The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling Part 2

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    239
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    yeah, go with 0 and 100 for min/max cpu, not 99/100 like the ryzen profile.
    not needed, unless you need the proc to be "ultra" responsive..

    what are you using for tp, and what to measure clocks?
    i think the liquid metal is at least partially responsible for better boost clocks/lower temps.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2019
  2. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,610
    Likes Received:
    353
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    Running the 3000 series CPUs with PBO on auto(default), why bother with Prime95. Only time have encountered an issue was when I was playing with PE (performance enhancer) settings. PE2 and 3(oc) required no additional fiddling; just set and go. PE1 required an offset of +0.00625 and all was fine and good. Playing with PBO, no matter how setup, resulted in poorer performance than leaving it on auto and just setting PE all by itself. Only settings not on Auto is the ram speed, IF speed, ram timings, and VRM section (LC was left on Auto). SOC voltage for IF at 1900 just needed an offset of +0.00625 (has yet to go over 1.100v (according to HWiNFO64).

    When playing with PE set at 1, the issue was that the rig would just all of a sudden just reboot without anything in event viewer other than unexpected power down. RAM needed stressing and yes saw and read that with the new architecture it is "needed" to stress the whole IF chain to make sure it is stable. Really, not necessary. It is like the CPUs have built in auto error correction features. If no manual overclock, just do not find the need for Prime95 any longer. Lowering the cpu voltage just results in lower boost clocks. If cpu voltage is set with an offset of -.03125, my 3800X reacts the same as a 3700X and only boosts to 4.416 max. This 3800X is as close to set and forget as I have experienced. Not saying anything more than that has been my experience.

    EDIT: Only stress testing software used was for ram and only TM5 as configured by 1usmus.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2019
  3. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    239
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    pbo on auto means its actually off, and cpu (only) uses PB2.

    only used prime again, when i got random bsods all the time (pre 1903 build causing it), and it being a new build,
    wanted to be sure it wasnt stemming from hw or bios settings, and later, just to see what my worst temps are going to be,
    as i like to prepare for the max that "will ever be possible", and can then "forget about it".

    im not even running it for more than a few hours anymore, as i've seen that really messed up (bios) settings regarding cpu/ram usually result in prime stopping within minutes,
    little stuff like the need for a tiny bit more volt/little lower clocks etc, usually makes it stop/produce errors within 20-30 min.

    e.g. running it fine for about 1h, shows im at least not too far off...
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2019
  4. liviut

    liviut Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080/8GB
    im more interested to see what voltages are you having and clocks on a game.
    im using hwinfo64 aida64 and ryzen master for monitoring. not all at once of course
     

  5. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    239
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    Never looked at voltages much, except after seeing stupidly high temps than i expected (caused by pbo).
    Outside siege/cod ww 2/sniper v4, im running it in power saving and cap max cpu at 60%, resulting in "locked" 2.2 ghz, no matter the load, and games are still constant 60/75 vsynced.

    I usually only track gpu related stuff (when gaming), so can't tell about voltages there, but full load with prime (while imited to 2.2 ghz)
    i see 0.9v for core/vid,1.087 vdd and 0.912 for vddnb.
    Full load on balanced profile, clocking to 3.775-3.8 ghz i get 1.1v for core and vid,
    1.087 vdd and 1.156-1.175 for vddnb
    (39.49-41.57A vdd and 29.97-31.75A on vddnb), resulting in about 90w for the cpu package.
    All reported from aida (dont have other tools installed)


    UPDATE:
    seems like the latest chipset driver messed something up.
    ST clocks now dropped to 3.3, sometimes jumping to 4-4.2 for a flash,
    can actually see the changes running CB20 when looking at rendering.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2019
  6. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,132
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    I can go to 4400MHz Single core (or double)
    But in Aida tests benches are worst than All 4300MHz 1.34v
    But now i have even better latency !
    63ns is really good for Gaming.

    [​IMG]
     
    Evildead666 likes this.
  7. Whiplashwang

    Whiplashwang Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    214
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080Ti
    I thought all cores had to be the same frequency on a CCX or else the remaining three with drop down to the base clock? Example, your 4.4GHz OC on one core will have the other three cores at 3.6GHz on that CCX. Use HwINFO64 to check.
     
  8. Mr. Sunshine

    Mr. Sunshine Master Guru

    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    SapphireNitro V64
    I was under the same impression
     
  9. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    340
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    So my 3700X has done something strange. I upgraded the BIOS to one of the modified versions from The Stilt and 3 of he cores are hitting 4400 3 were hitting 4350 and 2 of them were hitting 4325. Lately the last day or so the 2 that were hitting 4325 are now reaching 4350. It's like an extra bonus.
     
  10. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Well I can say as long as core frequency matches per CCX ,they are fine.Any core on CCX that does not match will drop to base clock or lower than base clock

    Ryzen 3 does do weird stuff but here I set 4 CCX to 4500Mhz and the two that are not set to 4500Mhz@4300Mhz drop to base clock or lower. Also the highest frequency in a CCX that core will run at that frequency and all other cores will run at base clock or lower.

    So Onna screen shot would run at below frequency but he is correct when he said he could run double 4400Mhz if set correctly.The way he has CPU set in screenshot would be slower than 4300Mhz all core overclock .
    CCX0 CCX1
    Core01=4400Mhz Core05=3600Mhz
    Core01=3600Mhz Core06=3600Mhz
    Core01=3600Mhz Core07=4200Mhz
    Core01=3600Mhz Core08=4200Mhz


    https://i.**********/Jzy862RB/CCDCCXMatch.png


    Nope that can be just from powerplan change for extra 25Mhz.It is testable in AIDA64 if you wanna test.
     

  11. devastator

    devastator Member Guru

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    rtx 2070
  12. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,132
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
  13. Mr. Sunshine

    Mr. Sunshine Master Guru

    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    SapphireNitro V64
    Hopefully the new microcode will fix PBO/AOC. Would be nice to actually have it work like there marketing said.
     
  14. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    340
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    I would be happy if I could get a zero impact with PBO even. Right now everything is worse with PBO on.
     
    Maddness and fry178 like this.
  15. fry178

    fry178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    239
    GPU:
    2080S WaterForceWB
    Not sure what your using it for, but i never closed anything, even when editing 4k with 16gb..
     
  16. erouz

    erouz Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    1070ti

  17. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,345
    Likes Received:
    764
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    An all core overclock 4400Mhz is the best you can do vs just letting your CPU run normal .I have done a lot of testing 4400Mhz in gaming and works fine.Lower clock speed also works fine in gaming but the 4400Mhz ,everyone would love to run that speed.

    So good for you ,enjoy your CPU and would have been great if AMD sent out all Ryzen CPU that could do 4400Mhz but all should do 4200Mhz-4300Mhz with enough voltage on a all core overclock and that is still fast and great performing CPU.
    Also your scores are normal enough on the Cinebench thing,reading some comments on the reddit post ,some people are out to lunch.Your voltages are also reading normal when overclocking in the BIOS.

    Example video of voltages ,I did in July release of CPU with BIOS overclock on MSI motherboard
     
    Maddness likes this.
  18. erouz

    erouz Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    1070ti
    Tks man.
    I did loads of testing as I found guys on msi boards have way better working PBO but what I found when Im using my PBO in all possible configuration in bios highest all core performance was 4890 CB20 and same single core performance plus minus few points per run.

    When I use PBO my single core max reach 4.391 and all cores 4,21ghz.
    But under heavy stress my core voltage was around 1,45-2 on average temperatures with my AIO was hitting low 80. I think keeping around 70 make it stable. Before I was using Pure Rock cooler and my max temp hit 85.
     
  19. liviut

    liviut Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 1080/8GB
    And then comes my 3600 which can't maintain 4.2 overclock not even with 1.45 volts i won the lottery silicon for sure
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
  20. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,132
    Likes Received:
    2,929
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    New BIOS 7501 ABBA (here we go again with performance uplift ;))
    Now i can (easy) do 4400MHz/4300 at "only" 1.439v.
    Not tweaked DDR4 too tight yet, for now @: 16-17-17-16-33-44 1T 1.415v

    -> https://valid.x86.fr/wsbrkn

    Blazing Fast for Gaming [​IMG]
    GoD i just Love my new ZEN2 !

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2019
    Maddness likes this.
  21. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    340
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    I just ordered a 2x16 C18 3600 amd Certified kit. It's not on my board QVL because ASRock didn't list Matisse memory for my B450M Pro 4 but I don't think I'll have a problem getting it to run at stock speeds at a minimum. Got it for 165 which was only $15 more than my garbage C16 Hynix 16gb kit.
     

Share This Page