The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by chispy, Feb 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. okismoki

    okismoki Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Evga 1080ti FTW 3
    mine came with the 0504
     
  2. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,862
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080 TI
    Regarding cooling, I have a question or two to those who're already running their systems.

    I've been using a Prolimatech Megahalems/SuperMega for the last couple of years, which has always served me well. The problem is that they've always been kind of "Intel"-heavy, and there still isn't a proper retention system available for AM4.
    Now, I do have all the parts for a custom watercooling loop lying around here.
    But: I'm hesistant to use them.
    Why? Because I never liked the noise of the pump. No matter how you turn it, the pump makes watercooling noisier than air at idle conditions.
    Do these CPUs really benefit from the additional cooling? I haven't seen that in years, to be honest. On the other hand, all my AMD CPUs were at least watercooled...

    Any example, like temperatures, voltage and speed benefits, or even fan rpm benefits would be great.

    PS: I've done enough AIO comparisons to regular heatsinks that I'd never go near any of those. With the same amount of air, they aren't any better than a good heatsink and their pump noise was always much worse than a "real" pump from a custom loop.
     
  3. xafier

    xafier Master Guru

    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 290
    Got my 1700X up and running on my Asrock Taichi, RAM currently running at 2666mhz. I did try 3200mhz but it just got stuck in a bit of a boot loop spinning the fans up and down, eventually booted to windows after scaring me half to death thinking I'd killed it, but the RAM speed had gone back to 2133mhz default.

    Will try a bit more tweaking and some overclocking at the weekend, think I may struggle running this 2x16GB kit at full speed until we have some more BIOS and microcode updates.

    Also noticed with HWinfo that it's peaked at 3.9Ghz on one core with XFR which is pretty cool also seen all core boost of 3.5Ghz
     
  4. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,666
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Ek & Nepton 280L

    http://www.frostytech.com/top5_liquid_heatsinks.cfm
     

  5. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080i SC2
    New ASUS Prime X370 PRO BIOS is out. Sadly no mention on memory compatibility. Flashing now.

    PRIME X370-PRO BIOS 0511
    1.Improve system performance.
    2.Make CPU temperature more precise
     
  6. Elder III

    Elder III Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,587
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    Both Red and Green
    There is a new HWInfo Beta that has more improvements and motherboard specific sensor fixes etc. It now shows the correct CPU temperature and the Tctl offset for my motherboard for example.

    https://www.hwinfo.com/download.php

    (beta link is under the main one)
     
  7. w0nderz

    w0nderz Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GB R9 390X G1
    I had to lower my memory speed to 2133MHz from 2666MHz and even loose the timmings a bit with the new 0511 BIOS, otherwise it wouldn't boot. Other than that, there's a lot of new options in BIOS.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  8. PhantomGamers

    PhantomGamers Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1080 EVGA FTW
    Could you post a picture of the cpu temp and tctl offset?

    Doesn't seem to support my motherboard but maybe I'm just missing something

    Try 2400, I had problems with 2666 on the latest bios for my board as well but 2400 is perfectly stable under the xmp mode for my 3200 ram.
     
  9. ddelamare

    ddelamare Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1070 X4
    Any update Webhiker? :)
     
  10. Elder III

    Elder III Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,587
    Likes Received:
    194
    GPU:
    Both Red and Green
    Here's a screenshot from when it was under load in a cpu heavy game.

    [​IMG]
     

  11. PhantomGamers

    PhantomGamers Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1080 EVGA FTW
    Ah OK, yeah mine does the same then, but my TCTL vs CPU temps are still higher than the 20*C offset that we're supposed to be seeing for me hmm
     
  12. Kanuki

    Kanuki Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
    Guys... Do you plug the extra 4 pin on your motherboard?
     
  13. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    893
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Yes , it is recommended if you are overclocking , it helps stability wise at high cpu clocks.
     
  14. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,666
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Here have a cookie :)

    4GHz and my new 4.2GHz will need to wait for 3200/3300MHz RAM
    No need for 4GHz, everything i do 3.89Ghz is Enough (1.286v lol and ~28deg.cels)

    -> http://valid.x86.fr/j8pe31

    Now i have 3 BIOSes:

    Standard ~3.89GHz
    High Gaming ~4.02GHz
    And MAX OC ~4.19GHz
     
  15. Kanuki

    Kanuki Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X OC
    I read somewhere in Overclock.net that some people overclocking
    became unstable when they plugged this extra 4 pin.

    P.S. Sadly F4-3200C14D is not available in ASEAN and
    F4-3200C15D is experiencing shortage. T_T
     

  16. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    893
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    *** Updates for today: Finished part 1 of 2 of the memory overclocking guide on the first page. ( Part #1 is for Samsung B-die Single Rank 2x8GB memory kits and Part # 2 will be for SK Hynix Dual Rank 2x8GB memory kits )
     
  17. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,666
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    He He :)

    Now i have 2800MHz CL14 14-14-34 1T !
    It's solid rock stable, Played R6 Siedge & NP :banana:

    Here the cookie ;)
    -> http://valid.x86.fr/gp3pf3
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  18. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080i SC2
    [​IMG]

    The only difference I can see in this BIOS, is the Performance bias option.
    Still running my ram at 2933 MHz with 18-18-18-18-42 timings. I can also run with the D.O.C.P option, but then ram needs to run at 2400 MHz.
    Which is slower than 2933 MHz at 18-42.
    BIOS CPU temp is still to high, but in windows it's much lower now.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  19. ddelamare

    ddelamare Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1070 X4
    Excellent, thanks for replying. I'm always amazed about the poor change-logs and undocumented features in said change log lol

    I'll give this a whirl tonight and see if it makes any difference with 4 banks populated and slightly faster ram speeds.

    Cheers :)
     
  20. blake86

    blake86 Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    4gb dd2 geil
    what about 16 x 2 kit? i bought a trident z 3200 cas 15 16x2 GB time ago at a good price, but now i'm realy scared to encounter problems and headache whit a rizen cpu. I m not able to find a motherboard that support 16 x 2 gb module, sounds allucinating to me.
    I alwais bealived that papulate 2 dimm instead of 4 was better for stability and OC potential
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page