The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling Part 2

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    I ended up getting a 2x16gb kit of C18 Gskill 3600 and I’m quite happy with it. Have it running at 3733 at C16. I can get it to boot at 3800 even but I think it needs a bit more voltage and my low end B450 board only goes up to 1.4. I’m still quite pleased with it being that my board cost half the price of my ram.
     
  2. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,661
    Likes Received:
    2,012
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
     
    K.S. likes this.
  3. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    240
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    I have finished for now.
    Added an Asus Xonar AE soundcard and a 10G network card.
    Only be able to test the 10G when the Nas migrates.
    Also the EK Velocity WB, and VRM backplates.

    Running Heaven on a loop for test.

    edit : Its so much of a F-ing hassle to empty and then fill the loop again...
    I had originally used an really old bottle of Liquid, bought in 2013, and it ate the plastic from my bubble foam, and sent it thru the system.
    Blue plastic bits everywhere.
    The pump seems to have survived, a laing DDC, and I had to flush everything.
    Took the EK Supremacy block apart to clean it with a toothbrush.
    The GPU block isn't as dense, and it flushed OK.
    7 hours last saturday basically until it was back up and running.

    Don't use (super) old Coolant ;)


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2019
  4. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    ^ Ya I just use distilled water myself I don't have a bling PC so but I do add drops and coil .. Glad your up and running.
     

  5. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    Glad you figured out what was up .... Peace
     
  6. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    240
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    Its not Bling per se, the only lights are from the GPU at full load, and the mobo, that helps look for leaks in the dark.
    I'm surprised at what the water did, it was just a pre-mix, but obviously went bad.
     
  7. K.S.

    K.S. Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    368
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 GAMING OC
    Update - 3700X stopped exceeding 95C in AIDA (latest updated version of AIDA) - following information from Reddit & discussions with @Only Intruder

    Stress test is GPU/CPU/Cache/FPU/Memory; MiniITX case/ motherboard. ASUS ROG Strix B450-I. Boost functions. System is stable. No overheating.
    240MM AIO. I have a Corsair 240MM H100i & one Cooler Master MasterLiquid Lite 240. Both are close; the H100i better. Below is from the ML Lite 240, push/pull.
    • Enermax silent profile fans were replaced with CM Maglev (ML) SP 120MM fans x4 on the radiator
    • x2 Enermax UCSQARGB12P-SG fans were used for airflow / case fans
    • Voltage dampeners were applied to the CM ML fans - fan profiles off
    • Core Performance Boost - Enabled
    • Precision Boost Overdrive - Enabled / Auto / 85C
    • Vcore - Adaptive / - / 0.100v
    • D.O.C.P. - Enabled
    [​IMG]
     
  8. 386SX

    386SX Master Guru

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    571
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    tbh., this wasn't possible before:

    [​IMG]

    Running at 14-13-14-13 right now. A bit unstable, but I am still fiddling with the values. CADBUS all 20's didn't post. All 24 did post. ProcODT at 53.3, 60 throws errors right away. Seems like I need more voltage? Atm. 1.365V on RAM and 1.025V on SOC.

    Any recommendations? Games quit after some time ...

    EDIT: Back to loose timings (14-13-14-13 crashed too often and I dont have time for that right now), but stable at 3200MHz @ 1T:
    14-14-14-14-28-42-5-8-20-4-12-24-0-4-4-307-14-8-7-3-1-7-7-1-5-5-1
    with 24-24-24-24 CADBUS
    53,3 ProcODT
    and RZQ 7/disabled/5 for the RTT's (nom, wr, park)
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2019
    K.S. likes this.
  9. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    245
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    To get 3466 @ 14-14-15-14-28-42 stable, ended up having to play with AddrCmdSetup, CsOdtSetup, and CkeSetup. The calculator suggested either all three at 0 or 60 which rig did not like. It was a "what have I got to loose" kind of effort that stumbled upon what ended up making the whole thing work. Try those three settings at 1. Even with the 3800X currently using, it made the more aggressive timings work.

    Voltage was an iffy thing. Too little or too much resulted in errors. My setup liked only two ram voltages really, 1.3800 and 1.4100. Hope this helps.
     
    386SX likes this.
  10. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    501
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I tried the AIDA64 Stress test, full tower case,with sensor panel I done up.
    Great test for stability and Chipsy suggest people to use this for stress test in original thread,instead of Prime95.

    Breakdown temperatures on CPU max out at 74°C @ 1.264v CPU clock ranged from 4150Mhz-4225Mhz.

    Test AMD 3800X for anyone interested
    [​IMG]

    ♦ CPU - AMD 3800X With MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    ♦ GPU - Nvidia RTX 2080
    ♦ RAM - G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4(F4-4000C18D-16GTZ) (2x8)
    ♦ Mobo - MSI X470 - Gaming Plus(AMD ComboPI1.0.0.3)
    ♦ SSD - M.2 2280 WD Blue 3D NAND 500GB
    ♦ DSP - LG 27" 4K UHD 5ms GTG IPS LED FreeSync Gaming Monitor (27UD59P-B.AUS) - Black
    ♦ PSU - Antec High Current Pro 1200W
     
    K.S. likes this.

  11. K.S.

    K.S. Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    368
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 GAMING OC
    It looks nice - Still working on your OC manual clock? I feel like these eat a lot of power at stock settings but don't really need as much as previous gens once you begin to play around with them.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2019
  12. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    501
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Not really working on any over clocks,I have a good handle on what the CPU can do for my needs and I really only game, ultrawide/4K so even at all core underclock @4000Mhz is just as good as an all core clock 4500Mhz in almost every game.
    I just like playing with the CPU and will not have this 3800X long at all,will be buying a used cheap 3900X when 3950X is released.I am just weird like that.
     
    K.S. likes this.
  13. 386SX

    386SX Master Guru

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    571
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    So only writing "1" in those fields? I left them on Auto so far, rig sets them to "0", at least this is what Ryzen Timing Checker is telling me.

    I run my sticks with 1,355V and SOC at 1,025V.

    Thanks for the help so far, lets see what happens. :D
     
  14. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,364
    Likes Received:
    245
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    Yes, just a "1" in those three fields. Hope it works
     
    K.S. and 386SX like this.
  15. n9nu

    n9nu Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NV GeForce 2080ti
    I have the following:

    CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Motherboard: ASRock X50 Phantom Pro Gaming X
    Motherboard BIOS: 2.10
    Memory:
    GSKill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZN - 32GB (2x16GB) CL16-16-16-36 1.35VDC - NOT THE HIGHER LATENCY KIT
    GPU: Nvidia RTX 2080ti x 1
    AIO Cooler: Corsair H110i Platinum RGB

    I have my memory running at a stable 3800MHz by using the AMD Ryzen Control App & the good 'ol BIOS interface itself. These new NEO kits are designed specifically for the Ryzen 3000 series CPU's and the X570 motherboards chipset.

    I can post information on settings if anyone is interested. Check out the Google link below for overclocking

    Overclocking statistics for Zen2 systems - Google Sheets
    Ryzen Overclocking - Google Sheets

    Tim
    ARS N9NU
     
    Jackalito and K.S. like this.

  16. K.S.

    K.S. Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    368
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 GAMING OC
    Makes sense - 2K plus / GPU bound unless you're running on a Pentium 4... (which you're not... ) & not weird - trying out the different SKUs available; seeing what you like better I guess *shrugs* I thought about trying out Threadripper gen 3 but atm I'll swap current build for Zen 3 instead come 2020.

    EDIT: I'm really impressed with the gains from 2700 to 3700X

    Cinebench R20 / R7 2700 from 3200-3292 to 4524 - 4600 / R7 3700X.


    Or apparently "55" as well if "1" doesn't work for ya'
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2019
    386SX likes this.
  17. 386SX

    386SX Master Guru

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    571
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    Hmmm, 55 and 1 is ... a big difference . What do I set with this value? Any short answer? :)
     
  18. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,661
    Likes Received:
    2,012
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    My new Stable DRAM Timings (The 62ns! is so close now)
    3800MHz CL16-17-17-15 32 42 1T
    1900FLCK and 100.200 FSB

    [​IMG]
     
    Jackalito and K.S. like this.
  19. K.S.

    K.S. Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    368
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 GAMING OC
  20. K.S.

    K.S. Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    368
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 GAMING OC
    Sorry! AddrCmdSetup, CsOdtSetup, and CkeSetup. (55 is just an alternative for 0 in some cases)
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2019
    386SX likes this.

Share This Page