The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling Part 2

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,140
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    IMO it's the 'nature' of 7nm Zen2
    I have Idle at ~34-37deg. also.
    When Playing games at 4.3GHz 1.33v (4xCCX) it not reach 69deg.
    on 4.2GHz at 1.21v it's at ~60deg. (When in BFV Multi).
    So it's fine by my book.

    Note:
    33-40% Fan on AIO -> Yes it's quiet.
     
  2. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,031
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Default voltage is the most safe voltage.No one can tell you what a safe voltage really is but they can recommend voltages that they read on the internet of what's safe.Every CPU is different and I would trust the AMD engineers over anyone on the internet.

    Now I can tell you I have had Intel machines over recommended voltage for almost 10 years and the CPU works fine and so will AMD CPU.Can either one fail/degrade, yes of course they can.So pick a voltage and a CPU clock and try it out and see if it works.

    You do not need higher CPU clocks than what you have now,you just want higher CPU clocks and 2700 out of the box has a boost clock of 4100Mhz.

    You did not list what you tried ,or your gear so you can try stuff like I did on 2600X and see if you get the results you want.


    AMD 2600X 4300 Mhz Stability Encode Test with new X470 BIOS-Set CPU Ratio in BIOS ,everything else auto and let CPU adjust voltages for you


    2600X All Core Overclock Blender BMW Render-Fixed CPU voltage and CPU Ratio

    AMD RYZEN 5 2600X 6-Core undervolt CPU 1.300 mV best results XFR/Boost 4250 Mhz-BIOS all auto except CPU voltage 1.3v and let CPU do it's thing

    2600X 1.175mv 4000Mhz-CPU ratio 40 and CPU voltage 1.175v

    Ryzen 2600X 4400Mhz Default BIOS Voltage-All voltage shown with CPU ratio change

    How To Overclock 2600X-With all setting in MSI BIOS shown and download for all setting


    2600X GTA 5 Mods Messing Around-3 hour stream average clocks say 4200Mhz just letting the CPU do it's thing with fixed voltage in BIOS
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  3. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,031
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Memory guys-go spend some cash
    4x4GB vs. 2x8GB, Intel & AMD Dual-Channel Gaming Benchmark
     
    Evildead666 and OnnA like this.
  4. Mr. Sunshine

    Mr. Sunshine Member Guru

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    SapphireNitro V64
    Tweak settings. Most I can get out of this 3700X without OCing.
    [​IMG]
     

  5. Pandora's Box

    Pandora's Box Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti XCUltra
    Replaced my Corsair H150i with a Noctua NH-D15. Pump was starting to make a weird noise and I wanted to get more airflow over the VRM's and memory. Replaced the case fans that came with my Fractal Design R6.

    Before / After temps using AIDA64 stress test:
    CPU (Tctl/tdie) - 88.5C / 80.3C
    CPU Die (Average) - 81.2C / 77.5C
    CCD1 - 89C / 80.3
    CCD2 - 83.3C - 80.8C
    Motherboard - 44C / 38C
    CPU - 88.9C / 80.4C
    VRM - 54C / 45C
    Voltage Regulator Loop 1 - 61C / 51C
    Voltage Regulator Loop 2 - 54C / 48C
    DIM 0 - 50.5C / 42C
    DIM 1 - 48.8C / 41.8C
    NVME SSD (Idle) 41C / 35C
    2080 Ti - 67C / 62C

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2020
    jura11, CyberSparky and Mr. Sunshine like this.
  6. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    181
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I didn’t realize that cooler was that large
     
  7. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,031
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Testing some FCLK overclock for stability.For anyone interested.

    DDR4 CL16 3866Mhz Single Rank RAM
    1933Mhz Fabric clock (FCLK)
    1933Mhz Memory Controller(UCLK=MEMCLK)

    Tested for about 3 hours ,best I seen on latency was 60.6ns/60.7ns but consistent readings was 61ns on latency.

    [​IMG]

    ♦ CPU - AMD 3800X With MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    ♦ GPU - Nvidia RTX 2080
    ♦ RAM - G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4(F4-4000C18D-16GTZ) (2x8)
    ♦ Mobo - MSI X470 - Gaming Plus(E7B79AMS.AA0-AMD ComboPI1.0.0.4b)
    ♦ SSD - NVME SSD Intel 512GB
    ♦ DSP - LG 27" 4K UHD 5ms GTG IPS LED FreeSync Gaming Monitor (27UD59P-B.AUS) - Black
    ♦ PSU - Antec High Current Pro 1200W
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2020
    Mr. Sunshine and Evildead666 like this.
  8. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    Nice numbers and latency, cool.
     
  9. CyberSparky

    CyberSparky Active Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    40
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 Super
    Curious thought, are all of your fans arranged to blow outwards or are my eyes deceiving me? If so you would probably get a little better temps with the front or top working as an intake. Just a thought. Love the setup though. I've been eyeballing that cooler for my son's rig with a 3600x.
     
  10. Pandora's Box

    Pandora's Box Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti XCUltra
    Lol - So I realized that after putting everything together. I changed the intake fans around so they were blowing in and not exhausting out. I just didnt retake the picture.
     
    Evildead666 and CyberSparky like this.

  11. Mr. Sunshine

    Mr. Sunshine Member Guru

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    SapphireNitro V64
    As always impressive!
     
  12. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,031
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Just messing around,the Ryzen CPU's are good.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
    Mr. Sunshine likes this.
  13. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,140
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Everything below 65ns is great ;) (Best on my stick is 63.2ns )
    3733, 3800MHz is Best case scenario.

    Note:
    The Best for gaming is to have all at good spot: Latency <=65ns + High Copy/Write/Read.
    All counts towards best gaming experience IMhO.

    3800Mhz CL16/14 or if You can 3866Mhz at FLCK 1933 :p

    Note 2:
    For gaming is best to have ->

    Bank Group Swap: Disabled
    Band Group Swap Alt: Enabled
    Power Down Mode: Disabled

    You will loose some Latency score in AIDA, but You will have better Gaming Performance across the board - According to AMD.com
    I have like this & Gaming is Great.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
  14. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,031
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Yes I agree below 65ns is good on Ryzen CPU'S ,when lets say PC gaming at lower resolutions on the best CPU and GPU's out there.If you have mid tier gear that is a different story.The only reason I am posting this again is because ,if someone wants to save a couple bucks on ram ,has some knowledge on ram timings ,they could put extra money towards GPU.

    Tight RAM timings is the way to go for gaming when using higher resolutions like 2560x1440 and above .Latency does not matter in 99% of games.
    The reason why I say this is because I tested the crap out of the Latency thing on higher resolutions.For those people who never seen one of these test with tight timings ,check spoiler for all timings and latency and Games tested .It is just my opinion on the ram timings for anyone interested.
    Test were not done on the best CPU or GPU at the time the test were completed.

    ♦ 2133Mhz (16GB)CL10-10-10-10-21-Lantency 93.8ns
    ♦ 2400mhz (16GB)CL10-11-11-11-21-Lantency 87.4ns
    ♦ 2933mhz (16GB)CL12-14-13-13-26-Lantency 75.3ns
    ♦ 3200mhz (16GB)CL14-14-14-14-28-Lantency 71.0ns
    ♦ 3733mhz (16GB)CL16-17-16-16-34-Lantency 64.9ns
    ♦ 4000mhz (16GB)CL16-18-17-17-36 -(memory clock 2000x2/fabric clock 1800x2/memory controller 1000x2)-Lantency 74.9ns
    ♦ 4200mhz (16GB)CL16-18-17-17-36 -(memory clock 2100x2/fabric clock 1800x2/memory controller 1050x2)-Lantency 73.1ns
    [​IMG]Memory-Chart by gerard fraser, on Flickr

    2133
    [​IMG]2133 by gerard fraser, on Flickr
    2400
    [​IMG]2400 by gerard fraser, on Flickr
    2933
    [​IMG]2933 by gerard fraser, on Flickr
    3200
    [​IMG]3200 by gerard fraser, on Flickr
    3733
    [​IMG]3733 by gerard fraser, on Flickr
    4000
    [​IMG]4000 by gerard fraser, on Flickr
    4200
    [​IMG]4200 by gerard fraser, on Flickr
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
    OnnA likes this.
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,140
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD

  16. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,971
    Likes Received:
    1,894
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Looks like at least for Gigabyte the motherboards are now using newer revisions updating it from 1.0 to 1.x
    https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/AMD-X570

    End of December my own board is a 1.0 revision with the only flaw being a incredibly out of date bios from the early weeks of June coming in at F2 instead of the website listing of F4 as the earliest still worked but once I flashed it and the entire interface changed it kinda made it clear that yeah that was a old one. :p
    (Bit more thought to it and I should have backed it up for fun and interest first but yeah it had to get updated.)

    Then again my own experience tends to be that orders are kinda packed from the earliest stock first though that also avoids certain revision surprises. :D

    [​IMG]

    Might be less common nowadays though, or maybe not.
    Well whenever some 1.01 or 1.1 hardware is actually photoed a comparison should clear that up.
    (Kinda, lots of cover on these boards nowadays so some of the bits might be under that.)


    EDIT: Oh yeah taken from AMD's Reddit as I was looking to see if there were any fun news.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/ep6o9t/amd_x570_some_am4_motherboards_are_now_revision_1x/

    (Bit biased - oh really? :p - but the news can be good even if the discussion can be all over the place for said news in the resulting replies to said news or other topics.)



    EDIT: So in short it could go either way, OC wise if these are stripped down or how to call it then yeah results might now be worse but if they're improved in some way it could be better.

    Won't really know until there's actually some confirmation on what got changed.
    Could even be that it's now shipping without mysterious ancient base bios version. :p

    Well it's probably a bit more than just that though it'd be a improvement without any immediate drawbacks if the initial stock is now kinda cleared and the newly built models have something newer from the start.
    (Especially the AMD specific firmware bits like AGESA and such from 1.0.0.2 to 1.0.0.4)


    But then even the "Extreme" (Extreme cost!) edition got the 1.x and it'd be pretty funny if they made something like that worse when it's like 2x the cost of the "Master" which is already fairly up there cost wise for these boards and competing models from IE MSI and other manufacturers.


    EDIT: Ah there actually is a F12 beta bios.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/ep1eof/new_gigabyte_x570_beta_bios_f12a/

    https://forums.tweaktown.com/gigabyte/28441-gigabyte-beta-bios-post267527.html#post267527
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
  17. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,031
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    So I was playing around with some BCLK clocking and seeing what boost clock my 3800X can get,so far over 4700Mhz on some cores.
    [​IMG]3800x Boost by gerard fraser, on Flickr
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
    jura11 and OnnA like this.
  18. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    181
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I just got my X570 board. In a debate with myself if I should reinstall windows or not booted right up no problems.
     
  19. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,031
    Likes Received:
    597
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Takes 10 minutes to reinstall windows 10 on a NVME/SSD and if you have games on other drives,why not do reinstall. Although it will still work without reinstall fine.
     
  20. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,140
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Webhiker and Evildead666 like this.

Share This Page