The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by chispy, Feb 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,907
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Don't worry too much, until May we will have our RAMs Up & Running at Target speed NP

    Now set: 105 FSB from 2666 up to 2800MHz CL14 1T

    Man it's fast as helllll
     
  2. blake86

    blake86 Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    4gb dd2 geil
    if you say so... I really hope this is a BIOS problem instead of a limit of the cpu
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  3. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,907
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  4. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    895
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Sadly i do not have a 16x2GB kit to test for overclocking. You might have to wait for some of the guys here that run such configuration to give you an inside on that. Also bare in mind that AMD just gave an updated Agesa microcode to the motherboard vendors with new parameters for memory compatibility , overclocking , speeds and timings , that's great news meaning the next Bios updates from motherboard vendors will include this new microcode , thus enhancing memory compatibility. Keep checking this thread regularly for an update.



    It is indeed a Bios limitation at this moment , but that will change very soon with the new agesa microcode from AMD :)

    Awesome news there OnnA :D , that's what i like to see , the best outcome for everybody's hardware is hands on testing and tweaking for better performance.

    Gurus Keep on testing and posting , sharing your findings and results guys , it might be helpful for the new guy who just bought a Ryzen AM4 set up as this is a thread based on your feedback and own findings. Thank you everyone that has helped and contribute to this thread with their findings and testing. Keep on rocking those Ryzen systems !

    Regards: Chispy
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017

  5. Kohlendioxidus

    Kohlendioxidus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56 Pu
    Bingo Bongo :banana::banana::banana:,

    looks like MSI B350 Tomahawk already received a beta bios 1.32 with Agesa code upgraded and A-XMP looks to be up and running!!

    Download Link

    01. Update ObmSpec_Gb011_023.
    01. Update Golden_Board to GoldenBoard_Crb010_011(SummitPI 1.0.0.3)
    02. Add AM4 summit BIOS POST time improve Patch.
    03. Adjust PT USB OC PCIe port scan.
    04. Disable SPD OPT to patch SPD read optimal issue
    05. Add a AMD Patch fix Bristol would hang 0xA132 when S3 resume to OS and then do Capsule flash.
    06. Import SummitPI-AM4_1.0.0.4_RC1 Patch from AMD.(SummitPI 1.0.0.4 RC1)
    07. Adjust SMIOVT shut down function, also setting SMIOVT1.
    08. Disable CPU PCIe ASPM(CpmTable).
    09. Fix PS/2 Keyboard no function.
    10. Removed AMI ROM layout Modification.
    11. Disable Game Boost Button when using Bristol CPU.
    12. Fix COM port Mouse 0x2E8.
    13. Add patch that UEFI USB CDROM can't be found under RAID mode.
    14. Fix sometimes the monitor can't light.
    15. Update MsiOcSummit to MsiOcSummit_032
    1.Fix saved config change set voltage function.
    2.Patch memory Geil GEXW416GB3200C16DC.
    3.Fix 7A31 S3 resume fail.
    4.Add A-XMP profile 2 function.
    5.Patch memory Geil GEXW416GB3200C16DC.

    I'll test it in the weekend to se what's up! If somebody do it before please post our findings!!!:3eyes::3eyes::3eyes::3eyes:
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  6. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,776
    Likes Received:
    110
    GPU:
    5700 XT UV 1950~
    http://valid.x86.fr/gwqqk6

    Best that I got to windows with was 4.1ghz all cores and 2933mhz. But not stable enough. Meh.

    This will do.
     
  7. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    262
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    ASUS updated bios for Prime X370-Pro: 0511 (03/23/2017)
     
  8. Kohlendioxidus

    Kohlendioxidus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56 Pu
    yeah party hard....I updated my MSI B350 Tomahawk with 1.32 beta bios and it BRICKED the board. It went to 100% and never returned back to life:puke2::puke2::puke2::puke2::puke2:!!

    The update from version 1.0 to 1.15 went smooth, but the second one catastrophic failure. I do not know why but I do believe is the bios. I followed the same steps as MSI say and identic with the first bios update that was OK.

    I'll send it back for RMA tomorrow!!!
     
  9. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,648
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Go to a single stick of RAM, and manually clear the CMOS, including disconnecting the power when using the jumper then see what happens.
     
  10. nesty

    nesty New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 470 Nitro+ 4G
    have you tried recovering it ? forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=269702.0 or is it not powering up at all ?

    btw..
    new in 1.32
    2s post
    finally got my CMK16GX4M2B3000C15 at least to 2667 cl14
    processor ODT
    bclk adjustment and spread spectrum
    IOMMU on/off switch
    some memory presets

    actually, at least according to msi, you need to have power cord plugged in /S5/ on am4 boards to succesfully clear cmos ...
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017

  11. Kohlendioxidus

    Kohlendioxidus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56 Pu
    did that with and without the power cord no effect. It just spin all fans and looks like it finds the keyboard and that's it....black screen endless!
     
  12. Kohlendioxidus

    Kohlendioxidus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56 Pu
    I did not tried the msi forum solution as I belive is in vain. There is NO post. After some time waiting, the cpu and ram led get lit and stay like that. After I remove 1 piece of RAM all led's are not lit but after a while the CPU led is on, RAM led not. The bios update went to 100% and reboot by itself and after reboot is like in an endless loop! The board is back in the box and it will get send back for replacement tomorrow!
     
  13. nesty

    nesty New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 470 Nitro+ 4G
    it is supposed to work when there is no post :)
     
  14. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Just tried the 1.32 bios on my MSI tomahawk and it was really bad.
    It broke memory compatibility on my system. With all beta bios up to 1.31, I could run my memory at 2933mzh. But with the 1.32 bios I could only post at 2133mhz.
    No matter what settings I used, it just would not post.

    So I had to downgrade. Right now, I'm trying the official 1.10 version.
     
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,907
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Here -> http://valid.x86.fr/y1ks1g

    V 1.286v up to 1.330v when Gaming :)

    :thumbup::banana::banana::banana: Darn IM so HAPPY :banana::banana::banana::banana::thumbup:
     

  16. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,907
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    RYZEN + 3600MHZ RAM - closing the 7700K gap in gaming?

    I have to say, that im more like AMD CPU eater :grad: :book:
    And this is something that i know (same goes for PhenomII x6 and FX 8350 + NB 2800MHz with >2000MHz CL1 RAM)
    And this is the same scenario in Gaming for ZEN k17 uArch :banana:
    AMD CPUs likes: Low CL + 1T and of course Grand MHz ! 3000MHz and more !

     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2017
  17. Kohlendioxidus

    Kohlendioxidus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56 Pu
    after RMA my mobo I'm done with this beta bios crap. It's a damn lottery all the way. Now I'm stick with a stone age laptop the entire weekend:bang::bang::bang::bang::bang:.

    Was your update to 1.1 ok? What is changed in it compared with version 1? I'm shore the RMA will come with version 1 again!

    where I connect the bios speaker on the mobo?
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2017
  18. sverek

    sverek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,457
    Likes Received:
    2,325
    GPU:
    NOVIDIA -0.5GB
    Ryzen is still Ryzing. Tests after addressing some DRAM issues.

    all results:
    [​IMG]

    source:
     
  19. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    I only used the 1.0 bios for a few days, but from what I can tell the interface and options are pretty much the same. Probably it's more of a stability difference. I was able to get 2933mhz on my memory, even with 1.0 bios.

    I remember that using the default voltage I could not got pass 3650mzh on all cores on my 1700, with the 1.0 bios. After 1.15 beta I could do 3700mhz on all cores.
     
  20. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,776
    Likes Received:
    110
    GPU:
    5700 XT UV 1950~
    Welp. Gotta buy new sticks of ram later on for sure
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page