiting on that new code.
     
  9. jose2016

    jose2016 Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    Aorus RX 580 8gb
    Hi.
    I have a Ryzen R5 1600, Asrock ab350m Pro4, g.skill 2x8gb 3200 (3333 1.35v cl 14).
    when I overclock the CPU to 3900-1.35v, one core stays in 1700 or so.
    Does the core need more voltage?
    or that core
    Can not it with that speed?
    I have not noticed if it does always or only sometimes.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2017
  10. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    411
    GPU:
    ZOTAC AMP RTX 3070
    ^what software is being used that shows the one core being stuck at 1.7GHz.
     

  11. jose2016

    jose2016 Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    Aorus RX 580 8gb
    AMD Ryzen master and HWInfo64.
     
  12. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    418
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    Try setting your Vcore back to stock. Leave everything else alone. If it goes back to normal then you've got the weird voltage bug. I had it on my 1600X and MSI X370 Gaming Plus. It was fixed via a beta bios sometime in July.
     
  13. motoman26

    motoman26 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    5700XT
    I just built a new system using a 1600x and a Asrock Taichi mobo.
    Don't know what's going on here but this thing won't OC.
    In fact it downclocks to 2200 according to cpuz.
    Flashed to latest bios during build.
    Anyone else run into this?
     
  14. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    411
    GPU:
    ZOTAC AMP RTX 3070
    ^ It's a bios bug that ASRock will need to sort out for that board. It was a common issue for many boards across all manufacturers (ASUS, Gigabyte, MSI, ASRock). Surprised ASRock has not fixed that issue yet.
     
    motoman26 likes this.
  15. jose2016

    jose2016 Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    Aorus RX 580 8gb
    The cpu reaches 3800 with no problems so I'll leave it like this until they fix the bug, if they correct it.
    I'm using the last bios 3.10 9/7/2017.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2017

  16. w0nderz

    w0nderz Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GB R9 390X G1
  17. jose2016

    jose2016 Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    Aorus RX 580 8gb
    HI again.
    My latest tests with the asrock ab350m pro4 board.
    Cpu 3800MHz 1.300V Ddr4-3333 1.35V - OK - 74Celsius playing
    Cpu 3900MHz 1.337V Ddr4-3200 1.35V - OK - 78Celsius playing
     
  18. w0nderz

    w0nderz Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GB R9 390X G1
    Voltage wise it seems to be good, just those temps that seems too high. You're on stock cooler, right?
     
  19. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,002
    Likes Received:
    1,245
    GPU:
    RX 6900xt / RTX3090
    Keep up the good work guys and i'm sorry i could not update this thread due to the hurricane Maria devastation of Puerto Rico where i live it was very difficult for me.

    Please guys keep posting new bios for all mobos if you find them and any tweaks you find useful , i created this thread so that we all as a community could help each other out finding new bios , tweaks , overclocking help and so on. I am using my mobile phone and i still cannot use my Ryzen PC due to lack of electricity in my house so no updates from me yet. Looking forward to keep sharing my findings as soon as the electricity grid comes back up.
     
  20. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,244
    Likes Received:
    2,191
    GPU:
    MSI 6800XT GamingX
    What memory modules do you have?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page