1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling Part 2

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. Zenoth

    Zenoth Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,054
    Likes Received:
    92
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080
    Yeah, latest version for my ASUS B350 Plus (version 5220).

    Just for a small test I've let just one game running in the background while checking for the temperatures. With Overwatch in the background (just the game sitting at the main menu, nothing else) the CPU is idling at 47ºC to 48ºC according to HWMonitor. It also shows that the vCore's Minimum value is 1.003v, and Maximum is 1.493v. The left side value (the one that's updating live every 2 seconds or so) indicates that the vCore varies from 1.003 to 1.460+ constantly. To repeat, this is just idling while Overwatch runs in the background, just to see if the temps would increase dramatically or not with just one program running, other than Firefox and this one window opened to type this message. The CPU Fan is reported to be at 980 RPM. Now, according to HWiNFO64, most values are the same, except that the idling temp varies from 49ºC to 52ºC.

    Now I haven't checked full load temps, but to me the current sort of "general use" temps seem a little too high at least compared to my previous setup (with my R5 1600 and its other cooler). I'm currently using the Ryzen Balanced Power Plan, but I'll give a try to some of the custom Power Plan settings I'm seeing in this thread and then I'll see if it helps or not. If not then I'll probably give another go to applying thermal paste again, maybe I didn't do it properly initially (but that would surprise me, still... it's possible).
     
  2. fry178

    fry178 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    124
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 X@2GHz
    There is no temp offset anymore, so what you see is actual temps.
    Use win balanced with min set to like 20-30%, max to 100.
    Make sure to turn off pcie power saving.
    I also setup the power savings profile with 0/50% to use when not gaming/low load like surfing/streaming which keeps clocks/voltage lower.
     
  3. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,347
    Likes Received:
    228
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    There is no reason why a cpu needs that much voltage, 1.493v, at any time. Seriously set the cpu offset to -0.1000v. Provided the bios was done properly, it will not lessen the boost ability of the cpu. If the performance is not liked, then start lowering the offset till happy with the outcome. The temps will come down as well. With the offset set at -0.1000v, my vCore never goes above 1.395v
     
    Maddness likes this.
  4. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,410
    Likes Received:
    1,910
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    C.Hero VI & PCIe 4.0
    Hmm :p (from CPU side of course).

    [​IMG]
     

  5. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,410
    Likes Received:
    1,910
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Now think about: 3800MHz CL16 1T 1900FLCK :D
    Great overall results...

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Mr. Sunshine

    Mr. Sunshine Active Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Anyone know how to change the EDC in Ryzen Master?? Stuck at 145a and it causes my manual OC to throttle and my PBO to drop
     
  7. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,777
    Likes Received:
    468
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Change it in BIOS to motherboard for max in Ryzen Master on desktop.I do not know what max is for your motherboard ,my X470 is 180a.
     
  8. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,410
    Likes Received:
    1,910
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    AMD Commands 30%+ CPU Market Share For 1st Time in 12 Years
    According to Latest CPUBenchmark Data

    [​IMG]
     
    Maddness likes this.
  9. 386SX

    386SX Master Guru

    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    469
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    Wonderful, mate! It worked right away, I didnt even have to touch much other settings than these and my RAM voltage is set to 1,385V and SOC to 1,14375V (was the closest setting to 1,1438).
    In addition I set LLC (load line calibration) for SOC to "level 3" and phase control to "extreme" (all phases active) with "capability" set to 120% to be "safe". :D

    When Windows started up, I probably to soon opened FIrefox, so it crashed the first time. Have to take a look at that and how gaming works.

    My system is X370 based and still on AB BIOS. No ABB, no ABBA (only as an audio CD in my drive :D).
    @OnnA : Do you get better results (= more stable) on ABBA than prior? I hate updating BIOS, but I would take the risk if you say it gets you a notable improvement in >>stability<< (performance is priority 2, stability is 1).

    EDIT: Worked right away, but isn't 5 mins MemTest86 stable. :(
    Now edited to 14-14-14-14-etc. instead of 14-13-13-13-etc.

    The other profile at 3466 MHz threw a BSOD right on Windows boot, saying only "MEMORY MANAGEMENT", nothing else.

    Regarding my MemTest runs:
    14-13-13-13-etc was completely fine during test 1 - 6, but 7 messed it up. So I changed RAM to 1,39 and then 1,4V, at last SOC to 1,15, but no success. Starting at test7 again it immediately showed corruptions within the first two or three minutes, not even finishing one run of test7.

    As I said before, the change to 14-14-15-etc @ 3466MHz didnt even boot, so I returned to the other profile.

    This is my untuned profile now:

    [​IMG]

    As you see, I left a lot of stuff on AUTO (tRFC and most of the upper OHM values, because I lack a method to calculate what "RZQ/7" and the like means, cause they are my only settings for RTTPark and the like.

    Btw.: tRFC of 560 is set in my XMP profile ... it was left on AUTO. Any reason why you guys set it to 256 or 252? And what about tCKE? Sometimes on 1, sometimes on 8 or 9. ANy "rule of thumb" to those values?
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2019 at 2:05 PM
    Kool64 likes this.
  10. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    121
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Without being able to feed more voltage into the ram I'm not sure I want to go much tighter on the timings. Also I don't want to give it 1.15 on the SoC because I've read it's not good for the 3000 series like it was for the older chips. My BIOS is a modified ABB so that might have some impact too.
     
    386SX likes this.

  11. 386SX

    386SX Master Guru

    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    469
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    Modified in which way? I liked to mod older BIOS files before EFI, so I am just curious. :)
     
  12. Mr. Sunshine

    Mr. Sunshine Active Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Tried that. Buildzoid states that board can do 360A with its Mosfet 6+4 setup(6x60A) even shows up in PBO as that but RyzenMaster wont go past 145A. The others(PPT,TDC) change without issue..
     
  13. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,777
    Likes Received:
    468
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Well I can not argue with what Buildzoid says ,360A seems high but I do not have that motherboard to test.
    I can tell you when I set my BIOS on 3800X

    manual=CPU I get 140a Max in Ryzen Master
    motherboard I get 180a Max in Ryzen Master
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,347
    Likes Received:
    228
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    PBO is broken on my board,X470-F Gaming, performance goes down when enabled. What is labeled as Performance Enhancer is the only setting that works and that is set to the highest setting, 3(oc).

    @386SX I achieved better performance with the ram running at 3466 with those 14-14-15-14-28-42 settings. Voltage on ram was 1.4100v and soc offset set -.01875v. LLC for cpu was lvl 3 and SOC was lvl 2.

    with the 3800X everything changed...has been the easiest to oc ram on. CPU voltage offset -0.1000v, SOC offset +0.00625v (never goes above 1.100v HWiNFO64), ram @ 1.4000v for 3800/FCLK 1900, 16-16-16-16-32-48-4-6-14-4-10-10-Auto-4-4-286-192-132-16-8-9-1-1-7-7-1-5-5-1. ProcODT 30ohms (28.2 ohms stable but latency increases to 64.2 from 63.7). Bus resistance settings: 1-1-1-24-20-20-24. Rtt settings: off/off/5. Geardown and Powerdown both disabled and CLDO @ 800. Board refuses to boot with CL15 and is not stable no matter what with CL14 @ 3800.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2019 at 1:58 PM
    386SX likes this.
  15. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    Cool bud, I'm glad it worked and that I could help you out .. Peace
     
    386SX likes this.

  16. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    121
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    The Stilt modified a bunch of ABB BIOS's with the ABBA 46.49 SMU of the ABBA that was supposed to come out. Turns out ASRock is sitting on it for the 1.0.0.4 update so no official ABBA for me.
     
    386SX likes this.
  17. DW75

    DW75 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    556
    GPU:
    ROG GTX1080 Ti OC
    I am still on BIOS 3.60 on my Asrock X470 Taichi as well. I check every single day for a new BIOS. This BIOS is over 2 months old. Not too impressed with Asrock at the moment.
     
  18. DW75

    DW75 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,142
    Likes Received:
    556
    GPU:
    ROG GTX1080 Ti OC
    COD WW2, Unreal Tournament, Battlefield 1, Far Cry 5, World War Z, Rainbow Six Siege, and several others. What boost clocks are you getting ?
     
  19. Mr. Sunshine

    Mr. Sunshine Active Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    I would be happy with 180A. The way yours behaves makes sense.Let me see what default is on my board....

    So you get:
    Default- PPT-142w-TDC-95A-EDC-140A
    AOC-PPT-1000w-TDC-114A-EDC-180A

    Update: Pretty sure PBO broken on this board:
    Default-PPT-88w-TDC-60A-EDC-90A
    Auto-PPT-4096w-TDC-4096A-EDC-145A
    Motherboard- PPT-4096w-TDC-4096A-EDC-145A
    Manual-PPT-10000w-TDC-10000A-EDC-145A
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2019 at 5:00 AM
  20. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,347
    Likes Received:
    228
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    After fiddling every so often, finally am settling with this:
    Aida64
    [​IMG]

    Corona
    [​IMG]

    CPU-Z
    [​IMG]

    CINEBENCH R15
    [​IMG]

    Setting are as stated in last post before this. First gen Ryzen took a lot more time and was painfully slow getting the settings nailed down. Fully understand about not needing to manually oc these processors. Can hardly wait to see what improvements the next bios brings.
     
    Evildead666 and Mr. Sunshine like this.

Share This Page