The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by chispy, Feb 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,523
    Likes Received:
    4,728
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
  2. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,523
    Likes Received:
    4,728
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    I have always 2 sets of BIOS setings:
    1st for Morning Post -> then 2nd with RAM OC :banana:
     
  3. ddelamare

    ddelamare Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1070 X4
  4. ddelamare

    ddelamare Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1070 X4

  5. PhantomGamers

    PhantomGamers Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1080 EVGA FTW
    This doesn't really help anything if it still shuts down based off of the tCTL temperature though. All this will do is have people complaining that their PCs are crashing when it shows 75*C
     
  6. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,383
    Likes Received:
    477
    GPU:
    6800 XT
    elmor posted these
    "
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/s4r3vt1vo4cn6gy/CROSSHAIR-VI-HERO-ASUS-0079.zip

    Still AGESA 1002. A couple of bugfixes, most importantly has the safe mode offset voltage fixed (not staying at previous value any more).

    http://www.mediafire.com/file/tvv0u2euxe30yr4/CROSSHAIR-VI-HERO-ASUS-1101.zip

    Test BIOS with new AGESA 1004a, based on 1101. Up to 5% performance increases in specific applications. Also has P-state overclocking working with BCLK increase. If you want to keep C-states, make sure to set Advanced\AMD CBS\Zen Common Options\Global C-state Control = Enabled. There are two new settings under AMD CBS\UMC Common Options\DDR4 Common Options\ you might want to take a look at, Fail_CNT and ProcODT. Fail_CNT decides how many times to retry when DRAM training fails (F9 -> 0d), default is now 1. ProcODT can help improve your DRAM overclocking, default value is 53.3 ohm. There's a setting available also on previous BIOSes under AMD CBS\UMC Common Options\DRAM Memory Mapping named BankGroupSwap. If you have 2x Single-Rank modules you can try setting this to Disabled and you might see some performance boost in certain applications."
     
  7. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,225
    Likes Received:
    2,940
    GPU:
    MSI RX6800XT G.XT.
    I see you have Asus Prime X370 motherboard, which is one I'm considering getting when upgrading (others being ASRock Killer SLI and ASRock Gaming K4).

    So I'd like to ask to verify: are you able to run your RAM at its designated speed without issues?

    There's one memory set in particular I've wishlisted, TridentZ 3000 MHz CL14.
    Confirmed as single-rank and Samsung B-die by MSI's list (posted by vase).
     
  8. PhantomGamers

    PhantomGamers Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1080 EVGA FTW
    Honestly, I'd just avoid it altogether. I had a nightmare with its RAM compatibility, having it constantly decide to switch which RAM sticks it would boot with and eventually refusing to boot from anything I put in it. If I was going to go Asus, I'd go with the Hero but then they released that one bios that fried people's boards... scary.
     
  9. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,523
    Likes Received:
    4,728
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    +1 :banana:
    This new BIOS v.1101 is for Hero VI right?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2017
  10. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,523
    Likes Received:
    4,728
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    OK im on

    Can Hit now NP 2912MHz CL14 1T but at more than 105FSB so no Gaming :3eyes:
    2800MHz CL14 1T have now 79ns (was 86ns) -> This is great for Gaming :nerd:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

  11. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX TUF 3080
    I have no problems downgrading my BIOS to older versions. Flashing from inside the BIOS.
     
  12. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,809
    Likes Received:
    489
    GPU:
    ZOTAC AMP RTX 3070
    @AsiJu: No am not. Best am comfortable with is 2933 without issue. 3200 able to boot with 1.395v but throws errors. Not willing to put 1.4v and the VDDCR Soc at .91. Both those settings register as violet. Yellow am comfortable 24/7 running.

    @Phantom: This board is picky with the ram. As far as my personal experience Corsair sailed long ago away from AMD; rightly so. GSkill has been the goto haven. Risked Corsair last year since it was on the QVL list. Could not get wife's apu stable at any voltage. Went back to GSkill. Even though the particular ram was not "approved" on their site or on the QVL, the rig became stable without needing to change anything off auto. Loved Geil but they stopped making the ram I liked. No matter what I set the timing to, within reason, those sticks just hummed along. Downside was that it made the cpu run hotter. Take it for what it is worth; just my personal experience nothing more. The better bios version is on their ROG board. This was their budget X370 board so I knew what I was getting into with it.

    Am seriously looking at Flare X since they are specifically for AMD. Also looking at getting faster ram. Some have had success using 3600 and running them at 3200.

    @Webhiker: Reason for my question was that EZ Flash reports that any bios outside of 0515 not being a proper bios file. Even used ASUS' renaming tool and that did not work. I can flash 0515 till the cows come home but any prior version throws up that not a proper bios statement. Which USB port do you have the drive hooked to when flashing or it does not matter?
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2017
  13. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,225
    Likes Received:
    2,940
    GPU:
    MSI RX6800XT G.XT.
    Thanks for the info. Tbh I'm leaning more towards ASRock's offerings either way but used Asus mobos extensively before without issues.

    Trying to figure out which one(s) would be more reliable. Also don't want to get the most expensive models from either.
     
  14. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX TUF 3080
    I'm using an old ...VERY old USB stick (Creative muvo) and it works every time in every USB slot. If I try using an USB HDD it works 1 out of 10. If I try using one of my SSD's it works sometimes, but mostly it fails stating it's not a 370 Prime BIOS.

    EDIT

    Dear ASUS
    All I want is my ram to operate at it's rated XMP profile.

    Kind regards and thank you in advance
    Webhiker :)
     
  15. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,794
    Likes Received:
    5,499
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    You have an Asus motherboard, does it have bios flashback feature? this will allow you to revert to a previous bios version, basically you put the bios file on a usb thumb drive and plug it into the bios flashback usb port, I think it should be marked green if the motherboard has bios flashback.. then with the pc turned off "but plugged into the power because it needs power lol".. you hold down the bios flashback button which if your motherboard has this feature is located on the motherboard itself, the motherboard will then read the bios from the usb thumb drive and do it's job to write it to the rom, check your motherboards user manual for "bios flashback".

    *edit*

    I checked and I cannot find any information about bios flashback for your model of motherboard, seems you can only upgrade.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2017

  16. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX TUF 3080
    According to the Asus Prime X370 Motherboard manual (page 3-31) there are 3 ways to update the BIOS.

    1: EZ Update - which is done from windows
    2: ASUS EZ Flash 3 - which is done from BIOS using a USB flash drive.
    3: ASUS Crash FREE BIOS 3 - using the support DVD or USB flash drive when the BIOS file fails or become corrupted.

    Personally I always flash the BIOS using option 2 from above. The USB stick I use is formatted using the FAT filesystem.
     
  17. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,523
    Likes Received:
    4,728
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    For Hero VI are new AGESA BIOSes 82 & 83 at 2T:

    Posted by @elmor

    There are two new settings under AMD CBS\UMC Common Options\DDR4 Common Options\ you might want to take a look at, Fail_CNT and ProcODT.

    Fail_CNT decides how many times to retry when DRAM training fails (F9 -> 0d), default is now 1.

    ProcODT can help improve your DRAM overclocking, 0079 relies on whatever Auto value AMD deems is best, 0081 has default value as 53.3 Ohm. There's a setting available also on previous BIOSes under AMD CBS\UMC Common Options\DRAM Memory Mapping named BankGroupSwap.
    If you have 2x Single-Rank modules you can try setting this to Disabled and you might see some performance boost in certain applications.
    (For my RAM better is to leave at Auto)

    Posted by pantsoftime

    For anyone unfamiliar with ODT, it's a termination setting for signal integrity purposes. It's not going to affect performance (directly) or degrade your chip but it will affect your ability to run at higher clock speeds.
    Both DRAM and DRAM controllers (IMCs) have ODT (on-die termination) resistors that are configurable to a few different settings.
    Nominal ODT values are often set based on trace impedances, but other factors often come into play. I can imagine things like: number of DIMMs installed, DIMM PCB design, VDIMM and VTT voltages, etc all having an effect on which ODT setting works best.
    I would shy away from very high settings because the signal will overshoot/ring a lot and potentially cause problems.

    My experience:
    Best for me is to leave now 2800MHz at CL14 and 1T with BIOS nb.82 :nerd:
    2800MHz CL14-14-14-14-30 1T at 60ohm's
    With BIOS 83 i can go up to 3100 CL16 2T -> it gets a little better Bandwith (+1.5GB to 2GB/s) but Latency is Higher (~ -3 to -6ns) (i like Latency more)
    Generally best is to have RAMs produced ~2015 and The Best ones are from 2016 + at low CL (e.g. 3000 CL14, 3200CL14, 3600 CL16/15 etc.)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2017
  18. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,476
    Likes Received:
    1,864
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 4090
    I have just updated to the new Agesa microcode 1004a Beta Bios 0079 from Elmor ( Asus R&D )
    http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=167530 , ohh my :D what a big difference have this made to my system overall stability , responsiveness and performance.

    Now my PC does not have to go thru extensive memory training at DDR4-3200 before it finally loads windows ( used to take up to 5 minutes just to boot and get into windows before with old Agesa Microcode and Bios ). New Agesa it has speed up my boot times by 10x fold and it only takes my pc 5 seconds to get into windows from a cold boot in the morning :eek: ( No more memory training ) , that's fast , very fast indeed.

    Overall performance went up as well , memory read / write / latency did improved by a good margin. Windows does feels snappy and faster and it's not placebo effect. Overall i will advise everyone to jump on the new beta bios with the new Agesa Microcode for your motherboard as it does in fact improve performance / Stability and Responsiveness by a lot.

    Bare in mind this are all Beta bios with April Agesa microcode 1004a. In may there will be a much more mature new AMD Agesa microcode that will be geared towards Performance Improvements/Memory Overclocking & Compatibility with Higher DDR4 Ram speeds supported and Stability. All in all things are looking great for the future of our Ryzen systems.

    Please check your motherboard support webpage and see if there has been posted a new Bios based on the new Agesa microcode and update asap. I'm so happy today , lots of progress at a very fast pace !

    Regards: Chispy
     
  19. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    257
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX TUF 3080
    Good for you. But nothing for PRIME X-370 PRO yet!
     
  20. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,476
    Likes Received:
    1,864
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 4090
    Keep checking everyday i know for sure your Bios it's coming very soon.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page