The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling Part 2

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I can run 1900 Infinity Fabric and never even thought about going higher.I might give it a try but seems pointless to me.
    I did some testing at higher resolutions in gaming and for 98% of games it does not matter infinity fabric and latency.You may find this interesting.

    RAM TIMINGS USED FULL ALL Manual timings in spoiler
    ♦ 2133Mhz (16GB)CL10-10-10-10-21
    ♦ 2400mhz (16GB)CL10-11-11-11-21
    ♦ 2933mhz (16GB)CL12-14-13-13-26
    ♦ 3200mhz (16GB)CL14-14-14-14-28
    ♦ 3733mhz (16GB)CL16-17-16-16-34
    ♦ 4000mhz (16GB)CL16-18-17-17-36 -(memory clock 2000x2/fabric clock 1800x2/memory controller 1000x2)
    ♦ 4200mhz (16GB)CL16-18-17-17-36 -(memory clock 2100x2/fabric clock 1800x2/memory controller 1050x2)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Fox2232, OnnA, AsiJu and 1 other person like this.
  2. liviut

    liviut Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Sapphire TRI-X R9 290
    Samsung b-dies?
     
  3. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Yes samsung B die but other memory kits work better on Ryzen and Samsung B die are end of line.They are not making them any more of samsung b die as far as I know.

    Memory kit used in the test
    ♦ RAM - G.Skill Trident Z 16gb DDR4 (F4-4000C18D-16GTZ) (2x8GB)
     
    Evildead666 likes this.
  4. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    242
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    Cheers, great info :)

    Can you add this Ram info and the Ram Voltage, to the original post with the charts ?
    Its a lot, so its all in one post ;)

    edit : My eyes just saw the bits where the motherboard and Bios are in the Pics. Its tiny on my current 1080p 23" screen, in a window. ;)

    I got my B-Die specifically because it was stopped being produced.
    Wasn't that expensive either.
    I probably paid more for my Corsair DDR-400 sticks back in the day. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2019

  5. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I got my DDR4 4000 Kit cheap when Ram was at it's highest price.I still paid less then what you can buy it today.
    In the original post I made all the information is in the post.
    About how small the writing is.They are 4K images so on 1080p monitor you would only see 1/4 of the screenshot.Maybe click on the image for 4K ;)
     
  6. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    242
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    I did click, and in the window it was still like tiny, so I had to full screen the browser.
    I have task manager and PeerBlock in view at all times for some reason. ;)
     
  7. CyberSparky

    CyberSparky Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 Super
    Ok, so I reset my power plans and reinstalled Ryzen power plans. Ran Aida64 Latency test through each one, all rendering the 65.7-65.2. I then switched to windows power saver plan, changed every option to max performance, or off for hybrid and sleep options. Changed system cooling policy to Active from passive. I left Minimum and Max alone, 5%-->100%. Ran tests, dropped again by 1.3-1.5ns.

    I then made all power options exactly to match what I had the power savings plan set to that was rendering lower latency scores. None of the other power options changed latency scores to match, all tests showed the 65.7-65.2. I then created a power plan from scratch, and duplicated the other windows and ryzen power plans. None would show the lower latency but power savings with altered options. Very odd.
     
    Jackalito likes this.
  8. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,822
    Likes Received:
    1,260
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Anyone know if you can manually set IF clock to be higher than memory clock? Would that even be of any benefit?

    BIOS description string at least, for me, says these must be matched and if they aren't, it will incur a performance penalty (if MCLK > FCLK).
    (A high enough MCLK is then needed to overcome the penalty.)
     
  9. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Sure can and best way to save money on Ram.If you can set tight timings on DDR4 3000Mhz/3200Mhz then you can get the same results as more expensive DDR4 3733Mhz/3800Mhz ram.
    EDIT:Your latency will go higher but does not make any real difference when gaming at higher resolutions
    Some DXMD benchmark 1080/1440
    [​IMG]
    So Ram + Memory controller are 1:1 and Infinity Fabric is what you set it to.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2019
    AsiJu likes this.
  10. liviut

    liviut Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Sapphire TRI-X R9 290
    i have managed to get way much better temps by moving the radiator from top of the case to the front like this i shoved almost 10 degrees.
    before i had like 36-37 degrees idle and 70+ in games now i have 29-30 idle and max 61 in games.
     

  11. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,709
    Likes Received:
    2,029
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
  12. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    242
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    I actually watched that, and it was very muddled, and basically ended with you should run at 4.3@1.35V
    It wasn't any better than any of the other videos.

    I'm still waiting for the last water parts to do my own testing.
     
  13. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Also if you watch the video ,the way he is overclocking ,he has the memory controller running at half speed.video was made July 11 2019 so I think he knows better now.He's Canadian and goofy got love it.
     
    AsiJu likes this.
  14. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    113
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080i SC2
    So boys ... anyone can beat this ?

     
  15. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    133
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Did a little bit of testing with PBO. Wit on(auto or manual with tuning) I get about 100 points less in Geekbench 4 and slightly worse memory scores in AIDA. PBO off is definitely the way to go right now.
     

  16. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,871
    Likes Received:
    510
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I am testing last couple days on 3600X using AMD overclocking and I get the same results in gaming 4250Mhz thru to 4500Mhz,I think I will stay at 4250Mhz for a bit.
    Full load CPU drops to 1.25v ,set to 1.3v in BIOS
    DDR4 CL16 3733Mhz @ 1.35v

    Highest temperature recorded while encoding H265 12bit video 72.9c and CPU Fan RPM hit 1721 ,not bad at all I would say.
    [​IMG]

    COMPUTER USED
    ♦ CPU - AMD 3600X With MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    ♦ GPU - Nvidia RTX 2080
    ♦ RAM - G.Skill Trident Z 16gb DDR4 (F4-4000C18D-16GTZ) (2x8GB)
    ♦ Mobo - MSI X470 - Gaming Plus-BIOS AMD ComboPI1.0.0.3AB
    ♦ SSD - M.2 2280 WD Blue 3D NAND 500GB
    ♦ DSP - LG 27" 4K UHD FreeSync Gaming Monitor (27UD59P-B.AUS) ♦ PSU - Antec High Current Pro 1200W
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019
  17. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,372
    Likes Received:
    249
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    Sorry had to post this:

     
    CyberSparky likes this.
  18. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,865
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Anyone running iCUE that have noticed that the CPU idles correctly when iCUE is disabled and that performance is slightly better too?
     
  19. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,865
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Managed an 4,4GHz all-core OC but got really choppy gameplay in SotTR (lower FPS than usual and large frame spikes) though very smooth in WoW. All I did was increase the frequency to 4400 and lower CPU voltage to 1,35v.
    Any idea why Tomb raider game play is so choppy and uneven? Can say that when I got back to PBO & AutoOC, things got very smooth again in Tomb Raider.

    [​IMG]
     
  20. MaestroBayten

    MaestroBayten Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 LC 8GB
    Need to check that,my 3900x just on desk mostly at 4.2-4.4Ghz with high voltage like 1.48v or less.


    Edit: I tried it, lowest voltage result on idle.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2019

Share This Page