The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling Part 2

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    353
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    To get 3466 @ 14-14-15-14-28-42 stable, ended up having to play with AddrCmdSetup, CsOdtSetup, and CkeSetup. The calculator suggested either all three at 0 or 60 which rig did not like. It was a "what have I got to loose" kind of effort that stumbled upon what ended up making the whole thing work. Try those three settings at 1. Even with the 3800X currently using, it made the more aggressive timings work.

    Voltage was an iffy thing. Too little or too much resulted in errors. My setup liked only two ram voltages really, 1.3800 and 1.4100. Hope this helps.
     
    386SX likes this.
  2. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I tried the AIDA64 Stress test, full tower case,with sensor panel I done up.
    Great test for stability and Chipsy suggest people to use this for stress test in original thread,instead of Prime95.

    Breakdown temperatures on CPU max out at 74°C @ 1.264v CPU clock ranged from 4150Mhz-4225Mhz.

    Test AMD 3800X for anyone interested
    https://i.**********/qMrrDkyq/aida64-stress.png

    ♦ CPU - AMD 3800X With MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    ♦ GPU - Nvidia RTX 2080
    ♦ RAM - G.Skill Trident Z 16GB DDR4(F4-4000C18D-16GTZ) (2x8)
    ♦ Mobo - MSI X470 - Gaming Plus(AMD ComboPI1.0.0.3)
    ♦ SSD - M.2 2280 WD Blue 3D NAND 500GB
    ♦ DSP - LG 27" 4K UHD 5ms GTG IPS LED FreeSync Gaming Monitor (27UD59P-B.AUS) - Black
    ♦ PSU - Antec High Current Pro 1200W
     
    Deleted member 213629 likes this.
  3. It looks nice - Still working on your OC manual clock? I feel like these eat a lot of power at stock settings but don't really need as much as previous gens once you begin to play around with them.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 18, 2019
  4. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Not really working on any over clocks,I have a good handle on what the CPU can do for my needs and I really only game, ultrawide/4K so even at all core underclock @4000Mhz is just as good as an all core clock 4500Mhz in almost every game.
    I just like playing with the CPU and will not have this 3800X long at all,will be buying a used cheap 3900X when 3950X is released.I am just weird like that.
     
    Deleted member 213629 likes this.

  5. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    So only writing "1" in those fields? I left them on Auto so far, rig sets them to "0", at least this is what Ryzen Timing Checker is telling me.

    I run my sticks with 1,355V and SOC at 1,025V.

    Thanks for the help so far, lets see what happens. :D
     
  6. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    353
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    Yes, just a "1" in those three fields. Hope it works
     
    Deleted member 213629 and 386SX like this.
  7. n9nu

    n9nu Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    NV GeForce 2080ti
    I have the following:

    CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Motherboard: ASRock X50 Phantom Pro Gaming X
    Motherboard BIOS: 2.10
    Memory:
    GSKill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZN - 32GB (2x16GB) CL16-16-16-36 1.35VDC - NOT THE HIGHER LATENCY KIT
    GPU: Nvidia RTX 2080ti x 1
    AIO Cooler: Corsair H110i Platinum RGB

    I have my memory running at a stable 3800MHz by using the AMD Ryzen Control App & the good 'ol BIOS interface itself. These new NEO kits are designed specifically for the Ryzen 3000 series CPU's and the X570 motherboards chipset.

    I can post information on settings if anyone is interested. Check out the Google link below for overclocking

    Overclocking statistics for Zen2 systems - Google Sheets
    Ryzen Overclocking - Google Sheets

    Tim
    ARS N9NU
     
  8. Makes sense - 2K plus / GPU bound unless you're running on a Pentium 4... (which you're not... ) & not weird - trying out the different SKUs available; seeing what you like better I guess *shrugs* I thought about trying out Threadripper gen 3 but atm I'll swap current build for Zen 3 instead come 2020.

    EDIT: I'm really impressed with the gains from 2700 to 3700X

    Cinebench R20 / R7 2700 from 3200-3292 to 4524 - 4600 / R7 3700X.


    Or apparently "55" as well if "1" doesn't work for ya'
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 18, 2019
    386SX likes this.
  9. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    Hmmm, 55 and 1 is ... a big difference . What do I set with this value? Any short answer? :)
     
  10. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,132
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    My new Stable DRAM Timings (The 62ns! is so close now)
    3800MHz CL16-17-17-15 32 42 1T
    1900FLCK and 100.200 FSB

    [​IMG]
     

  11. Sorry! AddrCmdSetup, CsOdtSetup, and CkeSetup. (55 is just an alternative for 0 in some cases)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 18, 2019
    386SX likes this.
  12. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    What I meant to ask was more about what these values do. I still try to fully understand what each value does so maybe one time I can connect each one logically to each other so I really understand what I set there.

    That's my new hobby since owning a Ryzen. :D
     
    • AddrCmdSetup - Where one/mobo places a bit representative of 'setup time/timing' for the "address and command pins" against the clock of the memory, ie RAM's clock speed.
    • CsOdtSetup - Where one/mobo places a bit representative of 'setup time/timing' for the "CS and ODT pins" against the clock of the memory, ie RAM's clock speed.
    • CkeSetup - Where one/mobo places a bit representative of 'setup time/timing' for the "CkeSetup pins" against the clock of the memory, ie RAM's clock speed.
    (via Wikipedia) - Memory timings or RAM timings describe the performance of synchronous dynamic random-access memory (SDRAM) using four parameters: CL, TRCD, TRP, and TRAS in units of clock cycles; they are commonly written as four numbers separated with dashes, e.g. 7-8-8-24. The fourth (tRAS) is often omitted, or a fifth, the Command rate, sometimes added (normally 2T or 1T, also written 2N, 1N). These parameters specify the latencies (time delays) that affect speed of random access memory. Lower numbers usually imply faster performance. What determines absolute system performance is actual latency time, usually measured in nanoseconds.
     
    Jackalito likes this.
  13. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    If your going for 62ns,maybe I can help you out.Who knows.Since Aida64 is inconsistent I did two runs to check latency is close.

    3800 Mhz CL16-16-11-16-36-52 1T @ 1.36v SOC 1.05 62ns

    https://i.**********/52ccxzSg/62ns.jpgphoto hosting free
     
    OnnA and Jackalito like this.

  14. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,132
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    ^^ Im not done yet ;)

    Happy so far.
     
  15. liviut

    liviut Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080/8GB
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2019
  16. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,132
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16 Core Crushes The Intel Core i9-10980XE 18 Core CPU in 3DMark Firestrike
    – Up To 24% Faster Than Intel’s Flagship HEDT

    I have 25k ;)


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2019
  17. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    340
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    Isn’t the 10980 using the mesh bus though? The IF that the TR zen chips had was killing gaming performance but with the much more refined Zen 2 IF TR is going to be just as good at gaming as Ryzen. Should be interesting to see the civilian 16 core chip.
     
  18. Mr. Sunshine

    Mr. Sunshine Master Guru

    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    SapphireNitro V64

Share This Page