1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by chispy, Feb 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Member Guru

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    I only used the 1.0 bios for a few days, but from what I can tell the interface and options are pretty much the same. Probably it's more of a stability difference. I was able to get 2933mhz on my memory, even with 1.0 bios.

    I remember that using the default voltage I could not got pass 3650mzh on all cores on my 1700, with the 1.0 bios. After 1.15 beta I could do 3700mhz on all cores.
     
  2. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,726
    Likes Received:
    69
    GPU:
    Vega 64 1500/1075
    Welp. Gotta buy new sticks of ram later on for sure
     
  3. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,650
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    I don't see the beta bios' listed for you board, maybe they have been pulled.

    Did you try the bios recovery procedure? https://service.msicomputer.com/msi_user/support/techfaqdetail.aspx?formid=3046
     
  4. FlowLive

    FlowLive Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX480 8GB
    What did you do? Hehe sounds pretty messed up, how do you get a corrupted os by tweaking your ram?
     

  5. FlowLive

    FlowLive Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX480 8GB
    Okay I've been searching quite a bit now and it seems information regarding B-die single rank memory is quite hard to find. Since I already purchased 2 sets of Corsair Vengeance LED (will only use one, bought a second one cause it was cheaper on Newegg's ebay store and they won't pricematch it..) and I had read a review saying these we're Samsung's B-die single rank...

    Well, on Corsair's own forum there are stickies for DDR1-2-3 IC's but none for DDR4 and one post asking why, simple answer was there will not be any. :(

    So people suggest instead to look for a rev 4.31 kit which uses those. A Google search brought me to a russian page which once translated is quite fascinating!
    https://translate.google.ca/translate?hl=en&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2Fsoftnology.biz%2Fddr4_vengeance_led.html

    Code:
    --------------------------------------	3.20 	SpecTek, A-die, 4Gb
    CMU16GX4M2A2666C16 / 2x8GB 16-18-18-35 	3.21 	SpecTek, B-die, 4Gb
    CMU64GX4M4A2666C16 / 4x16GB 16-18-18-36 3.31 	Micron, B-die, 8Gb
    --------------------------------------	4.23 	SEC, D-die, 4Gb
    --------------------------------------	4.24 	SEC, E-die, 4Gb
    CMU32GX4M4C3200C16 / 4x8GB 16-18-18-36 	4.31 	SEC, B-die, 8Gb
    CMU16GX4M2C3000C15 / 2x8GB 15-17-17-35 	5.20 	SK hynix, A-die, 4Gb
    --------------------------------------	5.29 	SK hynix, M-die, 4Gb
    CMU64GX4M4C3000C15 / 4x16GB 15-17-17-35 5.39 	SK hynix, M-die, 8Gb
    :confused:
    So I received a kit ver 5.39 (SK hynix,M-die) and the other 4.24(SEC,E-die)
    How the heck am I supposed to understand this?
    Anyone could shed some light? Is SEC E-die any good? SR or DR?
    It could help others as well deciding on a purchase even if bought online without opening the package at least we could know what all those revisions actually are...

    BTW the article is a quite interesting read, which at the same time makes me realize Corsair is not what it used to be!
     
  6. Kohlendioxidus

    Kohlendioxidus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56 Pu
    Thanks man for the head's up, but I already send it today back. I did not knew about that option did not try it cannot say would have been successful or not:bang::bang:. This is my first MSI board and had no idea something like this exist, but I learned now. Saved the link in case something like this happens again!
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2017
  7. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,759
    Likes Received:
    888
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    *** Updates for today March 25 , 2017 ***



    Completed the memory overclocking guide in page 1 with a lot of useful information , if you need a head star into memory overclocking i highly recommend you go read it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2017
  8. xafier

    xafier Master Guru

    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 290
    Just reporting in on my tinkering today,

    1700X @ 3.9Ghz on Asrock Taichi, offset voltage 7500 ends up as 1.376v under load (LLC set to Auto)
    2x16Gb @ 2933 18-20-20-40 1.375v SOC 1.1v

    Had a bit of struggle trying to hit 4.0Ghz stable so given that up for now and was working on RAM speeds, currently 2933CL18 is my limit with this 2x16Gb 3200CL16 kit. Not sure what the max safe SOC voltage is, pumping it to 1.1v from 0.9v helped a lot, I think I've seen people at 1.2v but not sure if that's safe for 24/7 usage?

    http://valid.x86.fr/0z7ely
     
  9. PhantomGamers

    PhantomGamers Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1080 EVGA FTW
    Does anyone know what the AM4 Advance Boot Training option in the ASRock bios does? For me it has the options "Auto" (which is the default), and "Disabled," with no indication of what effect it has.

    It's close with the dram setting so I wonder if this has anything to do with my struggle of booting my RAM at higher frequencies even with the timings turned up.

    Out of curiosity, was it actually unstable at 4GHz or was it hitting the 95*C temp limit?
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2017
  10. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,302
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Better to try Tightened CL with 1T at 2800MHz (105 FSB now BLCK from 2666)
    And then try reaching 4GHz (my Bet is RAM not CPU)

    :backfire:
     

  11. Bentez

    Bentez Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080Ti
    I can't wait for my parts to arrive next week. Still need to find some G.skill Flare X 3200MHz RAM though
     
  12. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,302
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Pick 2x RAMs with 3200 CL14 or 3400 CL14 or 3600 CL14
    2x8GB and 2x16GB will work, those are Sam. B-Die

    Mine is Samsung also but not B-die, im happy with 2800MHz CL14-13-13 30 1T
     
  13. FlowLive

    FlowLive Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX480 8GB
    I got some E-die wonder if I should try to get something else...
    I do have 30 days to return. Is that what you have OnnA?
    I read they are ok, not as good as B-die but should perform well still?

    Really wonder if I should keep my eyes open or for the Asrock Gaming K4 or go with the Gigabyte Gaming 7 with BCLK... without BCLK how hard would it be to clock 4.0Ghz on 1700 and possibly some crazy ram speed?

    Pretty sure I will go with NZXT X62 for water cooling, has anyone tried it?
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2017
  14. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080 TI
    @onna: why would it need to be C14, or are those the only ones with B-die around?
     
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,302
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    I really don't know :)
    But it's working, and it's Fast and i have low latency thanks to that settings = :banana:
     

  16. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080 TI
    I'm asking because C14, 3200, is 50% more expensive than C16, 3200 (for 32G, that is).
     
  17. Kohlendioxidus

    Kohlendioxidus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56 Pu
    well I need to quote me and inform others. Looks like the reason for the so-called BIOS BRICK-ING is actually not the update itself or the process going wrong but an error on the 1.32 beta bios. Looks like if you have a PCI (native) card sticked into the slot, after bios update to 1.32 beta there will be no POST! If you remove the PCI card it will POST normally but if you stick it back will not POST anymore! Just in case you have this board and PCI cards (for me this beeing the reason I bought it) and need to update bios, looks like is not always bricked when looks like it and not other standard apporaches gives results!
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2017
  18. Kohlendioxidus

    Kohlendioxidus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56 Pu
    damn just checked, my new MSI B350 Tomahawk is already on its way to me. The old one (sent on saturday) is still on it's way to the vendor (now monday). This is what I call SERVICE and SUPPORT :nerd::nerd::nerd:. These guys know how is to be left without your RYZEN :bang::bang::bang: so early....
     
  19. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    Finally was able to put everything together and plugged it in for the first time last night. Right out of the gate with no effort, got this GSkill kit F4-3200C14D-16GTZ running at 2933 (14-14-14-34) no effort. Using DOCP, 3200 would not post. Going to try using the ram oc guide to see if can get 3200 working.

    EDIT: Settings are not granular enough to get the ram working at 3200 with the 0511 bios. Side note, the XFR boosts the chip on its own to 3.9 (all on air currently). Do not know how much to trust HWMonitor. States that the bios was pumping 1.550 to the cpu. Also hottest gaming session in Metro2033 hit 56C. Not sure about the reading at all. Love the fan controls in the bios.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2017
  20. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    193
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page